Black Thumb Chronicles : Weekend Gardening (Part 1)

in #garden6 years ago

We were busy little bees over the weekend, off to a late start on Saturday but we got there in the end and with plenty of sunlight left.

I have been planning for and looking forward to this trip all week. Yup. Me ~ hanging to go to the garden and hardware store, who'd have thunk it?

20180219_215320.jpg

Bunnings

Bunnings is the biggest Home and Hardware store/warehouse in Australia. Since we're familiar with it and the local one isn't too far from home we decided we'd start there.

In terms of Bunnings stores the one near us is a baby, which meant it had most of the basics but not much of anything else.

They did have most of the things we were after. I think In our case it being a small store worked in our favor because if there were more plants to choose from I know we would have come home with more.

As it was I feel we may have gone overboard for our trial run.

Walking towards the back of the plant section I found the Australian Native plants

20180217_135950.jpg

20180217_135940.jpg

20180219_213916.jpg

If I can use an Australian Native plant for one of my core guild needs I will. I just feel our native birds will enjoy them better? Am I wrong here? lol

The 'Pacific Reef' looks like it could be a great pollinators and if it spreads across the ground like thyme, it could also be a suppressor.

This amazing plant caught my eye with it's big bold lettuce like bloom.

20180219_214119.jpg

It didn't have a tag on it so I don't know what it is. Do you know what it is?

These flowers are so bright and vibrant it helped bring my mood up in an instant. I didn't know anything about it though and my plant knowledge isn't that good.

20180217_135924.jpg

On to the business end of the shopping..

20180219_213953.jpg

20180219_214034.jpg

20180219_214052.jpg

20180219_214140.jpg

My Selection

The more I research gardening, the more I fall in love with plants.

Every day since I embarked on this journey I have learned something new and I feel like I'm starting to connect the dots in terms of companion planting and which plants bring what to the soil and the ecosystem.

A flower isn't just a flower, a weed isn't just a weed, it's all connected. We just need to find the harmonious connection.

20180217_163616.jpg
(Group shot! You can see my marigolds in this picture.)

With companion planting and the guild system in mind, I selected plants I felt would be compatible with Tomatoes and Eggplants as they are the main ones we want to grow.

20180219_085840.jpg
(Basil, two types of Tomatoes and Beans at the back.)

20180219_085812.jpg
(Eggplants!)

20180219_085907.jpg
(We bought two types of lettuce but you can only see the cos lettuce in this picture. We also bought chives but you can only see the tops of it.)

20180217_163716.jpg
(Last minute random puchase - capsicum)

20180219_085753.jpg
(And when we couldn't find the plant we wanted we bought seeds.)

Companion Bag Planting

f675ab983aeff6f897cf67a880c46f29.jpg
(One of the many reference guides I use to figure out which plants work well with what.) Source

The original idea was to begin with maybe 1 to 2 bags seeing that we were trialling the bag planting idea, but when we got there we went a little plant crazy and had to buy 4 bags of potting mix instead.

Really, we needed to buy 6 to give some of these plants room to grow...

20180220_092231.jpg

As much planning as I did in figuring out which plants go together in which bag, on the day I had to redo my plan to accommodate the capsicum impulse buy, and the fact that I thought I had two bean plants but I only had one..

Here is my new companion planting layout.

20180220_102154.jpg

Stay tuned tomorrow for Part 2!
I'll explain my plant companions in that post, show you guys some progress shots and some of the seeds I planted.

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Omg! YAY! Hope they live on and thrive! Sending green vibes your way

Thank you!! I need all them awesome green vibes. 😚😚

The plants are awesome!
Everything was so organized ma'am :D

Good morning Pam 😊 Thank you!! I blame the organised to my on and off OCD moments 😁

Great! I surely do. My partner and I love herbs plant at home.
777CC451-B31E-4FC8-A2A7-208B116EF4C5.jpeg

C74C58D2-4FE9-4176-95EE-2742C7AC1003.jpeg

Omg is that mint? 😍 I'm not that good with identifying plants yet. Do you also grow from cuttings?

Yes we did @bearone. Yes it’s peppermint.

The planning indeed is vital to optimize growth of your crops. It is great that you employed and understood the concept of companion planting.
Do you use the soil outside your house or also bought custom-ready-made garden soil? It is good to identify indicator plants to know what ratio you will use when applying urea. The N-P-K ratio is essential to full nourishment of the plants especially(if I'm not mistaken with the count) majority of your planned crops are fruit-bearing.

Luigi!!! Ooo sounds like you know your thing 🌺

We bought a ready to go potting mix. Our soil, I'm sure is fine as things grew and continue to thrive on it. That might also have something to do with living in the mountains. But we need to definitely do a soil test before put our plants in the ground.

Our plan is to build our garden bed soil up for 6 months so it will be ready by Spring.

I'm gonna go Google NPK ratio now. Thank you!!

A soil test is great. Hehe. My grandmother is a horticulturist. I know a little thing or two about plants and soil science. Just like you, the sight of it wakes me up. Mountain soil would still not consist unfortunately the necessary NPK ratio unless it is a "complete" soil.

Ohhhh I'll remember to ask you for advice then lol

BTW all day #love-radio on right now!

So many interesting names for planting techniques these days XD

goatsig

I know, it gets really confusing sometimes lol

Do not forget that there is such a thing as the compatibility of horticultural crops. This is due to the fact that some species consume the same nutrients from the soil, and often "neighbors" simply do not have enough. In addition, for pollination it is necessary to attract insects.

Yes! I'm slowly learning about plant compatibility. Its such an involved subject and I feel o be able to properly pair up plants I need to know the nitty gritty of each one. sigh lol I feel like Alice in Wonderland.

Do you have any tips @grisotti?

Wow, you are really diving into this garden! The end result is going to be fantastic I can already picture it!!

Looks awesome. I'm going to have to look through that chart and see what I can use for my garden.

Hi. I'm sorry for spamming. We are at the moment planing out our garden and we are searching for some gardeners / homesteaders who could give us some advice.It would be nice if you took a look at our plan and give us your thoughts. It would mean a lot for us.
SILIŅI. I need gardeners advice. Planing out our territory.
sil.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52