The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago (edited)

board-64269_640.jpgsource

Introduction

Language is a means by which people pass a message via-a-vis and communicate with one another. While growing up as a little girl, I'd always wondered why the many languages in the world and how the different languages came to be. I must say I used to marvel until I read the account of the story of the building of the Tower of Babel in the Bible.

This is one of the most interesting topics I'll be writing about in this community. Let's get back to the contest.

welcome-905562_640.pngsource

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

I am a Nigerian, there are about 250 ethnic groups in Nigeria and about 350 dialects are spoken in Nigeria according to my knowledge of Social Studies and as a Social Studies teacher. But majorly three languages (Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba) dominate other languages/dialects in the country.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Apart from the fact that I am Oro by tribe, I speak, write and understand Oro, Ibiobio, Efik proficiently. But I understand a little bit of Yoruba and Igbo languages intermittently.

to-learn-2001847_640.jpgsource

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

Speaking your language and other people's own foster personal relationships with other people. Imagine if you were in a strange land, and you suddenly see someone who speaks the same language as you. I believe you can't quantify the joy.

Not on a personal note, but I've heard people saying they have bought items for a good price because they could use the sellers' native language to communicate with them. I believe understanding one's language fosters good trade relationships as well.

language-758589_640.jpgsource

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

Of course, I love languages. My children, almost 2-4years old, can understand Oro and Efik, and can also understand English as well. I would want my children to learn and speak as many languages as much as possible, both local and foreign ones.

The world, now a global village, is not just about technology but also about language as well. The ability to be able to speak other people's languages makes you able to traverse the world.

Conclusion

Learning languages in our world today is very important. Don't wait until you encounter difficulty due to inability to understand one's language before you develop an interest in learning one.

Learn now. Don't forget learning never stops until you stop.

Special Invitation

@impersonal
@wakeupkitty
@chilaw

Sort:  
 6 months ago (edited)

After reading you I wonder if it is important to learn as many languages as possible... imagine you understand at least 14 languages would that be a blessing or can it be a burden as well?

Just knowing a language does not mean we feel the meaning about the word used and can express ourselves in the right way.

At times I think we all talk too much. We talk to keep the conversation going on but are not interested in listening what is said or better (are able to) what is meant. I already experience that in my own country if I speak dutch.

What would the world look like if we wouldn't speak foreign languages? I remember those days children were always able to communicate, to play, have fun no matter the country or people they met. They understood each foreign cartoon or television show (so did I). Perhaps we should focus more on body language instead of being glued to the screen.

I also wonder if it's still a must to teach/learn languages if google or other apps translate every word said even though it's far from perfect.

Thank you for the invitation dear. It's appreciated. I'll see if I can make it to write something about this topic.

Just like you I want my children to learn, or at least understand, foreign languages and not just the one of the country they were born. 😉

🍀❤️

P.s. I'm sorry but I can not join this contest because I don't use X.

 6 months ago 

I really appreciate your comment. I don't speak all the languages but I only speak three dialects which are almost similar to another but could just merely understand the others intermittently.

Thank you, for visiting my blog.

I wish I could speak any foreign language though.

 6 months ago 

Which foreign language are you interested in?
Perhaps you can try the app DuoLingo? The only problem is you need internet and my phone has a hard time loading it.

There are other language apps as well like Lingo Deer, and Language Transfer (lessons can be downloaded and you can use them offline).

 6 months ago 

Very good to know that your kids can speak some languages now. Its good they learn more languages so as to give them more advantage.

 6 months ago 

I wish I knew another language to teach them. Thank you, for stopping by.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 6 months ago 

Thank you for writing so lucid that proves that you have good command over foreign language. You also know different languages of your country. In our country also will be same no of languages and dialects like yours. But I know only two languages. Bangladesh was earlier was in India and our mother tongue is same as Bangladesh and that is Bengali. Wish good luck for the competition.

 6 months ago 

Wow, so good to know about your mother tongue. Thank you, for always visiting and the good wishes.

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 6 months ago 

Beautifully written, I envy the fact you can speak so many languages. I that I'm anaang can't speak it tho I can hear it very well.
I'm glad you've passed this to your children. I wish you the best in the engagement challenge.

 6 months ago 

Thank you, for the nice comment. It's good you can understand Annang, with that, you can learn how to speak little by little.

I appreciate that you stopped by to read post.

 6 months ago 

This is beautiful of you my friend, I hope it won't be stressful for you to teach me your dialect because I am really open to learn.

 6 months ago 

You're welcome my friend. As
s long as the willingness to learn is there then, it won't be stressful.

 6 months ago 

Resulta interesante que usted conozca varias lenguas de su nación, lo cual le hace importante para la comunicación con los ciudadanos en cualquier parte. Hay que incentivar a las nuevas generaciones a aprender estas distintas lenguas.

Éxitos en el concurso.

 6 months ago 

Apart from the fact that I am Oro by tribe, I speak, write and understand Oro, Ibiobio, Efik proficiently

From your story I so love ❣️ it. In life for proper and easy connections especially with foreigners it advisable to know more than our own tongue along as means of communication, knowing too the foreign language help convince them and so strengthen business growth.

Of course, I love languages. My children, almost 2-4years old, can understand Oro and Efik, and can also understand English as well

At this point ☝️ it's the best and really show how much you love amd appreciate all values you got.
This will help the kids in relating and growing with others easily.

Kudos 👏

 6 months ago 

Thank you, for stopping by, your comment is not only lovely but encouraging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63