The Fight Against Plagiarism on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

If plagiarism is permitted in this forum and on this platform, please accept my apologies in advance and let me know in the comments. If not, please continue reading...

Having only been a member for less than a week and always writing my own content, I'm surprised and disappointed to see posts that are 100% copies of material from other authors. No added value, no commentary and never crediting the original source. I hope that @worldoffootball, @njaywan, @dfacademy, @steemcurator01, @steemcurator02, @steemitblog and many others here will voice their support with this. It would be rude of me not to take this opportunity to thank those above for making me feel welcome and supporting my contribution.

I've deliberated long and hard about whether to write this as I'm aware that I'm risking a relatively new account - its Reputation and Steem Power - in my desire to make this a forum and platform that I want to continue contributing to, so I request that you help and support me in this.

My mission is to create a community to fight plagiarism, protect copyright and support genuine authors on Steemit. I'm going to need more help in this mission than I probably realise 🙏

Authors take a lot of time to write content. My match previews this morning took over 2 hours to write and many authors make little to no money from their content. I'm here to support authors like myself who are willing to invest their precious time sharing their insight and opinion on here as opposed to elsewhere.

I do not believe plagiarism should be tolerated on this platform and in this forum and I cannot, and will not support it. I will call out those articles and their authors as regularly as I can via a thread like this one in the hope that World Of Football can be a community built on original content and add true author value, NOT profiting those simply copying and pasting other people's hard work and effort in order to make a quick and easy buck. (If I wanted to read an article from Goal.com, I would visit their website.) If you need some help understanding Plagiarism, @guruchudy wrote this a few hours ago.

I do not have the time (or energy) to review all posts so this list just shows a few examples - please add any other content that you're aware of in the comments below.

Note: It turns out I don't even have enough Steem Power to post this straight away because I used it all replying to and flagging plagiarised posts - so apologies if I am slow to reply.

Here's my list to start:

ContributorSteemit ArticleOriginal Article
@moneymakeonlineA slow and steady decline: Juventus aren't Juventus since Cristiano Ronaldo arrivedA Serie: A slow and steady decline: Juventus aren't Juventus since Cristiano Ronaldo arrived
@sabbir004Ronaldo scored 50 goals every year and you had to adapt’ – Benzema on Real Madrid life with and without star‘Ronaldo scored 50 goals every year and you had to adapt’ – Benzema on Real Madrid life with and without star
@sabbir0043 Manchester United players who need to step up in Pogba’s absence3 Manchester United players who need to step up in Pogba’s absence

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

@njaywan, @steemcurator01, @kiwi-crypto - Thank you.

I've found numerous other posts since my original article and have written a post titled "World of Football Plagiarism League Table" which I'll post once my power has recovered.

I completely understand not being able to monitor everything - demonstrating my comparison to my Stuart Pearce mini-competition entry - I'm a dog with a bone.

@esteban85 - Please take note of this article as you are currently the clear leader in my league table.

Looking forward to seeing this League Table...

@steemcurator02 - 😅 I did create 2 nights ago (not enough power to share it at the time) but with moneymakeonline already banned, it was a fairly 1 sided competition so I changed my approach - Kick Plagiarism Out of World Of Football

Well done

I agree this is an issue and needs to be stopped, however circle jerks and self voting are a way bigger issue.

If you need help flagging accounts that are literally stealing let me know

I will start with these 2 accounts

image.png

@kiwi-crypto - I better understand your issue with self-voting now. Rank 4 for Steem Power (nutxxxxxxboxxxxxxminexxxxx) self-votes every post and since they've been delegated almost 4,000,000 steem is literally stealing hundreds of dollars ever time they post. That's not right.

 3 years ago (edited)

Hi @the-gorilla, thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. Indeed plagiarism is not accepted on steemit nor in this community as it is a very ill and mischievous way of trying to profit off of someone's work.

These users have been warned on several occasions for plagiarizing contents.


07.03.2021_23.24.18_REC.png


Indeed our leniency on these authors is entirely unacceptable and for that I am actually ashamed for this occurrence.

Users found guilty of this have now been banned entirely from our community and any post from their end will automatically be muted in our community.

On behalf of the entire team of the world of football community, I say a big thank you to you for speaking out against plagiarism and for impacting change within our community.

You are indeed a true asset to our community and we are happy to have you.

Many thanks.

Thank you for finding these.

We are very keen to stamp out plagiarism on Steem.

We do not have the capacity to check all posts so we rely heavily on Admins, Mods and members of the community to bring issues like this to our attention.

Thank you

The Steemit Team

que tal querido sr steemcurator01 soy @sharifanamin cuénteme que hacer para que mis publicaciones le agraden y me visite, por lo menos una vez cada 15 días. voto, comento, publico pero parece que soy invisible. oh my good..... Un comentario con respeto.

I have carefully read your publication. Thank you for your alert

I have carefully
Read your publication. Thank
You for your alert

                 - venezolanos


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you for your warning. I check with duplichecker but I don't check everything. I only read 5-10 posts a day in this community for comments.

Unfortunately it's something all paid to post platforms have to deal. They used to have a couple of anti plagiarism bots here but it seems they are gone.

New users should be advised that plagiarism is a crime anywhere in the world!

Dealing with plagiarism for administrators and moderators is not easy.

We review many posts a day.

I manage the Venezolanos Steem community and I have to speed read about 100 posts a day. That doesn't pay off for me. My earnings are in my own posts.

Thanks for the alert!

This one's been a member and profiting from plagiarism since December 2020.

I flag these posts so that moderators are aware, I don't expect you to have the time to read everything with other commitments that life brings. If you did, then I wouldn't need to highlight users such as this.

It was highlighted before that I profited from highlighting plagiarism (deemed immoral) so I've highlighted it in a way that I do not profit.

I've seen the change

Did you know that this flag is to indicate plagiarism?
There used to be official steemit accounts that did this job.

Flag1.png

No, I didn't know that.

We are human beings. Every day we can learn. Sometimes we need someone to help us and give us a second chance if we made a mistake.

Hi @the-gorilla. That's how I act in life. I never judge anyone on first impressions. Cheers! :)

I agree. Thank you for the insight into how you live your life.

Plagiarism Notice

@njaywan, @worldoffootball, @leveuf, @theatrorve, @adeljose, @marcybetancourt, @steemcleaners, @steemcurator01, @steemcurator02, @putra.kelana

Having caught my attention for the previously mentioned post, most of their posts are plagiarised.

https://steemit.com/hive-120412/@victor010/remedy-place-social-wellness-club-west-hollywood-los-angeles

image.png

https://thecoolhunter.net/remedy-place-social-wellness-club-west-hollywood-los-angeles/

image.png

This will do for my list of examples - safe to say, this user's a serial plagiarist

I think it is important to alert users that they should not plagiarize. That would be my first choice.

If the user re-insists out of ignorance or abuse then you have to act.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80