You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SEC WK2 : The language in my country - The Netherlands

in Steem4Nigeria7 months ago

You are judged for how you speak and write. The level of education (and standard of living) is also recognizable from how you speak.

This is sad but oh so true. It is the same here, different accents which are noticeable in different parts of the country and people are absolutely judged by it.

My children speak 3-4 different languages well (C1) in addition to their mother tongue and, like me, they are interested in other languages, including Chinese, Korean and Japanese.

That is really awesome!!! I sadly only speak English and then a bit of Afrikaans which as you no doubt know has it's similarities to Dutch and German. My son is starting to learn Spanish now and also says he wants to learn German.

Though I have not dont it myself yet, I do think it is really wonderful to expand your knowledge of languages!

I am a child who grew up between two cultures and wasn't accepted anywhere or by anyone. I am certainly not grateful to my parents for that. I have been discriminated against a lot and still am it even shows if I travel through Europe.

That must have been really hard. Not intentional from your parents side no doubt... but still, I get what you mean. It did not make your life any easier.

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

You could see if you can read Dutch and try 'Language Transfer'. It's interesting to see what languages have in common.

Dutch and German not too much 🤐 we share some words, expressions but so we do with French and English and Arab (without being aware of it).

I wish your son good luck.

My parent's attitude, fighting enveryone and each other didn't make the situation any better plus my mother never wanted children, neither did her mother. It wasn't the best time either to grew up. I believe no one had ever seen a child that looked like me, their best guess was a gypsy and gypsies steal. 🥴

'Language Transfer'. It's interesting to see what languages have in common.

Yes, that would probably be a fun exercise indeed, lol!

I wish your son good luck.

Thank you!!! xxxx

My parent's attitude, fighting enveryone and each other didn't make the situation any better plus my mother never wanted children, neither did her mother. It wasn't the best time either to grew up.

Oi! That sounds like a really tough period of your life @wakeupkitty :( But - I will say this... from what I have gotten to know of you so far, it would seem to me that it has made you into a very charismatic, knowledgeable, empathetic and compassionate individual.

I believe no one had ever seen a child that looked like me, their best guess was a gypsy and gypsies steal. 🥴

My mom had gypsy blood in her ancestry :)

 7 months ago 

It sounds as if it's a small world after all.
Thanks for your kind and encouraging words.
🍀❤️

Always a pleasure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44