SEC WK2 : The language in my country - The Netherlands

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

The Netherlands has two languages

which are Dutch and Frisian (Fries).
The Frisians (Friezen) had to fight to make their language official which is crazy if you ask me. They live in one of the northern provinces of the Netherlands Fryslân which is their country. In Germany, there is an Ost-Friesland. The two countries do not border each other. Fryslân (West Frisian) has its television channel which I watched as a teenager.
I have several Frisian friends. They all speak Dutch, although the pronunciation is slightly different, but the average dialect spoken in the Netherlands is more difficult to understand.
In Fryslân, in addition to Frisian, Dutch is also mentioned on road signs. I think the Frisian language sounds nice.


A Frysian song

If you travel to the east

the dialects will have a lot in common with our eastern neighbours, the Germans. Some places have changed from country several timed. At one time they belonged to Germany and at other time to the Netherlands.

Although Dutch is a Germanic language just like German, this does not mean that each Dutchman speaks or understands German. There are plenty of people who find it a hard language to learn.

According to an acquaintance who's originally from Bayern (Germany), the Netherlands and Bayern have quite a bit in common. It can't be the language, licorice perhaps? If you might wonder, Bayern does not border the Netherlands.


If you visit the southern provinces,

the dialects resemble the Flemish of our southern neighbours, the Belgians. Flemish is also Dutch with a French influence. Can Dutch people understand the average Belgian? That depends on which dialect is spoken, if they speak ABN then they will.

Urbanus - a great Flemish comedian

Although Dutch is a Germanic language there's a French influence. Given the Spanish rule, I assume that the was influenced by the Spanish too although Spain wasn't liked.
Many of words are French, and so are certain expressions. These words are simplified and are no longer recognized by today's youth. If you ask me that's a loss, it would make learning languages so much easier.

Over the years, the Dutch language has become increasingly polluted by the use of American English.
These words can have a different meaning in our language, or worse children no longer know the Dutch word, which is bad. What I think is saddest is that even though all these English words are used daily, the English language is rapidly deteriorating among young people. I noticed that more and more words are being used incorrectly because people no longer know their true meaning. Another thorn in my side is the fact the true meaning of a word is changed. In any case, this makes communicating, let alone debating, a lot more difficult. Just like @oneray already wrote in his entry is our language due to these languages infected with vulgarity and because of that politeness and respect are getting rare.

To me, it is important to speak ABN

(General Civilized Dutch) and that is how I raised my children. You are judged for how you speak and write. The level of education (and standard of living) is also recognizable from how you speak.
My children speak 3-4 different languages well (C1) in addition to their mother tongue and, like me, they are interested in other languages, including Chinese, Korean and Japanese.

My mother spoke Dutch

and my father spoke Papiamento and Dutch. As a child, I never learned Papiamento. When my grandparents arrived in the Netherlands from (a Japanese concentration camp) in Indonesia after the Second World War, my grandmother wanted everyone to adapt to their new home country and speak Dutch without any complaints. So the family spoke Dutch and... French.

In 2022, more than 115 thousand foreigners (from Europe, Asia, America, Africa and Oceania) were studying in the Netherlands, which resulted in many additional spoken languages, in addition to the many languages spoken by the (once) guest workers and immigrants of whom the Indonesians, Chinese and Turks are best known and with whom the Dutch never experienced are any problems. In addition, there are also southern Europeans such as Greeks, Italians and Spaniards who we know mainly from their restaurants (they are established and speak Dutch), Hungarians, Poles, Tunisians, Moroccans, you name it. Anyone of those people you meet on the street and who live in the Netherlands will speak at least basic Dutch.

My eldest two children visited a school where over 36 different languages were spoken, which is way more than the Wikipedia site @patjewell refers to wants us to believe. At schools like these, there's no attention for the quiet Dutch child. The learning level at such schools is woefully low. So I took my children out of it.

There are quite a number of "post-order" women in the Netherlands.
They are from Asia but also Eastern Europe. The hope is to marry a rich guy and have a better life, even if that man is not the love of their life and is narcissistic.
Unfortunately, this is quite disappointing for a large number of these women. Those who do not speak Dutch will not be able to hear whether she is speaking to a poor person. Once stranded in a relationship it's hard to get out and these women feel isolated.

I could not find a similar episode of a Dutchman hitting on an Asian woman. While he told the television crew he would marry her she dumped him. Smart woman. The big guy in the video isn't a great catch either.

Should I learn all those languages spoken in the country where I was born and raised? It's pointless. Just like me, many Dutch people speak English which is already quite something plus certain cultures refuse to mingle with Dutch people. This attitude is the opposite of my grandmother's.
If I need a certain language, visit a certain country I do my best to study the basics of that language. It is what most Dutch people do. They travel with a travelguide with basic sentences or use a translater.

Anyone who studies hin the Netherlands should at least be able to speak English and to be honest, I think it is crazy that our schools and universities are being adapted in terms of language. Money clearly plays a role here and so does the fact they want to wipe out our history. he
By the way, the number of Chinese students is increasing and there is a large group that does not even speak English. If you ask me there is no country in the world that adapts the language in education for Dutch people, even though you bump into a Dutchman everywhere in this world.

Proud to be Dutch?

I don't feel that way, but I certainly don't feel European. The only thing Europeans have in common is that they are different and want to keep their nationality and language. Nothing wrong with that. Maybe we can learn to communicate if we all learn Esperanto from primary school to our final year of education.
What I do think is something this small country can be proud of is what those people achieved. It's a miracle how they arose a country out of the sea and travelled worldwide to make a living without being a viking.

I am a child who grew up between two cultures and wasn't accepted anywhere or by anyone. I am certainly not grateful to my parents for that. I have been discriminated against a lot and still am it even shows if I travel through Europe. I would love to go to my own country, like a guy snarled at my daughter 25 years ago, but that country doesn't exist.

Dutch schools

Because the Netherlands is small, and anyone who all the little ones have to prove themselves, we all learn English from primary school onwards. German and French are added from secondary school onwards. I don't know what it is like nowadays with the new education system where those who cannot study can join the practical way, but for me and my children, it was mandatory to graduate in at least one 2 other foreign language (German, English, French, some schools teach Greek and Latin today a single school Spanish).

I have always been a language fanatic and wanted to know what languages have in common, what they sound like or how a word came about. Some languages sound nicer and more interesting to me than Dutch, such as South African, Danish and Russian. And when it comes to Arabic, I think the script is super beautiful and worth analyzing, but when I hear a Rotterdammer speak with the rolling r, I think: home.

Is language important to me?

Not if it comes to the spoken word, people are so loud and even when the same language is spoken, there is all too often confusion. What is said is misinterpreted because the emotional value of a word differs. If this is already the case in the own language (partly due to the many dialects - In Dutch, lazy means lazy, while in a Dutch dialect lazy means tired) then the confusion if it comes to foreign languages is even greater. I also think that the average person talks too much and does not listen, let alone understand body language.

I would like to learn sign language, but I don't get any further than applying it with the dogs. Anyone who sees that thinks it's strange, but the shepherds and even my wolves can be trained with it.
Those who have to make do with gestures certainly "hear" more. It is a pity that sign language is not the same worldwide, but all in all, I think we can come a long way, after all, as children we were able to communicate with every foreign child and understand each television program even if we did not speak the language.

La Linea - I might not understand the meaning of each emoticon but I do understand this

I remember a vote as a teenager asking which world language I would vote for. No, I did not choose English, although it was later announced that English was chosen as the world language. I couldn't find anything on the internet about this vote from about 45 years ago. Perhaps the intention was to give the Dutch people the idea that they had a voice in what had already been decided.

See HERE for this contest hosted by @steem4nigeria

I was invited by
@eveetim and her entry you can READ HERE I told her I couldn't join but after being invited today by @patjewell who wrote an interesting entry I changed my mind. I just didn't expect that writing this took me over 10 hours 🥴

I invite @gertu, @blessedlife, @marcybetancourt, @pecintabunga20, @jaynie and @ukpono to share their languages with an entry.

26-1-2024

#steemexclusive #steem4nigeria-s15w2, #holland #club5050 #kittywu #dutch