SteemWomen Club Engagement Challenge Contest 1 | My Kids are My Heart, Meet My Eldest Child

in SteemWomen Club2 years ago (edited)

When does a neat-freak makes peace with the following situations?

  • the food crumbs on the floor
  • oily handprints on the new sofa
  • abstract sketches on the living room wall
  • onions under the bed
  • shoes on the bed
  • trash carefully spread outside the bin

Answer:
When all these are the doings of his/her own product(read child).

We usually hear about how life changes after kids. I also heard stuff but never did I know the intensity of the matter.

I didn't know that life takes a 180° shift, kids become the axis of your presence, your thoughts, plans, routine, work everything molds according to those tiny beings.

I was a night owl, loved peaceful hours, liked everything organised and super clean..

Now I can't stay awake after 10pm on most days. I don't get peaceful hours, my house is constantly rumbling with shouting, crying, rhymes, my squeaky clean floors have muddy shoes prints most of the day, I have to step carefully in the room as Legos are planted on all the walking area.

These things used to raise my blood pressure and still do sometimes but I bear it all. Why?

Those tiny humans who create this mess have my heart. From the moment they came into my life, my life is just about them.


About my kids

I have two boy kids, Muhammad turned 5 this January and Mahad will be 2 in coming August. Both are poles apart in nature and keep challenging my nerves on daily (read hourly) basis.

IMG_20220220_153722.jpg

Where Muhammad is a calm, sensitive, peaceful, understanding and caring child, there Mahad is everything opposite. He's not even 2 and bosses around the house.

Initially Muhammad was over the moon to have a baby brother but now he wants to send his baby brother to the moon because baby wants everything to himself that Muhammad puts his hands on.

Despite all this clash of behaviour, Muhammad doesn't allow anyone to disturb his baby brother. He acts like a true big brother and defends him outside the home.


I choose Muhammad as the subject for this contest.

1.5 year old Muhammad

IMG_20220430_011634.jpg

5 year old Muhammad

Not because I love him more. I chose him because he's grown up and I can write more about him whereas Mahad is still a baby, doesn't even talk so I have less things to share about him.

Muhammad is the most caring child in the world. He's intelligent, curious and very sensitive. He's always been different from most kids of his age. Since babyhood, if I stopped him from something, he obeyed me.

He takes care of me when I am sick and asks his dad as well to take care of his mom.

He's just 5, but he has always been thoughtful. He makes sure to give a nice present and bake a cake for me on my Birthday. Though, usually he asks me to bake the cake. 😀

He loves making cards, so he tries to make one for me.

He makes sure that I take vitamins daily by handing me the glass of water and my supplement bottle.

There are numerous things he does, I don't know how much shall I write.


Effects on my life

I try to recall the life before kids but I can't remember how it felt back then. It feels like both of them had always been in my life.

I was the laziest person back then and now I move around the house like a robot. I constantly worry about their meals. No matter, how sick I feel, I drag myself to the kitchen to make something for them.
I have never compromised on my sleep, now I have lost the count of sleepless nights I spent taking care of my sick kids, specially Muhammad. He's always been prone to viral and bacterial infections.

I graduated as a software engineer from one of the best university of Pakistan, I was a good developer but I left it all for the better upbringing of my kids. It's been years now that I put my career on hold and sometimes I feel like I don't even remember how to write a simple program because kids have made my brain an empty shell.

Still I don't have any regrets. These intial years of their lives will never come back and they need my undivided attention. I can pursue my career later on, when I will have more time on hand.

Yesterday, Muhammd got his result of final exams and has been promoted to next class. I wasn't active here a lot because I had been busy with him. He aced in every subject and his teacher was extremely happy about his performance throughout the year.

IMG_20220430_012406.jpg


Either I am on Steemit or spending time with my family. Muhammad noticed that I was spending too much time on laptop so for him I cut short some of my duties on Steemit and don't take any responsibility over the weekend. I spend time with him as much as he wants.


There's so much more that I could write here but I think I should conclude the post and invite @pixie.dust, @wander.lust, @vvarishayy and @haidermehdi to this challenge.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

MashAllah MashAllah adorable kids ❤️

He makes sure that I take vitamins daily by handing me the glass of water and my supplement bottle.

How sweet is this 🥺 Half of them recover when one of us cares so much ☺️ may Allah give them good health and best future with your best guidance Ameen

Mahad will be 2 in coming August.

My birthday month partner 🥳💕
Best wishes for the contest.

HAHAHAH I loved the way you started the post. It's super original.

It's also true, our children represent a lot of challenges. Parenting is definitely not for cowards.

But one thing is for sure, after all the stresses there is nothing better than seeing them grow up, smile, and sleep peacefully at night.

I say all this because I have a daughter who is like a little hurricane at home, and sometimes I get shoes or toys even under my pillow...but I love her more than my life, just as you show in your post with your son.

I think one needs to be mentally prepared before deciding to be a parent. If you are not ready then a child can suffer. But I think it's such a sweet relationship that most of the time, whether ready or not, parents eventually give in and try their best to be a good parent. Mental preparation is important, nevertheless.

Haha, I have got toys under pillow but thankfully not shoes yet.

 2 years ago 

Muhammad has always been my favorite kid. He's such a well behaved, intelligent and a nice kid and all the credit goes to you.

I can relate to that career thing that you've mentioned so much. I too sacrificed my career so that I can give my whole undivided attention to kids but at times it feels depressing too but I would never regret this decision of mine because times flies so fast and I don't want to waste these precious moments away from my kids.

Tell Muhammad that we miss him a lot.❤️

It's depressing at times but Steemit always makes me feel productive.

Muhammad misses you and Essa as well. Hope to see you guys soon.

 2 years ago 

Great entry sister, Muhammad is as well so cute. Like me, I also chose my daughter as one of the important people in my life because she is the one whi gives color to it. Whenever I am stressed, just one kiss from her everything will be alryt.

Kids definitely give color to our life. Lots of love to your daughter. (:

 2 years ago 

Indeed sister. They are our precious jewel and dont want to get lost. They already had been a part of our life.

 2 years ago (edited)

Both are poles apart in nature and keep challenging my nerves on daily (read hourly) basis.

Sibling are meant to be poles apart. I’ve never seen sibling having same kinda personality and I guess that’s the most annoying yet beautiful thing! :D

He's intelligent, curious and very sensitive.

Ma Shaa’Allah Ma Shaa’Allah! He’s definitely gonna make you proud someday!

I can pursue my career later on, when I will have more time on hand.

Trust me! you are still managing everything so beautifully. :’)

Haha, oh yes, siblings can never be the same.

Thank you for your kind words. (:

 2 years ago 

MASHA ALLAH your kids are so cute. I think all kinds are naught in this generation. And as you said that MUHAMMAD is a little different from other kids. He's Intelligent and understands what you say That's a very good thing. In this way. he will be mature and will be more intelligent. And congrats on his awesome result. No doubt you have out your great efforts also. But it's a must. Well, ALLAH bless your nice family

Yes, he's a unique kid and I have no doubt he will make us proud in every phase of life.

Thank you for the wishes and prayers.

 2 years ago 

YES INSHA ALLAH

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 2 years ago 

Beautifully written to be honest. That's true I've my youngest sister I have witnessed how much mess a child can do but being a mother is a huge responsibility. I've no idea of how much a mother struggles for the upbringing of her child.

Best of luck for the contest. May you get a healthy upvote on this post ameen 😌

being a mother is a huge responsibility.

Absolutely, but mothers don't think of it as a burden or even a responsibility. They just do it all out of love, selfless love.

Wow! I became a mother of twins just 5 months ago and believe me i see my daily routine in your post. You portrayed the post-pregnancy life soooo nicely. It's so so true. Life takes a 190° change and it's soo hard to adjust to the changes. For me, i was depressed the first 3 months because of the intensity that you talked about. I knew being a mom was hard but i lived it after becoming a mother myself (of two actually) but one thing i got to know for sure is WOMEN SO ARE STRONG AND POWERFUL. I never knew i could do the things i have done til now. May Allah protect every mother on this earth. Ameen Ameen!

 2 years ago (edited)

Ma Shaa Allah Ma Shaa Allah your both kids are adorable. Here we talk about Muhammad he is such a well mannered and disciplined boy.

I always admired him. Another fact my baby is Mahad’s age fellow but he always liked to play with Muhammad. I like his innocence the way he talks, the way he investigate things are so cute.

Once we travelled towards Peshawar and he said baba i want to go to Paris and i liked and laughed too much on his statement. May God protect him from evil eye🧿🧿 Lots of love for both babies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43