Canary Wharf

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

With the rain stopping and the sun shining again I couldn't wait to explore another part of my city, its financial hub, Canary Wharf. Situated in East London right by the River Thames it attracts tourists mostly on weekends and is currently, after Covid, full of people who mean business from Tuesday till Thursday especially.

IMG_6783.jpg

As you can imagine it is pretty much entirely newly built offices and conference rooms behind shiny golden, extra long reception desks. The friendly though often useless staff are hiding behind giant orchids. No idea why exactly this kind of flower. I'm thinking an assortment of cacti would suit them better.

If you wish to get to know a bit about how it all looked in the past, head to the Docklands Museum.

Entrance is complimentary, donations are welcome and there are even free guided tours. There are three floors to kill a few hours on. I recommend starting from the top and working your way down. You'll read about slavery and how Britain welcomed many people from the Caribbean.
Then there are areas preserved from the past, when the docklands were so busy with receiving cargo that needed unloading, sampling, evaluating and so on. This provided many jobs for the local community. Here there is even a replica of a pub from the olden days.

You can take a sit or wait at the bar but currently there are no drinks on offer. Maybe that sounds more like an after hours experience which I see is becoming rather popular lately.

A woman working at the museum told me her favourite bit about the job here. Guess what, it has nothing to do with the museum whatsoever. She peaks through the window too often I guess and has a good laugh when the people who just hired one of the boats with a barbecue or a hot tub get soaked. Mean? If you ask me, yes, a bit. Bored at work? Totally. I hope Secret Santa hires her one of the boats so she gets the real feel.

IMG_6779.jpg

Picking a favourite tea Old Man's Eyebrows.

A mummified huge cat and a mouse right next to it drew my attention. Better for the mouse? I guess as it was so close to ending up in the cat's tummy. They are both dead now but the mouse died free and they are both here for others to see. Maybe some kids will give them names. I am not good at this but I know somebody who is. Recently I got another koala teddy from Australia that is now called Cookie which goes perfectly well with my teddy bear Biscuit. I hope they made friends or if not yet, they will.

IMG_6792.jpg

To take it all in, we popped in The Alchemist for some cocktails with a twist.

The drinks here are literally on fire, smoke is coming out of them or they are entirely edible including the container they are served in. Here at the bar, right in front of you, is where the magic happens. Be prepared to wait as they are not your usual gin and tonic. Cheers to the weekend!

IMG_6785.jpg

The Alchemist Google maps

Last but not least I would like to thank @patjewell for posting such a useful article on how to improve the quality of our posts I love that it's written in plain English and there are examples of dos and don'ts.

Sort:  

Cookie and Biscuit. Seriously? Such names? Class.
I see jars of tea. And where are the cat and mouse?

This man behind the counter is a real alchemist!
I see that you are a connoisseur of good alcohol.
The car steering wheel prevents me from indulging in alcohol. And another job.Maybe it's time to sell the car? And leave work. 😂

 2 years ago 

Didn’t photo the cat and the mouse. Think it’s weird to photo dead stuff, though I admit I have in the past. Do whatever makes you happy though if you decide to sell the car, think twice before you buy another electric vehicle 🚗

And then explain the situation with tea. It's a strange name.
And I liked it - a photo of tea, and a description of a dead mouse and a cat. 😂😂😂

 2 years ago 

Careful what you drink 😜 There were plenty of weird teas displayed alongside silk, sea and tortoise shells which back in the days featured the exotic cargo the Brits were getting from the Far East. This particular sort of tea reminded me of my grandfather who now has quite curly eyebrows and likes to joke that we, the girls, have to pluck them. I don’t think he will ever let us 🙈

ahaha. :)
I am often offered to trim my eyebrows in a barber shop. These people didn't see my father's eyebrows. :)

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @sofian88

 2 years ago 

@sofian88 - Thank you!
I told you it is great post (•ิ‿•ิ)

@petface - You did well! I am glad you could learn from my post.
Keep on sharing!

 2 years ago 

Thank you both for stopping by @sofian88 @patjewell 🙌 You really made my day! I will keep reading and posting so I perfect my blogging and hopefully one day others will learn from my articles too.

 2 years ago 

Just keep on writing and sharing and... playing it forward.
That is what Steemit is all about. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

Very well said @patjewell I will certainly do ✍️ I will keep reading your content too as it does sound like you 💯know what you are talking about. #learningfromthebest 🤝

 2 years ago 

Blessed afternoon friend. ☀️🌺

How beautiful is the financial center of London, I love that it is next to the River Thames because it looks impressive.

Very interesting tour to learn a little about slavery in the past.

Your country is beautiful, with so many places for tourists to visit and have a nice experience.
Excellent your photographs and content, I congratulate you.
Thank you very much for sharing.
God bless you 🙏

Very good photos friend, you explored a part of your city very well, it has very nice buildings like the one on the cover, I was delighted. successes!

 2 years ago 

Cocktails are always welcome. Lovely post.

 2 years ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 2 years ago 

That place is really interesting, full of history. It is worth visiting and learning a little more about your culture. Greetings and thanks for sharing.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Wow so beautiful photographs, I've never seen cocktail bar, reception or anykind of party in real life. You photos are so alive and perfect, may I ask which camera and lense you used for these photos? Have a nice day, thanks for curating my blog 💝💖❤️

 2 years ago 

Pleasure is all mine @shohana1 😊 I took all these photos with an iPhone, 12 to be precise 📲 Though I did use Photoshop to quickly edit the photographs which I also resized before submitting here. I also had my camera on me as I barely leave the house without it. It is a Nikon D5600 with a Nikkor 18-55mm lens but I think it is quite odd taking a DSLR camera out to shoot the bartender 😉

Que hermosas fotografías tomas, mi mejor amiga está actualmente de paseo en Londres pero tú me has podido dar un paseo ahora mismo sin boleto de avión jajaja

Que bueno descubrir tu perfil, se ve que realmente eres una blogger de corazón, estaré muy pendiente.

Felicidades! ☺️✨🙌🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70