Black Thumb Chronicles : Propagation Results ☠

in #homesteading6 years ago

Last time I wrote about the propagation experiments I experienced a few hiccups which started when I bunked the mint up with the carrots.

20180325_141936.jpg
(Recap. Picture March 25 2018)

Then next thing you know I planted everything and the possum ate half of them.

DQmeSnHPDzdcueeEbiKvpHYJKMGGWYhBkmV4vXS6ZkBAC9g_1680x8400.png
(Recap. Picture April 5 2018)

Let me just back track and take you guys back to what happened since the last update ~ March 26 2018.

March 28 2018

20180409_215032.jpg

After it's time in direct sunlight I noticed some of the mint root ends are darker, like they were burned. I'm not 100% sure if the sun did damage to the roots but something definitely happened to them during that time.

Poor mint. It took them ages to bounce back after being in with the carrots and now this. It took a couple of days for the mint to come back after being in direct sunlight. Like me, it needed lots of changes of water for it to come back.

I wish I could say the same for the carrots.

Some time during it's progress I got lazy and poured water over the top of the carrots instead of taking them out, putting them on paper towels to wash and change the container water. From that moment I started seeing a dark patch start to form around the outside of my carrots.

I didn't think much of it at first, shrugging it off as it was just on the outside until I changed the water and took it all out to find a hole on the side of one of them. 😷

And it felt soft and gooey 😷

The other carrot, my main one that grew the head, seemed fine though and it looked like the roots were starting to come out from the bottom of the carrot.

I saw this happen on someone else's carrot propagation and had been looking out for it to happen on mine.

April 1 2018

Over Easter the gooey carrot didn't make it. It was making the water gross and orange, and it just had to go along with a few others that started going gooey as well.

20180409_215139.jpg

What remained was big momma and so I decided to try and propagate the baby carrots I was going to throw out. Who knows how long they've been in there, I was thinking the whole time "When did I buy baby carrots?!", but I gave them a go anyway.

Thank God the mint is back to normal although you can still see the dark root ends. The basil also has a ton more roots.

April 2 2018

Can you see how the water is more orange? This all happened in a day. I think it was at this point that I decided to plant them in the ground, ready or not it's going in because I can't have this grossness in the kitchen.

20180409_215450.jpg

Here's the mint and basil. They look pretty ready to me. Or they look ready because I'm keen to get my kitchen back.

That afternoon they finally went in the ground some in the garden and some in the barrel. You all know what happened to the lot in the barrel, here it is, before and after the possum attack.

BeforeAfter

April 6 2018

4 days after planting and I'm happy to say two mints are looking great and I have a basil I am hoping will survive.

20180409_215741.jpg

For ages I've been worried about temperamental mint was but it seems that's become my best performer out of all my propagation experiments.

April 10 2018

Today.

The carrots are a no go. The momma I thought would work is now just a hole in the ground. Either something got to it or maybe Hubby pulled it out on account that it was turning gross, because it was going off in the end.

And I mean the bad "going off" not the good "going off"

No pictures of that depressing site. I was going to take a photo for the show and tell but decided not to, it's just too sad.

In total I had 4 mints, 4 basils, 6 carrots + 4 more and 1 rosemary. Here's where they all went and what happened to them.

2 Mints in tub ~ Dead ☠2 Mints in the garden ~ Alive 💪
2 Basils in the tub ~ Dead ☠2 Basils in the garden ~ 1 ☠ 1 💪
10 Carrots ~ All Dead ☠-

The rosemary has taken the longest to grow it's roots and is still inside the house. It'll be inside for a while.

After the huge fails with the others I want to wait longer until I have a better root system before I plant it in the ground.

Would I do it all again even though the experiment was a fail?

Yes I would. There's a few things I should have been mindful of and then there were the things I didn't know not to do. I figured this a big learning curve and one that's worth exploring. We are talking about food after all.

Moving Forward

There's a few plants I wish we made the effort to keep when we were doing the clearing for the veggie garden like the lavender bush, the roses and the rosemary gone wild bush.

I shrugged them aside and cast them from the garden because I forgot my witchy side. If I remembered I would have at least collected as much leaves and flowers from them all for my smudging sticks.

Now that the food and practical side is sorted I'll be focusing on my Witch's garden and planting more herbs, ones I can use for smudging or making home remedies.

All this of course will require more soil, meaning we need to finish the lasagna and by the looks of the grass growing through the cardboard gaps, the sooner the better.

I am off to make something! I've been slowly building up energy reserves for this project and I reckon with a top of 22 degrees, despite the 5 hours sleep, I gots this.

Pics and details hopefully tomorrow.

Happy Tuesday Steemit!

🌻 Arly

🍀 All pictures taken on my Samsung Note 8 🍀

Previously in the Black Thumb Chronicles..

Reclaiming our views | Companion and Lasagna Gardening | Hello Lasagna Bag Garden | Permaculture, Food Forests & Tree Guilds | Weekend Gardening Part 1 | Weekend Gardening Part 2 | Weekend Gardening Part 3 | Day 5 | Day 12 | Stage 2 of the lasagna and bursting bag gardens | Perennials vs Annuals | 41 days towards garden glory | Good Bye Bag Garden, Helloooo Veggie Patch! | Rainy Day Photography | Gnome Crazy | Oh, how my garden grows | Propagating Experiments (Basil, Carrots, Rosemary & Mint) | 25 Days Later | [Propagation Results ☠]

Sort:  

Light Food Light Ingredients
But its a very delicious form, well presented. You are a wonderful person and an artist

I've always had really good luck with mint, just trying carrots for the first time now! Also trying to root some pepper and rosemary cuttings :)
I like the progress report, thank you!

Let me know how the carrots go. I'd love carrots but Im not confident with them anymore lol. Best of luck with the cuttings! I know you'll get roots from the rosemary.

I'm over wintering carrots out in the garden too, hoping for seed this year. I will let you know what works for me :)

Wa-hey, glad to see the mint is the top performer!

Yay!! Where did that come from right? Out of no where the mint steals the show.

Maybe your carrots weren't organic enough? XD (watched a video once upon a time allegedly done by a little girl for a school project where she failed to propogate sweet potatoes from a supermarket but succeeded with an organic one from some greengrocer)

I remember J trialling carrots in our aquaponics just to see how they went. We already knew how they were going to grow in the blue metal so it was completely unsurprising when they came out short and stunted and generally stupid lookin, but were delicious nonetheless XD

Even after copious amounts of research or even having an expert mentor directly next door there's always learning curves involved. Have fun with the next batch of experiments :D

goatsig

Maybe? I'll try the local greengrocer or maybe get an organic fruit & veg delivery and propagate what I can from those. Call them baby carrots! Sounds much more appetizing than short and stunted lol I magine home grow carrots would be extra delicious.

Hows the house going love?

I don't know how true that is as I didn't follow that one up, so let us know how it goes ;D We did all ours from seeds and the ones we grew from seeds usually propogated alright.

House isn't going anymore, had to wait on paperwork from Keystart/Department of Something or Other and they took so long it's now under offer :< On the bright side valuation for our house came in so low we're just going to buy the remaining shares ourselves then it will be all ours and then if something else comes up we won't have the stupid runaround anymore.

Still somewhat put out as that other house was pretty much perfect!

goatsig

I like the banners you make. How much do you charge to make them? (I saw yours on @ameliabartlett's blog.)

May be you can adding some liquid organic fertilizer into the carrot water... So the nutrition for plant in water supplyed..

I will do my research on the organic fertilizer. Ive been wanting to make my own actually.

Wahhh.. Thats great.. I'll wait until u re post about the fertlz

Nice Post dear. Looking forward to read your next post

I have followed you, follow me back to be getting up votes from me on your future posts. https://steemit.com/@chokomenia

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29