You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Making of a Skin Salve ... Part One

in #homesteading6 years ago

Thanks for this post. It's a reminder I need to start making my own skin products soon. I used to dabble years ago but I'd really like to do it again. I want to make one from calendula as that's what my Nana used to do, so I feel like I'd be connecting to her in some way. xx

Sort:  

You are welcome! May an opportunity open before you...you know its a joy path for you it seems.

My Gandma Vi was the one who introduced me to the natural gentle loving ways of healing. She would likely have been offended by these labels, but she was a healer, an herbalist, a death doula, and a weaver of joy everwhere she went.

As I journey on my path, all roots of what I learn go back to her. I was blessed as she only lived a half block away in my young years.

Lucky you. Your grandma seemed awesome. My Nana was salt of the earth, a farmgirl raised German woman who would have known so many recipes like this just out of sheer neccessity. For me though, I only knew how valuable she was after she passed, as is the way of the young - to not recognise what you had til it was gone. There's something special in honouring her by learning the things that I know she knew.

That's beautiful... I love how you describe her... Sounds like we came from the same kind of people!😁. Honoring our Roots... That could be something to write about.
Hugs

Indeed!!!! Xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88