Neurological and metabolic alterations associated with sleep quality

in Project HOPE3 years ago

CONTENT

Greetings dear readers of the #Steem platform, in this post I will describe a little conceptualizations associated with the quality of life, understanding quality of life as the biopsychosocial management that alludes to a wide variety of situations valued very positively or considered desirable for people, within these situations sleep as a factor biological rest act is of utmost importance to have quality of life.

Now, in addition to sleep as an act of biological rest, there are also certain factors that obviously influence the quality of life such as age, health, social status, among others of equal importance, but specifically with regard to this publication I wanted to focus on the sleep factor, since it depends on the individual to allocate hours of rest to increase their quality of life.

Source / Author: Congerdesign, 2016

Allocating hours of rest or "sleep" is a fascinating process of biopsychosocial interpretation, however, it is important to mention that scientifically its biological functions have been clarified, however, there is still much to be studied, however, multiple studies on the biology of sleep and on the clinical effects of its disorders make it increasingly clear that sleep is a process of vital importance for the health of the human species.

Although it is known that sleep strengthens the immune system, helps to regulate metabolism and eliminate toxins from the brain, it is also known that not getting a minimum number of hours of rest can have consequences on our health, for example, not sleeping well can lead to the appearance of cardiovascular diseases.

Similarly, not sleeping triggers the onset of diseases such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's, therefore, people who sleep poorly, i.e. those who do not allocate the usual hours of rest (08 hours) are prone to the onset of neurodegenerative diseases.

To close this entry, it should be noted that sleep problems are a growing concern for public health worldwide, because lack of sleep is associated with damage to motivation, emotion and cognitive functioning in people, a fact that day after day creates multiple neurological and metabolic pathologies.

SOURCES CONSULTED

Dorit K Role of sleep quality in the metabolic syndrome. Link

Hirotsu C Interactions between sleep, stress, and metabolism: From physiological to pathological conditions. Link

OBSERVATION:

The cover image was designed by the author: @lupafilotaxia, incorporating the public domain image background: Source / Author: Pixabay, 2016

Sort:  

Greetings @lupafilotaxia as always excellent delivery that you share with us, no doubt the dream as a restorative process of our mind and body is essential and the absence of this insurance will bring visible damage to our system. Thanks for the contribution and we continue reading.

Hi @madridbg

Sounds good this phrase you retinue and express "restorer of our mind and body", no doubt, that's the best part of sleeping, revitalize body and mind.

Best regards, be well.

Nowadays most people see sleep as an accessory, and do not understand the value of this basic necessity that if not applied as it should, the consequences can be irreversible.
excellent contribution

Hello friend @joseph1956

It is true when you do not allocate the hours of pause or rest the consequences can be irreversible, since the predictable thing is that it generates a metabolic imbalance where our body suffers to the point of creating diseases.

Best regards, be well.

Hi @lupafilotaxia
Sleep is indispensable to live well, totally agree, I think that although it is managed that the minimum number of hours needed should be 8, there are cases in which a smaller amount is sufficient.
Particle I sleep 6 hours, and I feel good when I get up. Unless you have an interrupted sleep, that is fatal. But it is indisputable that sleep is an important part of health.

Hello @josevas217

In my case when I sleep 6 or less hours, I feel exhaustion and I can't concentrate, to compensate that imbalance I usually take a few hours of rest in the evenings.

Best regards, be well.

Good topic... I saw a film a few weeks ago where people didn't ask for sleep and little by little they were dying. The hours of rest are essential to keep us in good physical and emotional state.

Hi @lynnmargullys, please give me the name of the movie. Best regards, be well.

Watch the trailer here:

There is no doubt that sleep is an important part of our health, I think that finding ways to have an uninterrupted sleep is very important, I don't usually sleep the recommended 8 hours but it is very rare that I wake up in the middle of the night, so I wake up rested and I feel good in the day. But when my sleep is interrupted several times by external factors even if I sleep 10 hours in total during that day I do not feel in good condition for activities that require concentration and even mood, which affects other areas of our life.

Hi @emiliomoron

Not waking up at night rest hours is very good for health, in my case, any noise wakes me up and that generates exhaustion the next day.

Best regards, be well.

I confess to you, my friend, that although I love to sleep, I sometimes have the feeling that by doing so I lose valuable time that I could use in achieving my daily goals. But I am fully aware that when I don't, my body suffers. In fact, when I get too little sleep for several days in a row, I start to feel a tingling in my arms and legs. That's when I know my body is asking for rest.

Thank you for reminding us of the importance of rest, of energy-replenishing sleep.

PS: I didn't know that the body purifies itself of toxins. I will keep it in mind from now on.

Hi @garybilbao

Not resting enough during cycles, in the end ends up deteriorating our metabolism, therefore, at a certain age this takes its toll on us, that is, it generates bodily and neurological disorders, it is advisable to plan our activities to achieve the objectives without compromising our health.

Best regards, be well.

Enough sleeping hours is no doubt essential, as for individual who gets enough sleep are usually healthy, and more productive. Sadly, some people have to sacrifice their sleeping hours so they can accomplish things at a specific time and that will affect them in the long term.

Nice read, thanks for sharing.

Hello @lennyblogs

That's correct, people who usually allocate hours of uninterrupted rest enjoy good body and neurological health. In relation to what you express "Unfortunately, some people have to sacrifice their sleeping hours to be able to accomplish things at a specific time and that will affect them in the long run", I think it is a matter of planning the working hours that allow us to accomplish our goals, without the need to affect our resting hours.

Best regards, be well.

 3 years ago 

Hi @lupafilotaxia

I just bumped into one of your older posts - one which attracted my attention. Hopefully you still will read this comment :)

sleep as a factor biological rest act is of utmost importance to have quality of life.

So conclusion is: quality sleep at regular hours is crutial in order to improve quality of our lifes. Kind of simple and every knows it, and yet - people do not give much attention to idea of having proper sleep. Strange, isn't it?

Also, I've been always wondering why some people have

Interesting read. Upvoted already :)
Cheers, Piotr

Hello dear friend @crypto.piotr

It is a pleasure to have you visiting my blog, in relation to your appreciation is to refer that paradoxically we human beings give little importance to the biological, remember that we are dominated by the social, therefore, we forget the importance of our condition of organic beings.

Best regards, be well.

 3 years ago 

Hi @lupafilotaxia

I just bumped into one of your older posts - one which attracted my attention. Hopefully you still will read this comment :)

sleep as a factor biological rest act is of utmost importance to have quality of life.

So conclusion is: quality sleep at regular hours is crutial in order to improve quality of our lifes. Kind of simple and every knows it, and yet - people do not give much attention to idea of having proper sleep. Strange, isn't it?

Also, I've been always wondering why some people have

Interesting read. Upvoted already :)
Cheers, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78