Car-Free Quinten - Imprinted by LightCaptured

in Dream Steemlast month

A few days ago I've got this news in my news feed saying the Swiss authorities are trying to attract more people to Quinten and I told to myself, wait, I've been there, I loved this place, that's a wonderful idea.

Then, I got buries into other daily tasks and routines and forgot to bookmark it.

Today, I couldn't find online that article, I suspect it may have been put down as sometimes, "offers" like this backfires! :)

Thinking more of it, I realize moving there would only remain a dream, but why not, let's dream about it, again.

DDH_1154.jpg

Now, what does make Quinten so special to me?

I loved many things about it. I didn't know much in advance, prior visiting it, as I was brought there by a bunch of friends who invited me for a mountain hike in the Alps, with amazing views towards lake Walensee.

Quinten is totally car-free. That, however, isn't because its council decided car would not be allowed but that's defined by the simple fact there are no car roads. One cannot travel to the town (or is this a village?) by a car. One can go there just by a boat or by hiking.

Well, I love the freedom that cars give to travel and cover longer distances but I hate the noise and pollution they create.

So, this was the first thing that grabbed my heart about Quinten...


Then, dream about how pleasant it would be to have your house by such a beautiful lake and have your own private dock to moor your boat in front of the house...

DDH_1155.jpg

DDH_1156.jpg

... enjoy short, or long, hikes with views like those...

DDH_1147.jpg

DDH_1153.jpg

... and kayak when the weather and time allow for that ...


Another thing I fell in love with Quinten was its vineyards.

DDH_1157.jpg

DDH_1159.jpg

DDH_1174.jpg

DDH_1192.jpg

DDH_1193.jpg

DDH_1194.jpg

Planted and maintained the Swiss way, I mean perfectly.

Real feast for my eyes!

And you know what? Usually when I or we, travel by a car, I am the driver. And since there are no cars in Quinten I am perfectly allowed to have a glass of a delicious local white wine.

It tasted... divine. Especially after hiking the steep slopes of the Swiss Alps!


I bet this place hides some dark secrets...

DDH_1186.jpg

Because, otherwise, you know, why there will be a program to attract more people here? The village is not big at all, I even didn't counted fifty houses. I am sure many will be seduced by the charm of this mountain-lake establishment...

And moreover, where has this article gone?

Well, remember me mentioning "backfire"?

There was a similar program for another Alpine Swiss village: https://www.swissinfo.ch/eng/identities/swiss-village-relocation-plan-creaks-under-avalanche-of-foreign-demand/48440714

It has its ups and downs and probably it succeeded. Probably that's the reason that article I saw got hidden... In Quinten, however, life wouldn't be that easy, except for those who love working at a winery ;) The winters may be in a "survival mode", when I imagine what a simple "food store shopping" would mean in a freezing winter day...

Today, however, that cannot stop me dreaming.

What if?

Indeed, what if?


mydivider.png

Copyright: LightCaptured
All the photographs, digital art and text in my posts, unless specified otherwise, are my own property and created by me.
If you wish to use any of my works, please drop me a line!

Have a great day!

Please note that this post is AI-free and created exclusively for the STEEM blockchain.

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Alamy: https://www.alamy.com/portfolio/112427.html

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Adobe Stock: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured

mydivider.png

Follow me on Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@lightcaptured (Decentralized social network for my insta-type selected photographs and short posts)

mydivider.png

Here is an uncomplete list of some of my equipment I use on a regular basis:

Cameras
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Canon EOS M5
Canon EOS 550D
Lenses
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Canon EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM
Canon EF-M 22mm f/2 STM
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8
7artisans 35mm f/1.2
StrobesDynaphos Speedster
FlashesMetz
Tripods and Mono-podsManfrotto
Benro

The divider I use in my posts I have created in Adobe Express.

Sort:  

The winters may be in a "survival mode"

Saying this, you might imagine a desolate Bulgarian village in the mountains, where the roads are not cleaned, there is no grocery store, there is no transport whatsoever. But I imagine how well organized life is in this village even in winter.
I recently saw an article on a social network announcing a similar state initiative for Tuscany in Italy. I didn't open it because I'm not interested, but I found out that the deadline was in July, and they publish this news in August. 😃 Pretty funny, but also pretty clear what the intent is.
I guess the local people who left will never be able to understand those who will want to settle there. As those who want to settle down will not be able to understand those who have left. But if there is no constant movement, desire, dreams that make us do something, change things, take new things, new steps, there will also be no progress, at least personal one. At least I think so. Or at least that's what just occurred to me...
So, dreams and desires are the engines of progress in a way.

True, true...
By the way, I've been to a village in Northern Norway, where, when there is more snow, the roads are getting closed, not cleaned until the snow melts.
I guess people know how to stock and survive by themselves, even for weeks during snow storms and freezing cold. Even sounds romantic... :D

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Hehe - a heartly welcome to Dream Steem! You found your way here... ;-))

And what a great dream you present! I never heard about this place. Are all the inhabitants self-providers? Or does a supply ship come there regularly?

I love it!

Hey :) Indeed my first post here and I intentionally didn't mention it but your eye is highly trained! :)))

A place that occupied a piece of my heart for good...

I visited it in the spring and there were several boats for the day. I suppose the winters the schedules will be different.

Hiking in and sailing out were the best start and end of that pleasant visit...

DDH_1201.jpg

Thank you :)

These pictures are so stunning. I would totally get it if you or anyone dreams to move there.

Quinten reminds me of Buyukada (an Island near Istanbul) - there were no fuel or gas vehicles despite the fine roads - only carriages and electric bikes. Beautiful homes with sea touching the backyards. It was magical.

Thank you!

I've put Buyukada on my to-travel-list in Google maps, despite the few one-star reviews :) Istanbul is on my list as well so if I have more time... who knows, everything's possible, right...

I think tourist attractions always have mixed reviews because of the crowd. The place itself is beautiful but the swarm of tourists can be a little off-putting.

True, true.
Watched a reportage on the TV yesterday about Kotor in Montenegro. I've been there in the winter, it is a beautiful city with old historical central part that isn't big and I would definitely imagine what nightmare it would be for tourist from four big cruise ships to embark on the same day :||| That would've totally ruin the experience and probably left me with a bitter taste about it instead...

В самом деле, что, если? :))
Мне это напомнило одно местечко на озере Байкал. Там тоже нет дорог. Добраться можно только на катере. Пешком туда можно попасть по одной лишь дикой тропе, это путь для экстремалов.

Но там всё сурово... нет виноградников и мы видели цветущую сирень в середине июля ... это слишком поздно))

Тогда у меня ещё не было нормальной камеры ... :D

I keep asking myself this question... I wouldn't mind taking care of vineyards, making wine, living in the mountains...

I've been to similar place in Bulgaria too, the Dospat dam. In the latest days I almost cannot sleep here, as the nights are 24-27 degree C, while there people put camp fires to warm and wear long sleaves to warm up ;) at the same time ;)
I like summers less and less with the age :)

для того, чтобы согреться, можно воспользоваться дополнительной одеждой, а вот если жарко ... мы не можем снять с себя нашу кожу :D

Believe me or not, this is exactly what I am telling to my GF quite often when we argue which season is worse, summer or winter. I like winters more than summers in that regards :D

🤣 😂😅

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

BottoSTEEM OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

BottoSteem
Robust Automations on STEEM Blockchain using the Power of AI

https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Thanks so much, have a great weekend! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60328.18
ETH 2426.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48