'GIVING UP' Might save your life: How Emotional Processing can heal us physically - My spinal misalignment was corrected by SCREAMING & crying!

in #health7 years ago

In 2003 I was involved in a near fatal car crash outside London, UK - I was hit from behind by a heavy truck travelling at over 60mph - while I was stationary. Amazingly, at the time I seemed OK - but in the following months I lost more and more ability to move my neck and my hearing gradually decreased too.

To make matters worse, every 'medical professional' I visited essentially did nothing. The only hands on help I received was from a physiotherapist who, I feel, actually made the problem worse. I too was ignorant of body anatomy and the physics involved in my problem then and it took me about 7 years of personal research and exploration before I learned exactly what the problems were and how to correct them and heal. There ARE healers who know how to heal the spine without surgery or drugs, but they are not well known presently and the chances of you finding them through your medical doctor are slim to none

whiplash

There's no money in real healing

This is the sad truth here, in that our body's are intended to be totally self healing and so if we REALLY understand how to heal then we will never ask anyone for help and certainly never pay anyone for drugs/surgery. The multi-trillion dollar per year 'healhcare industry' would come to an end and there are too many vested interests involved to allow that to occur. If this sounds too much like a 'conspiracy theory' to you - I suggest you review my post on Cancer from a few days ago for research media that exposes the criminality of much of the modern medical system.

Emotional processing is necessary for healing

To cut a very long story short, I learned that what is missing in most of our healing journeys is real, heartFELT emotional processing. When we experience trauma of any kind, we will create an emotional response - yet for a variety of reasons we may not feel and express all of the emotions at the time of the traumatic experience. When emotions are unexpressed they cannot 'go' anywhere, they simply sit within us waiting to be released. This 'stagnant' energy can become a problem in the body and eventually lead to disease.

My car looked something like this:

car crash

In my case, I saw the truck coming to hit my car 2 seconds before it hit and I thought I would probably die. I had a lot of fear and anger surface in me and I did not express it at the time. In the fraction of a second that the vehicles collided, many of my muscles tightened as a way to protect my skeleton and nervous system from over-extension and the internal disconnection involved in the high level emotional of denied (and thus 'stuck') emotional charges caused my conscious self to become separated from the usual process of releasing and resetting the tight musculature. In other words, my conscious/semi-conscious/un-conscious reaction to the accident was to tighten up around my shoulders, neck and jaw - but that reaction was never able to be reversed once I was safe because the internal pathways involved were now more unconscious than before due to the emotional aspects involved being stuck/frozen.

Over time I reached the point where I could not turn my head laterally (side to side) and so had to turn my whole body to look left or right! Not fun!

Giving up: Yoga helped, but is not enough on it's own.

I started doing Astanga Yoga to see if I could release my body, not realising that I needed emotional processing more than strength. Yoga though, did help me relax and come more into contact with my body - both of which I needed. I reached a point though where I realised that Yoga just wasn't going to trigger the changes I urgently needed.

At some point after a few years of agony every day, I 'gave up' and, in truth it was EXACTLY that giving up is what I needed to do. I feel sad when I see memes saying 'never give up' because their lack of precision is totally unhelpful. Sometimes 'giving up' is exactly what is needed since 'giving up' is only the stopping of a pattern.. Not all patterns are helpful and the result is always change. In my case, I gave up 'trying to carry on' which equated to 'holding in the pain and fear'.

I remember clearly laying on the floor of a friend's apartment, having gone through a session of body manipulation and telling her I was going to release emotions without control. I screamed and cried and rolled around for a few minutes, letting out a torrent of emotions that society would deem to be 'dangerous' and 'insane' and which, in some settings, may have even resulted in me being restrained or even imprisoned in a hospital! Once I got my breath back I stood up, feeling better and my friend immediately said:

"You are taller and your spine is corrected!"

I felt myself and indeed, she was right. The emotions that MOVED had been held as stored charges in my nervous system for years and had been holding a specific vertebra in between my shoulder blade in completely the wrong place. I had mentioned this mis-alignment to an osteopath who told me "oh, that's normal - it's fine" - even though I knew for a fact that it was not normal for me and it had not been that way before the accident. Now my spine was corrected and this vertebra had relocated in the blink of an eye. I was an inch taller and could now move my head again - more or less normally! Success!

The key is that once the emotions that felt trapped and helpless were given loving acceptance by mind mind and rest of self - which took the form of me no longer pushing them away and controlling them - they were once again free to move and evolve, which enabled peace and balance.

A great Chiropractor helps too

After this experience I realised that I needed to rely on my own internal state of being and not on other helpers. However, at some point I started learning about chiropractic care and was impressed by the level to which the natural philosophy of the ones I listened to was in alignment with my own understandings about health (note: it makes complete sense that ones who are so interested in balance and alignment would be so true to what is balanced and aligned!). Last year I found a really great chiropractor near my home and he helped me to correct the fine misalignments in my skeleton/spine. As it turned out, almost all of my vertebrae were out of alignment - which was to some extent demonstrated by an electromyagram scan of my spine, through observation and through my own felt experience. After a few months of treatments with him, my spine is close to being better than it ever has been since I was born and my only remaining symptoms are in my jaw/ear area - which I continue to work on with emotional processing and small adjustments.

Want to know more?

This topic is still not well known by most and I am among a relatively small group of people who now hold deep understandings about this topic. I still even meet people online who are so in denial of their emotions that they try to tell me that emotions have no value - they couldn't be more wrong in that. I have made many posts on this topic in my blog at the social network I run called ureka.org and I've also started a heart healing series here on steemit.

Here's a thought I shared at Ureka specifically about emotional processing and common mis-conceptions - you can start there and then find further posts on Ureka by looking at the related items list or by searching around there:

https://www.ureka.org/thoughts/view/22538/there-are-no-garbage-emotions-all-emotions-are-needed-and-need-to-be-felt-to-be-known

Got any questions?

I'd love to hear your comments, thoughts and feelings in the comment section below. I have a wealth of tips and research media to share on this and related health topics - so let me know below.

Wishing you well!

Follow, Upvote, Resteem - @ura-soul

Sort:  

Good read. Looking at your car. It was a close call. Had one factor of the accident been changed we might not have had you here. Thanks for the daily dose of life lessons. :)

definitely! that car in the image is not my actual car - i lost the photo I took of it at the time... but it did look quite like that. my driver door was the only one that would open. i certainly opened my mind that day to the possibility that my intense will to live changed my outcome because the mechanical physics of it strongly suggested i should be human jello!

Yeah. I guess that's one silver lining of having a close call. You really get a different perspective of life and living.

Now only if there was a way for me of getting that kind of sudden life changing enlightenment without having to really be in danger lol.

hehe - well, there is - in fact, it is much better than needing to be put at real risk. the basic requirement is to be fully accepting of emotional expression in every moment (which is best done as sound rather than using words or physical action). this begins the process of triggering and ignition that keeps consciousness high and increases our ability to receive new light.

Thank you for sharing your experience @ura-soul !.
Treatment of trauma of all sorts is a very misunderstood thing indeed. in truth its a multidisciplinary study and modality, some of these modalities and disciplines the effectively treat Traumatic experiences are not available through the standard model of medical care available in the "civilised" western nations.

Infact i heard a term used to describe our models way of operation when i was at university. hospitals and doctors are instructed to get a patient out and away from care as fast as possible or "sicker and quicker"

That has bled over into treatments such as Acupuncture where traditionally a clinician would see a person daily for a number of weeks administering herbs, Massage, Needling and Guiding meditative and movement/breathing therapies. It was and is understood that these treatments are effective cumulatively.

Yet the modern method of practice of Acupuncture demands a high cost low amplitude method, Where a practitioner charges a lot for the consultation and short sessions only once a week. Each of these sessions only being limited to one modality (usually Needling). This yields Very limited results in comparison to the traditional model of Healing.

A business model rather than a Healing model.

exactly, yes - thanks for sharing. healthcare is a desire, not a market!
all of this is why i am so focused into helping others to activate and empower their own internal healing process - since that is the modern day equivalent of the garlic that gets rid of the vampires!
(amusingly I have used garlic to get rid of bacterial vampires too - a great antiseptic!).

Garlic is powerful stuff!.
Thats awesome!.
on that subject of activating internal healing. The Monroe institute ( Bob Monroe is one of the reasons we have the term O.B.E - out of body experience) did a series pf meditations for people who where dealing with post operative situations. As you said. Healing is a desire and these Meditations yielded statistically significant results when used. (actually i could talk at length on the Monroe institute and the effectiveness of their material, needless to say they have produced many viable and useful programs. some of which are related to self healing via internal personal methods. Many of the alphabet agencies and certain Corporate remote viewing organisations regard their programs as mandatory pre requisites. but that is a conversation for another place and time. )

yes, i am aware of that area of research too and used their binaural meditation audio for a while. i have also spoken with the head of the farsight institute remote viewing program - but I feel there are numerous hidden factors involved with their agenda that I don't like and so I don't deal with them any more.
great topics :)

I had assumed you where Familiar with them.
I understand completely regarding F.S.I . Agreed They are great topics, They have provided some of the best research experiences yet. :)

hmm, that's a weird syncrhonicity.. the company i was working for on the day of my crash was also called F.S.I.
noted. ;)

whoa. Well, all i can say is my day is not complete or normal if there isn't at least one Synchronicity and that was # 3 for the day.

hehe - yes, i like what the channelled entity 'bashar' has to say about synchronicity.. of which there is a lot.

  • Everything we experience is synchronicity and the more we notice it, the more we will attract more experiences of noticing it.
    :)

Great post !! thanks for sharing will follow for sure !! STEEM ON!!

great, thanks for your support :)

I think these Methods are Invaluable and needs to be adopted at a Massive Scale.
Highly Informative.

Thanks for sharing

Followed, ReSteemed, Commented

pls look at my post -
https://steemit.com/steemit/@anil777/how-steemit-changed-me-as-a-person-believe-me-it-s-phenomenal

yes, once i realised the reality of what i have shared here, i basically stopped my career as as systems architect and allowed my heart to guide my mind towards balance - which for me has meant helping to share what i know with the world through the internet and ureka.org.
awesome, thanks! i followed back.

@ura-soul i'm glad you're ok now. :)



This Banner is Clickable :)


thankyou <3

thanks for sharing your story :) I can imagine the relief after letting your emotions loose! I suspect I have lot of unprocessed grief and frustration, as I have been supressing emotions throughout my whole life.
But I am not tensed, so not sure if this applies. Anyway, good post. Strong story. :)

Thanks, your story is very inspiring and I think through this process of agony you have discovered something precious and valuable. I have made a similar experience with suppressed emotions. And slowly, slowly I'm getting to know myself more without judgement. It is as if I'm slowly awakening from a dream. Greetings from Taipei!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53