Shout out & Share Steemit with the WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

A whole new world filled with Steemians!
globe-4075006_960_720.jpg

Source
I was inspired to write this after reading @jaynie's post on COMPOUNDING #PROMO-STEEM IMPACT - A support initiative driven by the #powerhousecreatives and hopefully inspire others to indeed start telling the world out there about the wonders of Steemit.
Heart page break.png

Discarded by the Corporate World did not sit well with me – I simply was not ready to just sit down and let the world pass me by!

I started our little bnb Lily’s Cottage about six months prior to retiring, and that was a lifesaver as it kept me really busy; marketing, décor, gardening, guest relations, and more, with admin being my least favourite part of this new role!

However, I missed seeing my work buddies on a daily basis as well as the camaraderie in the office.

ALONG CAME STEEMIT
Then in July 2017 my son introduced me to something that really changed my life and opened my eyes to a whole new world – Steemit.

I enjoyed meeting old friends on Facebook, but something was missing.
The idea of:

  • Writing my own posts about subjects close to my heart,
  • Interacting with people from all over the world
  • Possibly helping others by sharing stuff I’ve learned over the years
    AND
  • Earn this new cryptocurrency called Steem,
    All really appealed to this old gal!

So I enthusiastically wrote my intro post which earned me a whopping 0,28!
BUT I had 27 replies; some bots but many real people! Looking back I see an encouraging response from @appreciator!

FRIENDS
I’ve met many wonderful people here from all walks of life and all corners of the world and have been enriched by having them enter my life from afar.

A good friend I met here is the wonderfully kind and talented author @ericvancewalton who has encouraged me greatly and often puts out awesome challenges like his current Pay it Forward for the Holidays, I dare you to take a peek at that one;)
I was overjoyed when I received a gift of his book on meditation, The Perfect Pause last year in the mail, all the way from Minnesota to South Africa!

CONTESTS and more FRIENDS
I have grown and learned a heck of a lot here and will always fondly remember @jaybird’s Steemit Sandwich Contest as that was one of the first foodie contests I entered; we made crazy sandwiches for 100 weeks, I met awesome people and the support I got there was tremendous!
IMG_20180414_152104.jpg

One of my current favourites is the queen of vegan cooking @lenasveganliving's Fruits and Veggies Monday contest where I also met the lovely @plantstoplanks and although I'm not vegan, I've learned a ton of new stuff and am starting to change my thinking about my eating habits!
20190923_140841.jpg

Food Fight Friday is a contest I recently joined; they have gathered some wonderful people there under the helm of the kindest chefs around Steemit town, @idig, @jlsplatts and @dandays plus the generous benefactor @appreciator!
Got my first #fff belt here:)

The kitchen is my fun place as I love cooking and baking, so I now blog mostly about Food, although mine is not always as healthy as a foodie friend I met here on Steemit, the lovely @birdsinparadise, who hails all the way from Naples, Florida and shows us how to make healthy treats!

I have many other interests which I share in my blogs - health, travel, nature, bnb hosting or anything else that interests me.
Through those interests and challenges I've met many other kindred spirits; the wonderfully talented photographer @tattoodjay who runs #wednesdaywalk; @papilloncharity who hails from my own country and does amazing charity work among the poorest of the poor; @joanstewart who always pays a visit and has a chat, also writes wonderful travel blogs on many of my favourite and wannabe there local places.
Where would these contests be without the generous sponsors, and there are many of them around the Steemit world!

GROUPS
It is so important to become part of a group here on Steemit as one could get quite lost without having a support system, just like in our everyday life!

The first group I joined was Qurator who support members wonderfully. The Daily Qurator is written by the diligent curator @goldendawne, quietly encouraging members by featuring worthy posts.

Qurator lizelle.png

Then along came TheSteemengine, started by @ethandsmith with @enchantedspirit taking over the curating duties and publishing The Whistle Stop; but the engine sadly came to a halt at The Whistle Stop a couple of months ago.
I met many wonderful people there and learned a whole lot from them - some who I still see regularly.
I was quite touched when @slobberchops started another account purely to help little minnows like myself and many others grow!
SteemEngine.gif

I recently joined a fellow South African @jaynie's PowerHouseCreatives and have been amazed at the support and hard work from everyone in this group!
@jaynie also started Steem South Africa so we're now meeting all our country's Steemians through that group.
Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

I've started writing food blogs for @ADSactly which is a whole new exciting chapter for me; the latest is a series on Gifts from the Kitchen - Boozy Fruity Flavourburst
20191209_152738.jpg

ANGELS called CURATORS
Curators like @ocd, @blocktrades, @c-squared, @curie, @ADSactly and of late @curangel to name but a few, really are angels here on the platform; and when I started having the odd post curated by them, it felt like I’d won the Lottery. Getting a nice upvote from individual manual curators is another thrill; @acidyo, @theycallmedan, @appreciator, to name but a few of the big ones!
However, every vote and thoughtful comment from the biggest whale to the smallest plankton is much appreciated and will forever remain etched in my heart!

SPREAD THE WORD
I would love others to be a part of this whole new world, so regularly share my posts on:

ANY OTHER IDEAS?
How can we let more people know about this wonderful new world called Steemit?
Please let me know how you are promoting Steemit to the outside world or if you have any new ideas on how to promote it; share it on @jaynie's post COMPOUNDING #PROMO-STEEM IMPACT - A support initiative driven by the #powerhousecreatives.
We will ALL benefit from attracting people who can bring quality content to the platform.

We after all are the ones who make up this wonderful new world!

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Oh wow my Dear Lizelle! You covered a lot of stuff in this posts and I must agree, Steemit is an amazing place. It is honor to meet you and being your friend, but I am laughing at the title you gave me, although I do appreciate it.

Besides, those Boozy Fruity Flavourburst are such a lovely creation. I had no idea you were working on something like that. I have to check the post now 🍊😍🍋

Ah thank you @lenasveganliving, you really are becoming a legend around here with your amazing food and photography!

Posted using Partiko Android

Legend? Are you serious? You are too kind my Dear Lizelle 😍

You have been 🙏 curated by @njord

@lizelle, you’re like the Steemit grandma that everyone loves, thank you for always having such a huge heart. I remember when we met...

I learned you’re in SA, where my good friend @edprivat resided before recently relocating to France. I was shocked at the amount of tension there his wife experiences or even he would experience while riding public transportation. I remember when I asked you about it—ooh wee! That did not go over well is putting it mildly—did I get a heavy dose of Lizelle, or what?! I was like “hey, hey, I’m just repeating what I heard, please stop biting my head off.” 😉 But when I linked you to his page, you were so apologetic and kind and even responded to Ed. Ever since then I think you’ve accepted my ‘rough around the edges, caring hearted soul’ <—just leave it at that (it doesn’t sound bad when i put it like that)! persona and I haven’t been able to get enough of you since.

I always find myself writing novel sized responses to you actually, similar to this one because... Nah, I’m not a big fan of yours at all, can you tell? 👍🏿 Thank you for always being kind to me, @lizelle—your husbands a luck man. I can only hope we have the opportunity to book at stay at Lily’s cottage one of these days. Have a great week—thanks for mentioning food fight.

Oh my word, I'll never forget meeting you @dandays, I'm proudly South African as you know by now;) But not so proud when I hear some of the things that goes on, like your friend @edprivat was experiencing!
Zenophobia and racism is horrific and barbaric I believe, will it ever stop? We see it in the news and think it's only happening to a handful, but then look a little deeper and start seeing it in places least expected, so I thank you for opening my eyes from afar.
I like to believe in the good of all, but sadly some people are brought up with that kind of mindset and believe they are right!
Thank you for the kind words @dandays, I just love your humour and your straight as an arrow way of telling it like it is:) Your Pura is a lucky woman!
How lovely it would be to meet you in person one day!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you so very much @theluvbug!

Congratulations @lizelle! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you so very much, you're awesome:)

It's clear you've found steemit to be a great discovery in your life, and I'm glad you're now part of the PHC community. This post is great for promoting steemit and your support for this place is awesome!

Thank you @free-reign, and I really appreciate your support! I'm so very glad to be part of the PHC community, you guys are awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great you have and had so many respons. You are one of the few ones.

Share your Steemit post on Twitter and read all about #posh and #oc here
My Twitter link](https://twitter.com/LizelleBright/status/1206331131605454848?s=19)

 5 years ago 

Another amazing post, your passion in cooking shows, along with every other post you have shared Lizelle.

Thanks for the mention, along with so many really amazing people here, feeling comfortable in groups, meeting new people, fresh ideas is what keeps us here!

!tip

Ah thank you Joan, it's been quite crazy here so I've not had much time to respond in between guests, baking and posting, always great seeing you here:)

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure Lizelle! And byt he way, are you familiar with Steem Torch? I have received it from Barbara yesterday and I was wondering if I could pass it on to you. You can read about it here:
https://steemit.com/steemtorch/@barbara-orenya/bluewonkies-proudly-carries-the-steemtorch-246th

I'm not familiar with that at all, thank you @lenasveganliving, will check it out:)

Thank you Lizelle 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36