SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago



Close your eyes for a moment and imagine how the world would have been if there were no languages.

Language, for me, is a tool that enables us to think, communicate, visualize, plan, feel, dream, to build relationships… language is never-ending.

If you have to explain to children what a language is, the easiest would be to tell them that it is how we talk to each other.

The word language is actually far more than that. It can be spoken, it can be written, it can be how you express yourself, and it can be signed.



I am a child of Africa, where +/- 3,000 of the 7,000+ languages of the world are spoken.

My beloved country, South Africa, is known as the “rainbow nation” all because of our diversity. Yet, when it comes to languages, I had to discover that we are not as diverse as the world might think. South Africa ranks at number 58 with 30 listed languages when it comes to the countries of the world.

The country that tops the list is Papua New Guinea, with 840 languages. What I found interesting is that three of the countries that are well represented on Steemit fall under the top 5.

Indonesia: 707
Nigeria: 517
India: 447

Do you want to know where your country is ranked?

Now that I think about it, we can all say +2, as there are two languages that most of us can speak, and that is the language of a father or mother and the language of emojis.
🍽 your ♨!

There might be 42 spoken and 30 listed languages in South Africa, but not even half of them are official languages. Until recently, South Africa had 11 official languages, but after a long battle from the University of Cape Town, it was changed, and we now have 12 official languages. The latest addition was the South African Sign Language, which I welcomed.

Of the 12 official languages, I can only speak two: Afrikaans and English.

Of all the languages spoken in South Africa, I can speak a little bit of German, as I had it as a school subject and also a little bit of Portuguese as I had a Portuguese restaurant and partner for many years.

As for sign language, I know some of the signs, but it is a language that I would like to learn more about, and for the language of a mother and emojis, I have perfected it.

Afrikaans is my home language. A language that I am super proud of. I think it is one of the nicest languages to speak, as it “rolls” on the tongue. If you can speak English, it is also a language that is easy to learn. Afrikaans is a young language with an incredible vocabulary with words like lekker (nice), knormoer (starter), kattekwaad (mischief), trapsuutjies (chameleon), and more.

"There's about 44 people still speaking it, it’s definitely a dying language, it's not a very helpful language." This is what well-known South African actress, Charlize Theron, had to say about Afrikaans.
Wrong! It is the home language of +/- 8.4 million South Africans.

Afrikaans was in the news the last couple of months with the saying “Suid Afrika, hulle weet nie wat ons weet nie” (They don’t know what we know) that was started by Dricus du Plessis, a mixed martial artist when he won a fight last year.
This phrase was then adopted at the Rugby World Cup in 2023 by the South African national team, the Springboks.

On Sunday, it was replaced with “Suid Afrika, nou weet hulle wat ons weet!” (Now they know what we know) when he became the first South African to win the UFC middleweight world champion title.

It gave me goosebumps when I heard my home language spoken on television, knowing that billions around the world were watching.



It was not my Afrikaans that helped me in my business success, but my English. Not only is it the most spoken language in South Africa, but it is also the “official business language." Most meetings are conducted in English.

It was the language spoken in the Small Business Forum, of which I was a member, and also in the governing bodies of the schools in which I served.



Although I am Afrikaans-speaking, I made sure that my children received an English education. If you want to further your education and later your career, not only in South Africa but also internationally, you must be fluent in English.

My son is working in Ireland as a medical doctor. To enable him to get a post there, he had to write an English test, IELTS (International English Language Testing System) and he had to score an overall band of 7.0, which was not easy. With his English education and background, he wrote the test twice.

As for my daughter, she was tiny when she decided that she wanted to speak French. She took extra classes, and when she worked in England, a highlight for her was going over to France, where she gained the respect of the locals when she could address them in their own language even when it was still a bit broken.

Today, it is no longer required of me to teach my children a language, but is it now my responsibility towards my grandchildren to make sure that my children play it forward and give their children the best education in English.



To sum up my post,

  • The name of my country is South Africa, and you will find 42 spoken, 30 listed, and 12 official languages.
  • I am fluent in two of these languages, Afrikaans and English.
  • As English is the most spoken language, it has helped me to improve my life and what I have achieved in life tremendously.
  • Oh yes! I was more than willing for my children to learn more languages, as it not only opened so many doors for them but also helped them regain respect.

I leave you with the words of South Africa's beloved Madiba, Nelson Mandela.



Note:
Images designed with Canva


image.png

I invite:
@uzma4882 @wakeupkitty @senehasa

Thank you to those who invite me to enter:
@max-pro @shabbir86 @sabbirrr @shikhurana @alfredvictor @fajrulakmal99 @vickyson @cive40 @josepha @sushanta83 @mesola @kidi40 @saintkelvin17

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,825.000 STEEM
Normal transfer: 49 STEEM (Competition and charity)

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
Loading...
 6 months ago 

I've come to learn a lot from you ma'am.

Among the multilingual countries listed, my country Nigeria happened to be among.

I've also understand communication as passing information and reciprocating by means of written text, speaking of sign which all describes as language.

It's any medium use to pass valuable and informative insight.

South Africa is unique in it's own language and culture, the presentation and citations have given me a huge depth and thought about this topic.

Thanks 🙏 ma'am and good luck

Thank you! Not only for the visit but the kind words.
People that don't know Africa my friend, don't know what is truly amazing.
We live on such a diverse and colorful continent that I often think we miss the beauty like the languages we speak.

Such an interesting post! And I completely agree with you on this...

Language, for me, is a tool that enables us to think, communicate, visualize, plan, feel, dream, to build relationships… language is never-ending.

That's one of things I enjoy when in South Africa, listening to the different languages and dialects, such as "Xhosa" I believe. I think language is like a whole world on its own and very fascinating to listen to. My partner is English speaking and speaks Afrikaans fluently, from this I have picked up a lot of Afrikaans words/phrases, though I can't quite put together a full sentence which is lazy on my part really, and I should learn more, I'd like to, plus it's great exercise for the brain. I struggle with rolling my tongue though which makes saying certain words difficult, though is humourous 😅
Have a lekker day ☀️

Well, as long as you can say "lekker" and "braai" in South Africa, you will fit in well with everyone, no matter the color, the language, the background, or the nationality.
These are the two words that everyone knows. Okay, and of course the most famous word in Afrikaans... apartheid. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Dankie, a lekker day for you also. 🎕

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Thank you!☕

Thank you for supporting @wox-helpfund

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Thanks!

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @inspiracion at 45%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

@inspiracion
Thank you friend! 🎕

 6 months ago 

I close my eyes and take a deep breath after reading your post. Because your post is a sweet post. You write posts very skillfully that grabs anyone's attention. So your writing is very surprising,

I am a child of Africa, where +/- 3,000 of the 7,000+ languages ​​of the world are spoken.

It is very surprising. Our mosque master lived in Africa for 12 years, he sometimes speaks to me in Afrikaans but I don't understand just listen. So thanks for the invite, good luck for the competition.

Our mosque master lived in Africa for 12 years, he sometimes speaks to me in Afrikaans but I don't understand just listen

Awh okay. Often I learn more from looking at the people that speak the words than from understanding them. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Afrikaans is a beautiful language.

Thank you! I appreciate the visit and the kinds words! ☕

 6 months ago 

welcome 🥰🥰

 6 months ago (edited)

I checked that link but I have strong doubts about that Wikipedia page...it's for sure not about the original languages spoken in a country.

It's impossible to speak to everyone in his own language just to touch the heart. If so all immigrant would speak the countries language. I agree with Charlize Theron by the way.

To be honest I have no idea what you mean to say with that emoji message.

Is Afrikaans een nieuwe taal? Het ligt er aan wat je nieuw noemt. Het is onze "oudere" versie van het Nederlands. Het klinkt alleen heel wat leuker, liever in mijn oren.

Bedankt voor de uitnodiging.
🍀❤️

Hello friend!

I was waiting for your reply, hence my invitation to you. (•ิ‿•ิ)

The statistics from Ethnologue (Languages of the World), published on Wikipedia, is indeed not about the original language spoken in a country. It is more the listed languages.

True, you cannot speak all the languages; however, I have seen how a simple word like "hello" warms hearts when you greet a person in their language. I just feel that from our side we don't make the effort to learn another language.

There's about 44 people still speaking it, it’s definitely a dying language, it's not a very helpful language."

My family alone is more than 44. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Jokes to an end. As for Afrikaans being a dying language. This can be said from thousands of languages across the globe as English and Mandarin are taking over.
One thing I do know is that the Afrikaans community is fighting hard for this not to happen.

🍽 your ♨! What our parents would say… “Eat your food!”

Alhoewel Afrikaans in 1925 as ‘n taal erken is bly dit ‘n dialek van Hollands. Dit is egter my taal.

Dankie vir die besoek!

 6 months ago (edited)

I am busy to respond to your invitation since 9 hours LOL .

Afrikaans is a language just like Fleming although we all speak Dutch. Dialects are different perhaps because these people live in the same country?

Ik denk dat zij willen dat onze taal uitsterft maar dat gaat nooit gebeuren.

Eat your food? My guess would be something like "plate" your "hot" 😥

Mandarin is difficult there's an easier Chinese. I heard they teach it at a few schools to children who feel bored.

Your welcome and good luck.

I just LOVE your witty comments. (•ิ‿•ิ)
They make my day.

Lekker daggie!

 6 months ago 

Fijn om te horen dan schrijf ik lekker door.

Een goed weekeinde!

 6 months ago 

This is very impressive of your country to have 7,000+ languages. I think I would say South Africa is a speak-in-languages country based on the number of languages in the country.

I will love to pay a visit to South Africa to see places like Cape Town, Bloemfontein, and other beautiful places in the country. Indeed, there are more benefits to a person who knows how to speak various languages. Thanks for inviting me, and good luck to you.

No.. no.. no.. It's 7,000 across the globe. (•ิ‿•ิ)
According to "Google" we can only account for +/- 30 languages.

South Africa is awesome but this I have told plenty of times before. Pack your bags and come! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thanks for the visit and the engagement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63