My Apothecary - Chaga

in #herbal6 years ago (edited)

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just as connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

IMG_1769.jpg

Benefits of Chaga:

A VERY POWERFUL ANTIOXIDANT
IMMUNE SYSTEM BOOST
INFLAMMATORY CONDITIONS
ULCERS AND GASTRITIS
HEART HEALTH
CANCER
DIGESTION
SKIN HEALTH
LIVER DETOX
MANAGES FEELINGS OF STRESS

20180405_093023.jpg

I usually harvest Chaga in the colder months, as I feel it contains more of the medicinal properties. I drink the tea often, it has a very earthy smell and taste. I know people that add it to their coffee.
When using it, crush/break the dried mushroom into smaller pieces. Some grind it, but I only do that if I am putting it into capsules. It is my experience that a spoonful of chaga can be used up to 6 times as a tea. I believe that it gets stronger each time it is used. My chickens love the left overs :)
I leave the black outer part of the mushroom on it. With all my medicines I leave them as natural as possible. I think that is where the modern pharmaceutical practices have gone amuck. They isolate the healing property (often reproducing it synthetically). When they do that, they do not take into consideration that there are other parts to that plant that are necessary to balance out the medicine.

I usually make dried, tinctures and tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator.

Tinctures
Cover fresh flowers/leaves/stems with 95 proof vodka, I generally use a grain-free traditional potato vodka and a 1:2 fresh herb ratio. Sometimes I use a good quality sherry. Shake gently every day, and let sit for 4-8 weeks, out of sunlight. Strain out the flowers/leaves/stems and cap tightly. I often repeat the process with the used leaves. I find that the tincture properties are increased each time . Personally I do that up to 3 times. To use: Take drops daily.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.

Looking forward to hearing your comments and stories.
We all have the knowledge to our own well being.


Sort:  

Excellent post! Chaga is very beneficial to one's health for sure, there is lots to be found around my parts of the woods.
Do you or have you made a tincture, salve or teas with Usnea or 'old man's beard'?

That is going to be next week's post!! We love old mans beard!!!

Thank you so much. I really love doing these posts!

Nice, looking forward to it!
I just finished up a batch of old man’s beard tincture.
Whats your favourite use for it?

I usually use it for respiratory.. cold, sore throat. I have also used it with bear root. Really knocks down infection. Its a gentle remedy but powerful to me. What are you using it for?

I am still learning. I haven't used it as of yet, I made it for the cold/sore throat use though.
It all got me thinking when I ended up with strep while we were at our remote cabin (building site), last year.
It was a gong show trying to get out of there, I was soo stiff, sore, hot/cold and so on.
Our trail is 15km to the highway through swampy muskeg by quad or argo (I had the quad)..but that day the wind was blowing so hard it was blowing down trees and Jay had to cut 25+ trees out of the way for me to get to the highway where our vehicles were parked. I then had to drive another hour to town to the hospital.
So I started reading and researching the items that can be used from in and around my area, I really do NOT want to be in that situation again.

I am only 2km in. I so understand your situation. (But a fraction of your distance) i think it is amazing that you are being prepared! Gathering your own medicines and food. When I forage, I always dehydrate what I can, to add to my cooking for the winter. I am so glad you made it out. I have 3 staples...colloidal silver, oil of oregano, garlic. I use homeopathy. It's shelf stable, and small to carry in a bundle. I applaud you for what you are doing!!

Love it! Chaga is something to be wise with when taking it. DO NOT TAKE IT FOR GRANTED! So much of it can be used and a lot of it can go to waste. How long does it take to grow again?

It's also very important to be in the right frame of mind when picking the medicines. When laying tobacco. Placing the intention.

I think so too. I think that everything that grows, has life is a being. Something to be thankful for.

It takes about 6 years to grow! When i harvest. I try to remember the 1/3 rule. 1/3 for the medicine to grow back, 1/3 for the wildlife that may need it, and 1/3 for us to use. Xoxo

Thank you for sharing your tincture recipes! The Steemit community has really fueled my curiosity about tinctures. We typically add Chaga to our coffee it have also made the tea. When we were introduced to Chaga we were so impressed with all of its benefits that we fondly began saying it's cures what ails you. 😊 -Aimee

I like the tinctures, because it is easy and fast. I actually crave it sometimes. I figure that my body knows LOL I so agree with it being a "cure all" :)

I was gifted some Chaga last summer but have not felt drawn to work with it until last week when my son taught me some, and now you have taught me more... Grateful

I tend to stay local with my wild ones. However, ever now and then something meaningful enters life from afar.

Hugs!

I prefer to stay local as well. Want to be as self sustaining as well. Being gifted is always a great treasure!! I love bear root but it cannot be grown here. Love when I am gifted some. Did i mention its good to see ya?!? lol xoxox

We would looooove to find some chaga in our woods. So far, we've only found Turkey Tails and a few strange, colorful fungi we would be too timid to eat.

volume11

You've been featured in the latest #LadiesofSteemit curated collection: A Humble Homestead. Keep up the great work! 🌱

I hope that you can find some. It was one of my first mushrooms, because it is not easily mistaken for something poisonous!! :) I usually find that it grows in pockets. So if you come across some, there will likely be more in the next 6 years in that area. ;)
Thank you so much for the shout out!! I have resteemed and looking forward to weeing more! I have never come across you before!! How did that happen? lol

Fascinating blog, following! I have never had chaga mushrooms. I love mushrooms.

I have a Tarot/Oracle blog and often do free readings for people on SteemIt on #TarotTuesday.

What a great contribution readings will be to the steem community!! Thank you for stopping by!! Will go take a peek !

My blog has only been around for a month and can be a tad scattered to look at for the new person stopping by. This post here is a decent representative sample of my reading style:

https://steemit.com/tarot/@zero-infinity/tarot-tip-1-using-the-symbolism-in-a-reading

That post is a reading and Tarot lesson in one.

I love this fungus! I have a special connection with it and i feel like i was guided to it. Thank you for sharing without asking for money. That is the true way.

Have you ever made glycerin tincture of chaga?

Ohhhhhh glycerin tincture??? This is new to me!! Please tell!!??

Ok... googled like a mad woman! Lol... the only thing is, how do you make food grade vegetable glycerin from scratch. I saw saponification recipes. With the vodka, i could distill my own, if i need to. So many things!! :)

I wouldn't know how to make glycerin. I do use it, but I am not sure how it works with chaga. It has a very sweet flavor.

there has to be a way! I will find it! I suppose an oil infused chaga would work? i will have to look into that as well. Its good to have the information at hand! :) thanks for stopping by!! are you enjoying steemit so far?

I am! It is still "meet the new boss, same as the old boss", but look at the awesome connections we are making through this strange contraption! Who knows where it is all headed, but i am glad to be headed there with you.

I agree with your statement " We all have the knowledge to our own well being. The plants and herbs have healed me and kept me healthy for years. My body tells me what I need. My body does not recognize processed, synthesized compounds as food. I enjoy chaga tea as well. I look forward to your posts.

How awesome is that! You so get it. Thy food is thy medicine. I am so grateful to be living where I do to be surrounded by this amazing food and medicine!! Thank you so much for sharing and supporting me!!

what kind of wood pieces?
Can it be useful for health ..

The chaga that grows on the birch is the most medicinal. It will grow on poplar and aspen as well. I am sure that there are medicinal values as well. But from what I have read in the Russian studies, is that the birch bark is needed for the mushroom to contain the medicines. I believe that all things have a purpose. Every being has a medicine.

Yes,,
I agree with you, that there are so many natural medicine that are still hidden in the nature around us ,, thanks for the information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70