Black Thumb Chronicles : Companion and Lasagna Gardening

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

20180213_131334.jpg

As a self confessed Black Thumb, I am wary of handling plants in general.

But now that we have our own house I can't help but feel like I need to pull my socks up and try to coax the genius gardener (that's hiding inside me somewhere) to come out.

Today was about figuring out what we're doing with the garden and doing lots of research that's leading to one thing after another, posing more options and questions simultaneously.

But first...

Where we're at.

Glorious Hubby has been knuckling down on the veggie spot and sawed off the last two plants yesterday afternoon, making it ready for our trip to Bunnings this weekend. The whole L shape is now completely cleared.

This is how it's looking right now.

20180213_192146.jpg

It looks like it's ready for companion planting...
But is it?

What is Companion Planting?

Companion Planting is the process of planting plants together that benefit each other either by deterring pests, enhancing flavor, providing shade or precious nutrients.

For Example.

It is suggested that Onions be planted with other plants as the smell of onion is so strong it deters pests.

Basil is recommended to be planted alongside Tomatoes as it's said to enhance the flavor of the tomatoes AND deters flies and mosquitoes.

This is not a "new" thing. In fact ancient civilisations used this method to maintain and control their crops and it seems it's making a come back!

The most famous example of companion planting is the Three Sisters Garden.

2462ed4be37ae8677840fb27d638e561.jpg

Why Companion Planting?

I want an organic garden which means no RoundUp, no chemicals and only safe and natural ways to keep my garden happy and healthy.

I'm also a big believer in nature and her ways and I feel if we work with her we'll have an easier time, so in theory if we plant correctly nature should take care of it.

If there's a way to plant things together that will achieve all that, I'm all for trying it.

Companion Planting Myths

Although Basil does deter some of the pests that like to trouble Tomato plants, I've yet to hear someone testify that basil truly enhanced a tomato's flavour.

Also. Taste is subjective so.... 🤔

What does keep coming up is most aromatic herbs deter pests anyway because of their smell.

In fact (and I learned this during the whole rat drama) rats don't like mint and if you plant mint around your house it will deter rats from your property (apparently).

Another thing worth noting is that common sense needs to be applied when planting.

For example.

Don't plant Lettuce next to Pumpkin or Don't plant something tall next to a plant that requires a lot of sunlight.

The Veggie Spot

20180213_133608.jpg

This is definitely not to scale. I went for a walk out to the yard yesterday after I drew the "L" and noticed the long part needs to be longer.

Originally I proposed the "Soil Bag Planting" idea..

747e285ceec4f0316be9d6b5ce541059.jpg

That's what those rectangles in my drawing represent ~ soil bags lol

Then I showed Hubby who dubbed it "dodgy" and there goes that idea. So off I went, back to the drawing board.

During today's research I realised we probably need to work on our soil before we start planting things.

Everything I've read and watched all go on about the right time to do things...

I don't know how to tell Hubby he can't plant anything until Spring if we follow what people are saying...

If we did wait I would go with the Lasagna Gardening method.

Lasagna Gardening

Lasagna Gardening aka the "No Tilling" gardening is basically a genius way of reclaiming your garden with minimal effort, as long as you can wait months for the soil to be ready.

2f830c5f302b0c4d685bd758fc043ac3.jpg

Just by looking at the diagram you can tell why they call it Lasagna Gardening, and as you can see, it's as simple as stacking layers above each other

The beauty of this method is I can reuse all those cardboard boxes I've been whinging about AND I'm pretty sure I can use all the branches and foliage destined for the green bin.

6acf0dd8cf9d95a3da98b81cf3882655.jpg
(A variation of Lasagna layering in a raised garden bed.)

Ideally, now that we're coming to the end of Summer, we need to "Lasagna" the veggie spot now to give everything time to break down and let the seasons help with it.

I am wondering if there's a way to do the Lasagna but now.. I think perhaps there is, but I don't want to sacrifice soil quality.

Overall today has been a eye opener.

I've realized this gardening business will need to be studied more and I'm really leaning towards Permaculture.

Everything I read or watched today has been linked to Permaculture one way or another...

But that's another blog for another day 😊

Do you have any gardening tips? Into Permaculture? Experienced companion planter? I need all the help I can get with this.

❤ Arly

Image Credits & Sources
http://pinterest.com/
http://gmofreeusa.org/
http://waldenlabs.com/
http://yardsurfer.com/companion-planting/
http://shelterrific.com/

Sort:  

Think we had a lasagne thing started with the raised beds XD Otherwise gardening is generally the partner's dominion, and we are so late with everything this season, we didn't even get new fish for the aquaponics which now also has algae all through the grow beds x_x

And likely we won't be doing anything major til we work out whether or not we're moving (and that is proceeding with such excruciatingly glacial slowness it's starting to bug me).

Permaculture does seem like a good idea though :)

goatsig

Wow you have an Aquaponics set up. I wanted one of those, I still do actually but I feel like I'm running out of land already 😱😱 I'll have to pick your brain on that later.

Did the valuation happen??!! I can imagine how frustrated you are by now. Hang in there, I hope you guys get a yay or nay soon ❤❤

I recently killed another perfectly healthy batch of herbs, so I'm still grieving their loss and looking at the empty pots... They didn't even make it to the veggie patch! Anything I grow has to be heat proof, draught proof, flood proof, hail proof and me proof.

Thank heavens we live in a sub-tropical envrironment where just about everything grows like weeds... Except vegetables, so tropical fruits it is!

Good luck... I'm sure you'll do really well, and I promise to stay in the this hemisphere to give you a better chance LOL

LOL

Anything I grow has to be heat proof, draught proof, flood proof, hail proof and me proof.

I'm sorry to hear about your herbs love (RIP) I have mourned my fair share. I feel your pain.

Tropical fruits sound lovely tho 👌 I can only eat so many apples if you know what I mean...

Thank you. I'm gonna need all the luck I can get! I'm going full experimental mode this weekend.

Entertaining as always @bearone :) There is nothing like growing your own food.

gio6

hah thanks @gio6 . Nah there isn't and I gotta say I'm keen as! lol

Great post. I miss my garden. My garden for me was a place to relax. I was always alone in it in peace and quiet. Good luck with gardening.

Aww I hope you have a garden again soon. Did you have a favourite plant @silviamiller?

Greener than green it is! Good luck on the gardening business!

You are ready! Now, what is your plan? Which plant you like? Which vegetables? Must be applicable in weather. But the tomato, any weather is fine! (^_^)

OMG @kennyroy! I'm so sorry I just saw this. I'm glad to know tomatoes grow in any weather. It's hubby's favourite and we go through a lot of it :D I need them all year round.

This is an amazing briefing! Thank you. Everything is well put together, a good set of companion posts! I love permaculture and lasagna gardening because one of the things they promote is the organic and nature-friendly solution for everything! I must also give you credit for the tomato-basil suggestion, I'll take it as yours and see if I can come up with something to plant them in pairs now! I'll post pics of those too. It's awesome to be able to follow your steps and thoughts around an experience like this! Hope you have the best of both fun and luck! Happy vibes.

Nonnos pommodoro in some strife! Looks like its in the Bermuda triangle of gardening :p

Great update @bearone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44