Black Thumb Chronicles : Weekend Gardening (Part 2)

in #garden6 years ago

...continuing from Part 1 🌻

Here is my new companion planting layout.

20180220_102154.jpg
(Top Left to Bottom Right)

Marigold, Tomato and Basil

The main plant here the tomato. The basil acts as the repeller and the marigold is the pollinator.

Marigold, Tomatoes, Basil and Beans

Again the main plant here is the tomato. Beans provide nutrients to the soil, namely nitrogen for the tomatoes. The basil and marigold both serve the same purpose here.

Eggplants, Marigold and Capsicum

This was a tricky combination as I didn't previously research capsicum and combinations for it. I ended up classifying capsicum as part of the "pepper" family, although it's not a pepper, and saw it goes well with eggplant. Again I'm using the marigold as a pollinators.

Basil, Lettuce, Marigold and Chives

I saw a video the other day with a rows of lettuce with a row of chives in the middle and thought it was pretty cool. The chives act as a 3 in one ~ pollinator, repellent and prevents unwanted diseases. As usual I have marigold and basil doing their thing.

The Lasagna

20180220_103210.jpg

Before I got stuck into the planting, I had to attend to the lasagna by sorting the cardboard and making sure there's no tape left on the boxes before laying them out on the patch we are working on which took no time at all.

I used to work filling shelves, stacking pallets, moving pallets, dealing with boxes. All that experience came in handy over the weekend.

Soon enough..

20180217_154449.jpg

20180217_160124.jpg

Once all the cardboard was in position, Hubby took over and began adding the foliage on top.

20180217_164750.jpg

Time to bag plant

Bag planting is as easy as it looks, possibly easier, it all went down like this.

First (although I forgot to take a photo of it), I used all the bricks to build a platform for the bags.

My main focus here is to provide good drainage for my plants. Even though I did poke holes under the bag, I felt maybe by lifting it off the ground it will drain better.

I then used a blade to poke holes on the back of the bag and turned it over to cut a rectangle on the plastic.

20180217_170422.jpg
(Can you see the cut on one of the bags?)

20180219_214628.jpg

It all happened fairly quickly after that and I forgot to take progress shots.

This is the end result.

20180219_214800.jpg

Marigold, Tomato and Basil

20180219_214705.jpg

Marigold, Tomatoes, Basil and Beans

20180219_214735.jpg

Eggplants, Marigold and Capsicum

20180219_214505.jpg

Basil, Lettuce, Marigold and Chives

20180219_214538.jpg

If you noticed on my breakdown there's a marigold (pollinator) in every bag and some sort of repellant as well, but that is in no way complete.

I'm still missing key core elements such as deep rooted plants, mulchers, more suppressors, more nitrogen fixers ~ but I suppose that will all come together later when we are out of the bag and into the garden.

In the meantime while they are in the bags we can move them around the garden if we're finding plants are getting too much or too little sunlight.

In the end I was left with this pile of extra soil and containers.

20180219_214846.jpg

Perfect!

Watch this space for Part 3 cos I have some seeds I want to show you guys, maybe get advice or opinions and as always I'd love to hear your gardening tips!

🌻 Arly

U5drog83fbNzYhvoGkW2VceoLUqa2s8_1680x8400.png

Black Thumb Chronicles so far..

Weekend Gardening Part 1 https://steemit.com/garden/@bearone/black-thumb-chronicles-weekend-gardening-part-1

Permaculture, Food Forests & Tree Guilds
https://steemit.com/garden/@bearone/black-thumb-chronicles-permaculture-food-forests-and-tree-guilds

Hello Lasagna Bag Garden
https://steemit.com/garden/@bearone/black-thumb-chronicles-hello-lasagna-bag-garden

Companion and Lasagna Gardening
https://steemit.com/garden/@bearone/black-thumb-chronicles-companion-and-lasagna-gardening

Reclaiming our views
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@bearone/homesteading-reclaiming-our-views

Sort:  

This is so awesome. I too love gardening and mostly grow maize, coffee here in Uganda:)

Have you thought about starting a food forest? 🌻🌻

Yes.. In my plans this year. Thanks for doing such great farming. The world needs such people like you.

My father use to have a garden in our backyard. I'll definitely refer to this post(and the part 1 too!) once we try to rebuilt that garden again soon.

wow that's great..

You might struggle a tad with deep rooted plants in potting mix bags XD

Having the quickie patch while waiting for the lasagne strip was a pretty good idea. Nice to see it all coming together :D

goatsig

Was thinking that. If only I knew which ones were the deep rooted ones... :D

Thanks hun :D I have me moments of genius here and there ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53