Black Thumb Chronicles : Rainy Day Photography

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

20180314_143858.jpg

When I say I rush out to the garden first thing in the morning, I'm mean that literally, even on rainy days. The other day was no exception.

It was the mistiest day I've seen so far since we moved. The mist gave the whole valley such an eerie look, I felt like I was in a scene of a movie and something was going to jump down from the trees...

Probably a drop bear.....

20180313_144307.jpg

Despite my drop bear concerns, I headed out to the garden armed with my bright pink with polka dots umbrella. You can kind of, see how bright it is in the photo above. 😁

I figured either..

A. The bright pink glare from my umbrella might act as a deterrent.

B. If not then I can use it as a weapon.

C. If A and B don't work, surely search and rescue will be able to spot me.

My first stop, always my first stop is the Marigolds. Not exactly waking up to smell the roses (we got rid of those) but more waking up to appreciate nature, life and growth.

As soon as I saw all the water droplets on everything I knew I wanted to take a bit more care with these photos so I can highlight them.

If you're on your phone, you can zoom in to the droplets and see the reflections in them. Pretty cool!

20180314_142929.jpg

How beautiful is that drop of water, perched perfectly on that bud? From the looks of it, it should bloom soon. Also, why does yellow always look happy?

Being a full time Steemian, doing all the things I do online and hours upon hours in front of the computer, when I go outside to the garden, I'm instantly transported to a different life, different pace, different challenges.

20180314_143432.jpg

I wish I had the words to describe the satisfaction and pride I feel properly but I will say this.

Give gardening a go, things might snap off and die but sometimes they live and grow, and when they do, the journey alone, watching it grow becomes worth all the trial and error.

20180314_143657.jpg

More and more, I find myself drawn outside, finding so much pleasure in being surrounded by nature that I wonder about a life as a farmer.

God knows I've grown to love gardening, watching everything evolve. It is also a simple life, and I love the idea of a simple life.

As I continued to walk down the garden stretch, looking for possible photo ops, it wasn't until I got back to the chives that I found the last "Droplets" shot.

20180314_143329.jpg

I had another blog planned for today but it's taking a lot longer to compile the data/research and rather than posting what I have now, I decided to wait it out until I have everything finalised. I'm hoping that won't be too much longer.

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

🌼 Arly

Sort:  

perfect shots.. I love you photos..

So basically your next house is going to be acreage? XD You're pretty game going out to garden in the rain, or were you just going to hang out in the garden? I wasn't quite clear on that. It was a bit rainy here todaym the petrichor and cooler temperatures after yesterday was nice :)

goatsig

I love the water droplets. Nice captures

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52