You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Making of a Skin Salve ... Part One

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Hey! Question: for the long dark steep version, do u ever have issues with your oil going moldy?

I’ve read that it does and had one bad experience. Because of this I solar infuse my oils, but also curious about this other method :) thanks! Looks like a great one with all those herbal allies!!

Sort:  

I have never had that happen. I have always taken my medicine making very seriously.

I used fresh rain washed sun dried plants. And fill the jar twice once with chopped plant matter, tamping it down often then fill with the oil, then work to release trapped air and keep filling with oil, over the next day or so. I keep the jar in a bowl for any leakage but Full keeps the air out and I haven't had any trouble with molding.

good to know! thanks! i haven't used that method because of fear of that, but i guess i don't have to. thanks for sharing your method :)

Never be afraid to dabble in small amounts... Trust yourself to know... You can see particulates, you can smell rancid and mold... Your senses are there to protect you.
Enjoy the learning process, make that the goal, not the oil or salve, if something goes wrong... Now you know it... Fear in this situation is more of a lack of experiential data...so get some!!
Hugs!

We are going into West Plains to boogie to some bluegrass today...I will pick up some oil and get the long version started, posting as I go... Many folks are interested.

You can tag along at home... And you are so close if you want more just speak up... I have recently fallen back into teaching...lol...I've been bartering for perennials!

haha sounds good! yeah i wanted to go to the old time music fest but don't think i'm feeling well enough yet (still getting over a flu virus), but have fun- sure to be a good time!

i've had good success with the sun method so i've just stuck with that- just curious about this one, too ;)

I hope you are feeling better soon! It would have been great fun to meet you, another time!

Some friends of ours are playing and I need some promo shots for our wedding page, folks back home don't know this local band!

oh cooL! yeah many of my friends will be there too- not sure if any are playing. who's your friend's group who is playing?

Drifter's Mile, out of the Springfield area

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56