Over 5 Gallons of HONEY!

in #homesteading7 years ago

During this YouTube Live show (steemit post link) I showed the process for spinning out honey. This batch TASTES SO GOOD! There was over 5 gallons harvested.

I will sell this honey to the local economy at $16 per pint. This is based on $12 per pound. 1 pint of honey is about 1.35 pounds of honey. The jars are filled and labeled to make them pretty and legal :)

I asked my son to take some pictures for me so I could post and here's some of what I got in return.

Thanks son! LOL


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - Spinning Out Honey!
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - The Last Saturday Show?
daddykirbs blogClean Up and Relocation of the Hive - EXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 5)
daddykirbs blogWait... Ok, now.
daddykirbs blogHive Comb as LONG AS YOUR ARM! - EXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 4


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

How much is that in mead? :D

I've never made it, but I have tasted it! Honestly I prefer my honey on toast, not as a beverage.

Honey has many uses. ;)

Mead is a great barter item.

There are many recipes 10 to 20lb to 20 gallons, imperial not those wimpy us gallons. Makes a good easy to do meed. Matures faster 2 to 3 years instead of 3 to 5. Not too sweet, not too high in alcohol. We make lots in our brewery. Https://brew.computersystemconsulting.ca like will start posting some videos on the topic soon. Now I off to do a candle making workshop. I will try to post a video or two on that adventure soon.

not too high in alcohol

Well, forget that!

Same as wine 14% or so.

Slightly more than wine, if that is the case. Wine is 11.5%–13.5% ABV is the average.

However, much less than moonshine. ;)

Looks lovely! Great job :) Hope you sell lots of honey!

Thank you! I just loved that kid art you showed in your post! so sweet :)

LOL Keep your daughter working the camera, she did fantastic last night!
Sharing to show some Texas Gold!

I'd like to do that again. Having a show where I'm "doing" something was a nice change :)

The Saturday slow down to interact with folks is great but yup you have too much energy to not be doing live action!

Nice to meet you, @daddykirbs!
@OriginalWorks can check the originality of this post! It will upvote if it works! Upvote this comment and I may do the same!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @daddykirbs to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Beautiful batch!

It makes terrific elderberry syrup to have good raw honey...and good tea...and good toast with homemade bread...

Kids will be kids! What you have done looks amazing. The honey looks so delicious. We have been considering bees to help with pollination and have some honey for us as well. We have heard many people in our area say that the Flow® Hive s the best since sliced bread. I have reservations. What is your opinion?

I have no opinion really of the Flow Hive's value since I haven't used one, but I'm not ready to spend the money on one yet :)

Fair enough.

Flow hives are great. But not for the working beekeeper. The cost of one will buy the equipment you need to do 100 or more. If they where 80 a hive one might be able to pay current costs 80 CD a frame 8 to the box which is special. If you now have to shift bottling to the yard where the bees are. Might work for the backyard hive were you can check filling. One maybe able to justify the cost and additional labor for specialty honey where you can offer it to your customers at premium prices.

Thank you for your input. It helps with the decision making. At this point I don't think we will become a working apiary. We would like a couple of hives for pollunation and having honey for our own use. I am following you now.

Great to have you aboard. Havent been on line much as we are extraction honey and vary buisy. More to come. Also looking into adding steemit to our web aplicaton so you can earn money learning about bees.

That's very cool! Thank you.

Final count on this batch is 6.5 gallons!

Nothing like the pleasure of honey and sharing! In small quantities! It soon becomes a major chore. I much prefer raising queens and bees. Lot less physical work. Yard I get less honey but make much more money selling queens than honey. This is true because I live in a poor honey producing are but raises fantastic bees. I still sell honey and would never drop it from the model for the organization. Both as a part of the apprenticeship program and I love how it opens dialog with people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24