Steemit Philippines - Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 3) || “Silver Lining"

Introduction

Hello friends and famz. I trust we are keeping well. Welcome to the 3rd week of this beautiful season. I hope that this week bring us goodness. The topic before us is an interesting one which I personally connect with.


_DSC6128~2-01.jpeg


Silver lining is a figurative phrase which means something good and advantageous coming out of an ugly and unpleasant situation.
I personally have a personal story along this line which I would love to share. I just hope this encouraged as many that comes across this post. Let get into this friends...


My Experience

When I came in contact with this topic, an experience came to mind of how I struggled to get to where I am today academically. It wasn't an easy journey I must say. My challenge started during my secondary school.

Of course as the first born, I was the main focus of my family, they wanted me to further at all cost. My parent were not the very rich type but we were comfortable and they were ready to do all within their capacity to see me further my education by gaining admission into the university.

My WSSCE examination came out deformed. It was as though my hope was dashed again. Yes! You heard me right, I used the word again because I had attempted GCE examination when I was in my penultimate year in school, SS2 to be precise. My parent bought the form for me hoping that I would clear it all even before getting to my final class which is SS3.

Well, I failed that woefully. Trust me, I read and prepared, I did all within my capacity but failed. I could remember I was offered expo at the exam center which we refer to here as examination malpractice but I declined, I really wanted to write the exam unassisted.

My WASSCE was deficient because I didn't have mathematics as a subject, in this part of the world, you need both math and English language for any discipline and there was no way I could combine result if I attempted to because mathematics was lacking in both result. I sat again the following year still couldn't make math. All other subject came out perfectly except math. I needed at least a C (credit) but I just couldn't.

photo-1434030216411-0b793f4b4173 (1).jpeg

unsplash

As at this point I had written about 4 Certification examination with no way forward. I still had problem with mathematics. I had plan giving up on school at this point. I could remember my dad sitting me down one night, telling me he doesn't understand me anymore.

He said to me, if you have any other thing you would like to venture into apart from schooling do let me know. I do not think I can keep spending on this anymore. He had really spent alot. As I was writing those exams,I was also applying for Jamb for the purpose of gaining admission into the university. What I do while registering is to apply using awaiting result and when the result finally comes, it doesn't still met the requirements.

My dad decided to give me one last chance and registered me for WAEC once again. This was my final attempt. I had already told myself that if I fail this, that would be all for schooling, after all, I had successfully finish my secondary education and am better that most of my colleagues out there. Nobody would even know I didn't further until I tell tell them because I speak well.

Although it quite painful and difficult to admit defeat but I had no choice. I had always wanted to be at par with my colleagues, I wanted us to journey through life at the same pace but as it stands, most of them have gone ahead of me. Some were in their 2nd and third year in the university while I was still struggling with Jamb and O'level WAEC.

I sat for the last exam my dad and myself promised me (lol) and it was the last indeed, I made it this time. The problem has been mathematics all along and this time mathematics came and that settled it. I decided to apply to the university but to cut the long story short,I ended up in a polytechnic...lol. I have never for once regretted it as there's always room to further...


Does it affect you mentally or emotionally?

Saying it affected me mentally or emotionally is an understatement, I was totally down. I was practically avoiding my friends and colleagues who had gone ahead of me academically. I avoid places where am likely to see them and when am caught in the web where I have no other option that to meet with them, I avoid discussion that will lead to our academic pursuit as it has a way of discouraging me and bringing down my self esteem.

photo-1523495338267-31cbca7759e2.jpeg

unsplash

It was such an experience for me because I wrote 5 O'level certificate exam withing 3 years before I finally made it. Many wrote just once in their final class and made it. This was the painful aspect for me.


What are the lessons you've learned in that particular situation?

The lessons are indeed numerous, I focused on my failure for so long even after gaining admission but it dawned on me as time went by that it was all a blessing in disguise.
If that delay didn't occur, I wouldn't have met the beautiful souls that made my journey through my undergraduate days beautiful.
Today am a graduate and have just also passed out of the one year NYSC scheme.

I wouldn't have met these who are still instrumental to my growth and progress today. I wouldn't have learnt most of the things I know and do today. The delay brought so many blessing my way that I couldn't have imagined.

Suddenly I learnt to stop comparing myself with others. Our journey are quite different and our path in destiny are not the same. Your colleagues in class today might speed off ahead of you but that doesn't mean you won't get to that point as well.

The truth is you might get there very late but then your achievement will be the latest in town and then you will be celebrating even more for not giving up against all odd. That's how it works.

Do not forget, all thing work together for the good of those that love God even in the midst of their bitter and unpleasant experiences. Darkness may thrive through the night but light will definately shine in the morning.


What is your outlook for the year 2023? What are your plans for your life this year?

I am very positive about the new year, I've got alot line up for the year. The truth is it has never been by my power all these years. So I've decided to commit all my plans into His hands. It is man to propose or plan a thing but God disposes.

photo-1609348955382-71d6d3036160.jpeg

unsplash

This year is going to be fruitful in all areas, I have no doubt and it doesn't matter what comes may way as I begin to take bold step toward achieving my goal, I would remain positive because in every disappointment, there's a blessing.


Conclusion

When we take our time to look deep within even in the midst of those unpleasant situations, you would see that there are blessing embedded in it which you've overlooked. Let's not be carried away with what didn't work, maybe if it had work, you won't be any better but it didn't work and now you're better and stronger. Let's us learn to see the positive side of everything we go through.


Thank you all for going through my post. I want to believe you enjoyed every bit of it. Do well to share with me in the comment section your thought about the write up. Just before I go, I would love to invite my friends @ruthjoe @josepah @harun19 @enamul17 to this contest. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  

Hi my friend. You have written very well on the given topic.

You are right that the silver lining is actually a situation in which something better happens for us instead of the worst. I am happy to know that you were successful at the end.

Mathematics was the main problem that you have faced within the three years. And I am happy that you have successfully cleared it as well.

Thanks for sharing with us and good luck for the contest.

I appreciate your beautiful comment dear brother. Coming to read my post means alot. Thanks for dropping by.

@lhorgic greetings

I am inspired by reading your post at any point of life we had faced silver lining but with courage and patience we have to bear it. Its life beauty we can not sit to wait what fate will do with you.
You had issues in mathematics as it wad not interested for you. You even tried it but couldn't pass it you were disappointed.

It was motivation of your dad who supported you and guidance to you and you successfully faced it.

Best wishes

Thanks dear... I feel elevated each time I come across your comment.. Am grateful friend.

 last year (edited)

Hello my friend @lhorgic 👋 ,

Success to you gorgeous particpation in "Steemit Engagement Challenge S8W3 "Silver Lining"" is an inspiring read for me . Your experience of struggling and to achieve academic success and eventually find out way to a polytechnic college is something that deserve praise . Your attitude and determination are truly osm .

Best of luck
Regards ,
@artist1111

Thank you my dear friend, am glad you took your time to go through my entry. Thanks for your beautiful comment. I look forward to seeing your entry.

 last year (edited)

Date Evaluated: March 14, 2023

CategoryRemarks
#steemexclusive
Club Status✅ (75)
Plagiarism/ChatGPT Generated Content Free
Bot-Free
No. Of words1337 Words
Voting CSI4.4 ( 0.00 % self, 53 upvotes, 42 accounts, last 7d
Support #burnsteem25
RATING8.7

Feedback:

Thank you for creating quality content in the 3rd Week of our Steemit Philippines Engagement Challenge. Please don't forget to do engagement by replying to the comments in your posts and do comments on other posts too.

-Admin/CR-Philippines-

@loloy2020

Thanks for your remark @loloy2020... You might need to check my club status again. Am in #club75... Kindly confirm and make correction. Thank you friend.

 last year 

Corrected.. Thank you for the correction and mentioning me.

This is a very sad experience. These are some of the challenges most people do go through to achieve success. My self included because i am still struggling and hoping for the best for my self and everyone else. Nice entry and good luck to you.

Thanks for your contribution dear brother. Many indeed struggle with this aspect. I wish you the very best in your pursuit. #steem-on

Thank you buddy ☺️

Thank you so much brother for sharing your participation with us and sharing your life experience in the form of beautiful real life stories with us. I read out your article carefully and I can understand your situation that you have less time to complete your work because you don't have mathematics as a subject before so it was quite difficult for you really to compensate the situations.

I want to say after being your article that there is always silver lining when you go through from a worst or bad situation so I also learn from your story that we should never give up in our life we should try again and again untill we get our goals and succeed in life.

Am glad you took out time to go through my piece. I really appreciate you for that. Thanks for your wonderful comment dear friend. #steem-on

Welcome friend
I am also glad after listening about your interesting stories

 last year 

Wow my friend you are the definition of persistence itself. You never gave up after all the failure. And what is more interesting is that you are an engineer surprisingly because it is mathematics that mad you to write up to 3 o/l certificates.

Your story is inspiring dear. I will not give up.

Thanks.

Friend here is the link to my post please give me your impressions.

https://steemit.com/hive-169461/@fonjougiresse/steemit-engagement-challenge-season-8-silver-lining

 last year 

There are a lot of stressful happenings during our student life and I am very happy to know that you handled the situations very well. Even I, I also experience that can kind of situations specially our math subject. For me that is very difficult subject I have,

Your very right my dear friend, am glad you can relate with what I've got here. Mathematics can be a torn in the flesh for many. I hope you also scaled through and learnt your lessons... Thanks for dropping by friend.

 last year 

Yes my friend, the lesson I learned is I should not afraid math and it should be loved. :) Have a nice day my friend.

Nice one. We have somehow similar story. I made my WAEC at one sitting, but kept writing Jamb for 4years, before I got admitted. I was not given the course I wanted, but I made it as the Best graduating student. I will share my story soon. Anyway, we both made it.

Wao! Trust me I can wait to read your entry. Situations like this can be really frustrating but am glad you still became the best against all odds

After reading your life story I realise this that it is very complicated situation and medical confusing also I am not saying that you made it confusing I'm just saying that it is very difficult for standing between two things and there is a behaviour of avoidance and acceptance behaviour in your story. Because you was confusing in your situation I really this situation can cause a lot of mental stress as you have also talk about yourself that this situation cause you to be far away from your friends and colleagues and this is a natural behaviour in humans there is nothing bad in this but we have to control ourself and our behaviours.

Plus point as it is present with every Bad situation so I am glad that after a lot of stress you realizes that there is a plus point behind this logically. So after realising the silver lining finally you got relieve for your stress that you are facing emotionally or mentally.

Your participation is very valid and thanks for participating in this contest and I am glad that you use the proper markdowns.I wish you a lot of success in your participation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51