Black Thumb Chronicles : Permaculture, Food Forests & Tree Guilds

in #garden6 years ago (edited)

Last week was a huge journey for me in terms of learning how to grow things, types of gardens, different gardening techniques.

Permaculture, Food Forests, Tree Guilds are the ones I'm obsessed about at the moment.

The way of gardening I remember was the lay the weed mat down, throw soil over it, put your plants in and make sure you water it.

Bugs wanting a cut of your crops, diseases, weeds ~ all that is normal.

This was all fine until I decided I don't want to eat food sprayed with God knows what. I want organic, and of course organic is expensive.

And that's when I decided to do some research.

But first...

Be a DIYer

Doing/creating something for yourself, by yourself is very empowering.

By taking the time to learn something new you're giving yourself something far more valuable than if you had purchased a service or a product.

It also brings forth appreciation. We live in such a fast paced world and everything is produced and sold so quickly we sometimes lose sight of the process it took for that item to get to you.

When you make your own things, grow your own food, you know exactly how much effort goes in and no doubt the fruit you grew will taste sweeter than any other fruit.

Knowledge, experience and skills are invaluable assets to have.

If shit goes south and there's no more fiat, no electricity, no water and all you got is you. Can you survive?

There was a point where we were prepped for 2 months. We had about 60 litres of water, canned goods, rice, dry pasta, toilet paper.. (don't forget the toilet paper!!)

I had been watching some docos and thought if we had to, can we survive? Then came the question of our consumption rate.... how much do we consume?

That 2 months was more like 1 month struggling on the last week. It was also a huge eye opener and it began our quest to be self sustainable. X amount of years later we are finally here.

This is the progress we've made over the last month, keeping in mind we moved in almost a month ago.

PicsArt_02-19-08.44.53.jpg

Not bad right?

I went from a lethal black thumb gardener, to a semi lethal, well researched black thumb gardener.

Now about those Food Forests.

Food Forests

A Food Forest is exactly what it sounds like. A forest of food. Instead of having a manicured garden with hedges and shrubs, a food forest is more like a self sustaining ecosystem that produces food.

1000sqm of land sounds like a decent amount, at least that's what we thought before we learned about Food Forests.

Then we began watching YouTube videos of people's Food Forests and were floored at the amount of space and animals they all had.

57c42943cbc3b447fcf174bcc8e11df8.jpg
(Everyone had chickens!) Source

James Prigioni is our fave source of gardening wisdom at the moment. Here he is in Phase One of his "How to Grow a Food Forest" series.

He was actually instrumental with us ending up with the "lasagna" method. The way he explains things is so easy to understand and even easier to absorb.

Although he doesn't mention "swales" in any of the videos I've seen so far, a few of the others do especially in Permaculture videos.

Swales are trenches dug along the contours of the land to maximise water catchment and efficiency of water dispersion. Having swales in your garden will help keep your plants watered and for people like us with a sloping yard, it will help keep the water on your property for your garden.

Permaculture

51948889ea77317a3afe58b958d0f1bf.jpg
Source

Permaculture is the conscious design and maintenance of agriculturally productive ecosystems which have the diversity, stability, and resilience of natural ecosystems. It is the harmonious integration of landscape and people — providing their food, energy, shelter, and other material and non-material needs in a sustainable way. Source

Permaculture in so many ways suit us and the direction we want to head in life.

We are far from being eco warriors, but we're aware of our footprint and the cost of over consumption of the Earth's resources.

In deciding on the lasagna method we were able to reuse a lot of materials destined for the tip like the green waste from clearing the garden, to ALL the boxes from the move. Reusing all these materials not only saved us time, but also money in the future.

All of a sudden I'm seeing our green waste in a totally different light and something we could store in the future instead of throwing in the bin.

Another thing that comes hand in hand with permaculture is the Tree Guild concept.

Tree Guilds or Plant Guilds

a65fb5fbd402520781d9068e63c04888.jpg
Source

Tree Guilds or Plant Guilds is basically another term for Companion Planting, well to me anyway.

In my companion planting research all I found was bits and pieces of which plants should be together which is a great start but I need to know more.

The infographic above explained it beautifully and I referred to it when we were at Bunnings plant shopping.

I tried to incorporate some of the core layers like pollinators, repellers, nitrogen fixers into my bag garden set up, but only time will tell.

I wanted to share my new garden set up with you guys today but I realised I needed to do a brief explanation on a few things so my next post can make sense.

Are you an experienced gardener? Do you have any tips you want to share? Pop them in the comments! Would love some tips!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

arly, i'm very happy to find this amazing post...and your steemit blog!!!!! i'm a HUGE food forest fan!!!!! please keep these posts coming!!!!

ps - the james prigioni channel is one of my favorites in all of youtube land! thanks for sharing his work here. i love dan from the plant abundance channel too! i've been commenting on their videos....attempting to get them over here on steemit and dtube!!!!!

I didn't know gardening is a ton of hardwork but great work! Wish I also have the green thumb Mam hehe

Omg @emdesan it's so much work. I had no idea either. A green thumb would be nice right about now

Stupid question, but what is a black thumb gardener?

We have a little garden here, over the last few years I have slowly been learning how to grow things, well let's be honest, I am at the stage of not killing things. But we have nice plans for some fruits and veggies. Always we miss the best planting season for the veggies due to being busy, but last year did manage a really nice crop of broad beans. Now with spring rapidly coming around the corner, we have to think about what we are doing this year!

My only advice. Don't plant mint!

A black thumb gardener is a gardener that tends to kill plants... lol I don't think I'm at the stage of not killing things. I planted a lettuce the other day and it's dead already. It's also raining so people can't say it's not getting watered lol... It's me, I know it.

Yeh I'm only starting to learn about the planting seasons myself. It's a bit hard to get my head around it, so think I might have to make a chart or set a calendar reminder or something.

Ohh beans is meant to be awesome for your soil. I have 1 bean plant I'm hoping will live throughout Autumn and Winter...

Which fruit trees are you getting? And why not mint!??? I was so gonna plant mint.

Okay, I'm not a black thumb (although, none of our indoor plants survive). But definitely not a green thumb either!

Planting seasons are tricky. Unless you are really on top of it, it is just easy to forget. Also, I wonder if it is changing with the changing climate as well, the seasons on the seed packets might be a month or half a month out. On the other hand, I'm not at that level of accuracy with my planting! Sometime in the same season name is probably as good as I'm getting at the moment!

Beans were great, we did a a few rows of seeds (about 1*2 metres). They were easy to look after and we got a pretty pick crop, they also survived frost and a bit of snow. I think they are pretty tough!

Fruit, my wife wants a little apple tree. We don't have a great amount of space in our backyard, but it would be good for the shade. We've read that it needs another apple tree to cross-pollinate for the fruit. Last year, we planted a little cherry tree and a few starter bushes of blackberries. Looking foward to seeing how they go. We also have a little black grape vine, and two of these rode bessen. 2 Rosemary bushes and a thyme bush, those are impossible to kill!

aalbessen.jpg

We had a mint (chocolate mint!) growing with the rest of the herbs, but it spreads like crazy! If you plant it, make sure it is isolated so it can't spread too easily. It needs to be cut back often, so I hope you LOVE mint tea!

I'm curious about reusing our garden waste, looks interesting.

WOW.. You're definitely not a black thumber.

I don't know about having two apple trees for cross pollination.. But I would definitely say do a tree guild when you do. A doco I watched yesterday suggested for people wanting to start a food forest to begin with planting an apple tree guild.

We've still got landscaping to do on our property so I don't really want to plant trees just yet.

Check out the video in my post. I think he covers reusing garden waste.

The main thing that we have learnt is that you shouldn't try to have the dream garden straight off the bat. Try stuff, kill stuff, rip out stuff. The thing will evolve and you learn what works.

It wasn't so cold today, so I went out to have a look at what damage the winter has caused. Seems everything is starting to bud, so that's good. But we didn't plant any winter food as we didn't a month back in Australia. I guess I will be looking for early spring stuff to plant now.

PS, I just realised you are the one that did our signature, thanks again! Half the time I keep forgetting it, and add it back in a day or two later!

Momi, i like the idea of coming up with plant guild at home. It is unique and has a style. I love making things harmonious as well except for my hair which is always not in place. 🌸

Thank you @gailbelga.

LOL Gail... You are wild and untamed, this is part of your charm, and btw your hair knows how to be glorious in that state so I don't know what you're talking about :P

My hair right now momi is just so short and very untamed. Hah

Nice post @bearone - I learnt some new stuff to put into practice! Well done with your own gardening progress too.

Your gardening knowledge is profound. I too am a Ugandan farmer. We want to grow and at least reach your level too!

Ohh I'm only a beginner! Maybe we can learn together :)

Great work for just a month hun, I unfortunately can’t seem to grow anything lol. I have killed so many plants it’s not funny.

Yeh we went and dug out all the alive plants and now have nothing 😱😱 all in a month... 😱😱

I planted stuff but wether or not it works is another thing hun. My track record hasn't been flash, iffy actually.

If all this works though you gotta try it!

Good work Arly, glad to see you're persisting despite the difficulties of going organic. My idea of going organic is to go to that section of the supermarket LOL... Look forward to hearing how it goes when the shovel hits the dirt!

Thanks @aussiesteem!

LOL that's my search word when I shop online 😁😁

No shovel hitting the dirt for a while. Gonna try bag planting 😱😱 while the lasagna marinates.

Thats nice to grow your own veggies/fruit in your own garden. In spring we always get free seeds from the supermarket. It's more for kids to learn about nature I believe, and our kids love it. I remember we had cucumber seeds....Well, it grows like crazy! we left it outside, and it got attacked by snails. We kept it inside, it grows beautiful but no help of bees....I don't know how to get rid of snails. They come like an army.....

I love how you can get free seeds from the supermarket! Ive been thinking about where else I could get seeds from. :(

We have a plant that snails used to attack all the time, but I think where we live now, thanks to the lizards everywhere, the snails are controlled.

Is there any way to encourage bird or lizards in to your garden?

lizards? wow, we don't have them here in Holland. They would die from the cold I think. There are birds and if you put peanut butter in your garden you can attract birds but also mice. Birds also will poo everywhere.:-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53