Our Homesteading Vision: Land Criteria

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

With our homesteading motivations out of the way the next thing I would like to discuss is the criteria we had compiled for our ideal piece of land. This criteria isn't a list of all the unique features of the land we ended up purchasing, this is what we had in mind while we were shopping.

Property Wants List:

  • Within 45 Minutes of the City - This was something that was important to us for a few reasons: (1) to still be fairly close to friends and family; and (2) so that I would have a reasonable commute to work. Our long term plan was for us to both work from home but realistically, I would probably need to commute for a few more years until we can get the farm established. Aimee was already working mostly at home with graphic design and photography.
  • West or Southwest of the City - If you read the last post you will remember that recreation was important to me. Most of the fun activities I like to do outdoors are west of Edmonton because that is where the mountains are located: including hunting, stream fishing, camping, and skiing. Go west young man. Also, the prevailing winds are from the northwest so any pollution from the city and the surrounding refineries blows southeast, the opposite direction of where we wanted to live.

StreamPhoto by Alan Carrillo on Unsplash

  • Water Features - We wanted land with water, ideally a stream or several ponds. Water is necessary for life, plus having water we could use for livestock and to irrigate crops was a priority for us. I was also interested in having water bodies for the diversity of plants and animals it would bring to the property. There are many species of birds and small mammals that prefer to live in or on the edges of water features.
  • At Least 20 Acres - As I mentioned in the previous post, I eventually want to have a functioning permaculture farm. It is possible to make a living on less land but in our extremely cold climate that would limit our options considerably. I didn't have a concrete plan for what types of crops or livestock I wanted to raise so I wanted to leave my options open. A bigger chunk of land also meant more space for the kids and a bigger buffer zone from our neighbors.
  • Flat or South Facing Slope - This far north the sun is extremely low in the sky during the winter. This means that northern facing slopes are colder in the winter because they are in the shade and they also heat up at a slower pace in the spring; not what you want to maximize the growing season. We wanted land with some south facing slope so we would be working with a warmer micro climate. The whole property didn't have to be all south facing but at least a good chunk; 25-30% is what we were looking to be south facing.
  • Near a Major Town - While we wanted to be a fair distance from the big city (The zombies remember!), we didn't want to be too far from potential markets or community. Peace and quiet is great but if you are lonely and have no one to sell the food you grow to that means a lot of driving. While we certainly don't mind driving a bit, excessive driving is something we were trying to get away from.
  • Mix of Pasture and Trees - While land that is completely devoid of trees means you get to start with a clean slate to work with it also means that years or even decades will pass before any trees you plant become large. A fully treed piece of property is nice until you want to plant some crops or raise some livestock then you're faced with a huge amount of effort needed to clear space. Having some established trees for a windbreak and firewood, and to bring diversity was important but so was some open pasture.

highlandPhoto by Dominic Dreier on Unsplash

  • Internet Access - In many of the rural areas of Canada internet access is terrible. It has been getting better although, generally speaking, it still isn't as fast as in the city. Having reasonable access to internet was important so we could conduct business from home. Especially Aimee who is always sending and receiving photos and graphics. Plus, how else would we Steem!
  • Raw Land - While starting with land that was already developed and had a home built already would certainly be easier, it would also mean more debt. A lot of times, properties with existing structures can be a better value but they will never be exactly what you want. We definitely wanted to design and orient our house so that it would be more energy efficient. Raw land would also allow us to lay out the yard the way we wanted and locate the the yard where it made the most sense. With a pre-developed property you get what get.
  • Not Near Train Tracks or Large Transmission Lines! - I almost forgot this one. It seems like all the affordable properties are either near train tracks or under the large transmission lines! The noise is definitely something that would get old quickly, especially if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle to relax. I have heard that living near power lines can increase the odds of illnesses like cancer which makes sense because they will lose some electromagnetic energy.

train tracksPhoto by Kholodnitskiy Maksim on Unsplash

Those are the main criteria we had in mind when we went out property hunting. I know, we are very demanding but we wanted our property to be just right because we planned on living there for a long time. People no longer seem to have a connection to where they live anymore because the ability to move around so much is easier now. We feel that people reconnecting to the land is important for society and the environment. If the general population cared more about the area they lived, they would be less likely to damage the environment and more likely to put effort into building up the community.

In my next post on this topic, I will get into the details of the property we ended up buying so you can see how well we did on our demanding checklist!

Having our #dreamscometrue is possible for every single one of us. Do you want to turn your dreams into a reality? Then join @senorcoconut on his mission to rally the community into realizing their dreams.

Sort:  

Knowing what you want, in detail, is like the first, biggest step in ever actually getting what you want! In my experience at least :). Wow, love your planning and dreaming and effort to make your dreams a reality!

Thanks we had been "thinking" about it a long time but it is time to make it happen.

This is a great breakdown of “what you want”. My sisters young lad is a welder for a pipeline company and has a beautiful piece of land with mountains all around him at Pinzer creek. This is where I may end up eventually. He is 23 so young enough to help maintain the land. Can’t wait to see what you bought!

I have been through Pincher Creek many times. It is a beautiful area and when we were searching we even saw some listings in that area that were a little tempting but it was just too far for us.

Sounds like heaven for sure. The river through the property has always been one of my own wishes. I would love to have had my own forest too - that would be paradise to me. What an incredible dream : )

Thanks Arthur. I'm hoping it all works out.

I think you're totaly right when you say people don't seem to have a connection with the land anymore.... sad but true, at least in so called "developed" worlds.

Great criteria you guys, I really like that you explain why up north where you are it is important to have that south facing slope for extanding the growing season.

It remined me of our list, our criteria for finding property. We ended up compromising just a little here and there because we fell in love with the river feature we have now! Not too much though, 15 minutes further away from the city than we had agreed upon and 19 acres verses our 20 acre minimum!

Nice write up @canadianrenegade. I am compiling the posts with #dreamscometrue for the week...coming soon today!

Thanks for sharing your experience...Steem On!

That sounds like a nice property. Do you have any posts on it? I may have missed them.

Yea it's beautiful. Secluded but still close to town. I made a post a back in november maybe december but that's all so far really... Been doing a lot of travel blogging lately!

Here's that post: https://steemit.com/permaculture/@senorcoconut/the-homestead-with-anarchist-tendencies

Thanks, I'll have a look. ☺️

Cool. Thanks, it's a short post. More stuff coming soon.

I would be picky to. I already live on property I don't want, why would I pay for a bigger piece of property I don't want? I've been looking a little, just because I'm anxious. We won't be ready to purchase for about three years. But I've run across a couple of places, one with a crap mobile home that would need to be hauled away, and one that had a house taken out by a tornado. Both were appealing because they already had wells, neither needed to be surveyed for boundries and were a little less expensive because the dwellings were a mess and needed cleaned up. And bonus, they were both isolated enough, I'd be safe from zombies. Even better.....I'd be safe from neighbors!

Thanks for sharing. Yeah, sometimes run down structures can actually make property more affordable because they are an eye sore and may take some money or time to deal with. Having a well already is a plus. They aren't cheap to put it

indeed in this life we ​​really need a business no matter what kind of business we have to be patient to walk his ka and we really need recreation karna with recreation that we can give new colors for our family may be happy and success always

Grew up with Edmonton as my major city. Hinton, then Westlock and area, then Edmonton, now in Utah. Lots of great areas that would meet those criteria around AB's Capital.
Railroad is tough one to avoid as many of the towns that would have good markets exist because of the railroad. All those little towns that once were on the YellowHead before the twinning.
Rural internet in Alberta is sometimes better than urban internet down in the States.
Enjoying your posts, keep up the goodwork.

Thank you. I lived in Hinton when I was a small boy. From about age 2 to 5. Then we moved to Edmonton and then New Sarepta. Do you know where that is?

I have a lot of family in the US but none close to Utah. I may have driven through part of the state though.

Had to refresh my memory (via google) but I have been past New Sarepta. Drove on Hwy 21 many times going to 4-H things in Camrose and volunteered at BVJ in the late 90's. Also worked for an independent phone directory company (early 00's) that published phone books. One of its areas was Leduc\Camrose\Ponoka

Of topic a bit, but would Aimee mind me messaging on discord to pic her brains on how she earns with photography for @izzydawn?

Hi @minismallholding, what time zone are you in? Between work and twins we haven't found a ton of time for discord yet but we might be able to set some time aside to chat if we can coordinate our zones. -Aimee

I think were about 13 hours ahead of you. Don't have to talk in real time though if you're happy for me to pm.

Well, that just goes to show how out of the loop I am in regards to discord! I didn't know there was a pm option. I would be happy to send some information your way. -Aimee

Or perhaps you could write a post on what you do. 🤔

I probably shouldn't commendeer Matt's blog entirely but if I was to write a post about my work it would look a lot like my article on Social Capital only instead of farmers I would be talking about my professors, other photographers, and graphic designers that I have met and befriended along the way. 😄 Networking is very helpful. I also took on a lot of random jobs that led me in different directions or connected me with interesting people.
-Aimee

Maybe you need your own blog! 😉

Maybe one day! Right now guest posting and popping in to comment is about all I can handle. Our twins keep me very busy, especially now that they are crawling and want to stand every chance they get. I would like to have my own steemit blog one day though. -Aimee

Sounds about right! If only this was available in the greater Los Angeles area.. oh what dreams may come...

Hopefully you were able to knockoff that checklist! Ideally would love to buy property in Alaska. Is it economical in your neck of the woods? Canada seems nice

Yeah, I imagine you would have to be pretty wealthy to afford land something close to this checklist near Los Angeles.

What's perplexing is land is still quite expensive near Edomonton considering that we are near tundra out here. It is a bad combination of low interest rates, high farming commodity prices and too much oil money that keep land prices high.

We thought of moving far away but this is were our friends and family live and after much thought we realized it would just be too lonely and also hard without them.

I hear ya'. Thinking about buying an investment property towards the end of the year in Lancaster, CA. Will be my first property. Going to look for a duplex and benefit from being owner-occupied. Once I've paid some off going to venture out and move into that homestead. I definitely need to visit Canada.

I like the idea of a duplex. It's great to have some help paying the bills and building some extra equity.

great freedom! thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70098.52
ETH 3942.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70