The Making of a Skin Salve ... Part One

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


PSX_20180531_165614-01-01.jpeg


This is my photo journal of the Making of a Skin Salve.

I don't usually make it this way. This is my Quick!...The Salve Is Almost Gone version.


KIMG4167-01.jpeg


Today I am using three Wildys (weeds) to make a salve.


KIMG4173-01.jpeg


I have Plantain in two varieties, Common (Plantago major) and Lanceleaf (Plantago lanceolata)

Ordinarily, I make a simple one ingredient salve with Plantain.

I usually make a half gallon jar of Plantain in Olive Oil, by a slow 6+ week brew in the dark cupboard method.

Plantain salve replaces triple antibiotic ointments, and burn ointments in my life. From bug bites to baby bums, its my all purpose go to salve.

Requests for me to share with friends and family often leave me running short this time of year.

Enter this Quick version.


KIMG4169-01.jpeg


Violet ( Viola odorata ) is being invited into the blend this time.

I call upon her often in the kitchen.
Her leaves are my favorite spinach replacement. I use her flowers in syrups, salads, and to decorate cakes.

I call upon her today for the cool head she brings. She soothes and eases issues new and old.


KIMG4170-01.jpeg


Chickweed ( Stellaria media ) completes our trio today. I have invited her for her abilities to heal on many levels.

She draws things out, she busts through barriers, she nourishes where she goes.


KIMG4177-01.jpeg


I bring these weeds together this season as the homestead has multiple needs.

Ticks are running rampant and bites are daily occurances.

I am addressing some long standing issues in realms of body(earth), mind and spirit.

We are working the land, and have many minor but varied incidients needing first aid.

Let's move on to the Making of the Skin Salve.



PSX_20180531_165101.jpg

The herbs are rough chopped. The jar is clean. The oils are ready.

This batch is being made in a Hemp oil base, because it is what I had. I use Viramin E oil later in the process as you will learn.

This part is quick and painless to excute, and to read!!

KIMG4183-01-01.jpeg

I toss the weeds together, like a salad and put them in a jar. I use one that seals, as I like to shake and agitate the mixture a couple of times while it is working.

KIMG4192-01-01.jpeg

Next, I pour in the Hemp oil. I make sure to cover the plants. This batch that meant a bit of squishing them down.

KIMG4195-01-01.jpeg

The last step for the day is to carry it out to a sunny spot and request it to do it's own thing.

Adobe_20180529_170551-01.jpeg

This is a Natural break. I will return with Part Two.

Follow along as I make this oil into a salve.



A Peek from The Making of a Skin Salve ... Part Two

KIMG4486-01.jpeg

The Making of a Skin Salve...Part Two is posted. Check it out!


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Oh girl! I am loving this little creation. It's so fun to learn it through you! I have always wanted to learn how to make it!! How did you learn to make salve? I don't want to miss part II!

Thanks!! They are super handy skills to have. I was taught by an earthy mentor friend back when my boys were babes. I was blessed to unschool and raise my family in a very conscious community.

Part two is up if you havent caught it yet!
Seems there is a demand for my recommended long brew version too... I will pick up the oil I need for it today when we go to the big town!

Thanks!! They are super handy skills to have. I was taught by an earthy mentor friend back when my boys were babes. I was blessed to unschool and raise my family in a very conscious community.

Part two is up if you havent caught it yet!
Seems there is a demand for my recommended long brew version too... I will pick up the oil I need for it today when we go to the big town!

Ah, every day I say I am going to make my own natural ointments and household cleaners, but I am terribly guilty of not sticking to the urge! I will though, soon! My kid made me a natural salve for my hands at school for mother's day, I love that he is learning to make natural products at school and really do want to incorporate it into our home environment too! Lovely images to compliment a very useful post!

That's great your son is learning things like that at school.

I also find it difficult to get all the things done that I wish to. May we both find a way to get something "extra" done today. Hugs

If you had not had hemp oil, what oil(s) might you have used, or have you used in the past?

Nice easy to follow post with excellent photos!

Caught this on your comment on the part two post!

Hi Passing by and Upvoted you :) !
:
“More often than not, an inspirational or motivational speaker is someone who makes money from telling us that we can do all of the things that we can do … and pretty much all of the things that we cannot do.” ====> Mokokoma Mokhonoana

Wildcrafting .... I like that. This is very educational. I have been wondering what to do with the huge amounts of plantain on my place. Other than eating it of course.

Wildcrafting is the term I have used to describe my adventures onto the plant world, it was how it was introduced to me...

I really don't eat the Plantain...except maybe in early spring if I am scrounging for young tender salad greens to feed a crowd. I just prefer other wildys on my plate.

I never realized plantain leaves were so versatile and had so many healing properties! I may have to find some seeds to plant for next year.

I am surprised you don't have any around. I will happily collect and send you seed... There is time yet this year... Mine are blooming now!

Common KIMG4844-01.jpeg

LanceleafKIMG4831-01.jpeg
You can't see the plant in the last one.

Hey! Question: for the long dark steep version, do u ever have issues with your oil going moldy?

I’ve read that it does and had one bad experience. Because of this I solar infuse my oils, but also curious about this other method :) thanks! Looks like a great one with all those herbal allies!!

I have never had that happen. I have always taken my medicine making very seriously.

I used fresh rain washed sun dried plants. And fill the jar twice once with chopped plant matter, tamping it down often then fill with the oil, then work to release trapped air and keep filling with oil, over the next day or so. I keep the jar in a bowl for any leakage but Full keeps the air out and I haven't had any trouble with molding.

good to know! thanks! i haven't used that method because of fear of that, but i guess i don't have to. thanks for sharing your method :)

Never be afraid to dabble in small amounts... Trust yourself to know... You can see particulates, you can smell rancid and mold... Your senses are there to protect you.
Enjoy the learning process, make that the goal, not the oil or salve, if something goes wrong... Now you know it... Fear in this situation is more of a lack of experiential data...so get some!!
Hugs!

We are going into West Plains to boogie to some bluegrass today...I will pick up some oil and get the long version started, posting as I go... Many folks are interested.

You can tag along at home... And you are so close if you want more just speak up... I have recently fallen back into teaching...lol...I've been bartering for perennials!

haha sounds good! yeah i wanted to go to the old time music fest but don't think i'm feeling well enough yet (still getting over a flu virus), but have fun- sure to be a good time!

i've had good success with the sun method so i've just stuck with that- just curious about this one, too ;)

I hope you are feeling better soon! It would have been great fun to meet you, another time!

Some friends of ours are playing and I need some promo shots for our wedding page, folks back home don't know this local band!

oh cooL! yeah many of my friends will be there too- not sure if any are playing. who's your friend's group who is playing?

Drifter's Mile, out of the Springfield area

I am learning about salves myself and so far have only made with plantain. Once the calendula blooms I will also make a salve with that. They are the only 2 I know of so far. Looking forward to seeing more, thank you for sharing :)

Having the skills you can be creative now! And not just with medicines, these skills of infusion (oils, vinegars, teas) bring fun to the kitchen too!

I know much, but use little regularly... I have a favorites list that manage all my needs. All available at home. In fact, that is how I teach, I come to where folks spend their time, if its not convienient to learn, it becomes a job rather than a joy! I think the plants know the difference in our approach.

I think the part would be to know more about the plants and their benefits to be able to know what to put together. Also to know what is needed in general to make the perfect mix for whats needed.
A little can go a long way for sure. Thank you for sharing ^_^

I have found in my experience that simple often is best! One ingredient, a small dose... And allow...

Mixes don't allow me solid info on what worked. Sometimes what works gives info as to what is going on. This style of healing is fundamentally different than what mainstream offers... It needs new perspectives and balance of many realms... earth, mind and spirit...

If I can help, please reach out! Happy to try to devise a Steemit version of my mentoring for you if you wish😁

Thanks for this post. It's a reminder I need to start making my own skin products soon. I used to dabble years ago but I'd really like to do it again. I want to make one from calendula as that's what my Nana used to do, so I feel like I'd be connecting to her in some way. xx

You are welcome! May an opportunity open before you...you know its a joy path for you it seems.

My Gandma Vi was the one who introduced me to the natural gentle loving ways of healing. She would likely have been offended by these labels, but she was a healer, an herbalist, a death doula, and a weaver of joy everwhere she went.

As I journey on my path, all roots of what I learn go back to her. I was blessed as she only lived a half block away in my young years.

Lucky you. Your grandma seemed awesome. My Nana was salt of the earth, a farmgirl raised German woman who would have known so many recipes like this just out of sheer neccessity. For me though, I only knew how valuable she was after she passed, as is the way of the young - to not recognise what you had til it was gone. There's something special in honouring her by learning the things that I know she knew.

That's beautiful... I love how you describe her... Sounds like we came from the same kind of people!😁. Honoring our Roots... That could be something to write about.
Hugs

Indeed!!!! Xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25