Salt and Water Only: My experiment with Prolonged FastingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Alt text

I only really began paying attention to my fitness 2 years ago.

Having previously survived on a whimsical diet of regular junk combined with a conspicuous lack of heavy, intensive, or regular exercise, I found myself, at 19, “skinny fat” at best. In a stroke of fate, I discovered Ian Heskitt’s Strong Lift 5x5, and Mark Rippetoe’s Starting Strength, which set me down the path of weightlifting and obsessive bodybuilding diets.

After a year, I was squatting 270 lbs but GOMAD (drinking A Gallon Of Milk A Day) raised my body fat above 20%. My days with GOMAD and 5x5 came to an abrupt end when an ambitious deadlift attempt at 300 lbs hurt my lower back.

Luckily, I merely strained a muscle, and suffered no serious damage. But the injury made me quit heavy lifting heavily for several months. I experimented with more varied routines like Reverse Pyramid Training, and settled on PHUL.

To cut down on my body fat, I experimented with Ketogenic diets and Intermittent Fasting. Keto made me exceptionally lethargic, while through IF and carb refeeds, I managed to reduce my body fat down to the range of 15%. I practiced cyclic carb refeeds, which meant I fasted on Mondays.

Last week, I stumbled upon an article about a man who fasted for 382 days, my first impression was incredulity.

“382 days of Salt and Water?”

So I did more digging. I found

[a video about fasting and eating less] (

)

and then several articles which listed several purported benefits of fasting:

-MedicalNewsToday: Fasting ’Reboots’ the immune system

-USC: Fasting triggers Stem cell regeneration of immune system

-NCBM: Prolonged Fasting reduces IGF-1/PKA to promote hematopoietic stem cell-based regeneration and reverse immunosuppression

Fasting was also apparently pretty common amongst several religious sects.

The benefits purportedly includes:
-Alleviation of long term diseases
-“reboots” immune system
-mental clarity
-detox and body repair
-rejuvenation and prolonged life span

Following this train of logic, one could reason that on a long enough time scale, prolonged fasting could even ostensibly cure Cancer.

I went to bed that night unconvinced. But I couldn’t shake the feeling of What do I have to lose?

I decided to give it a try, and record my experience.

According to the advice I received from r/fasting, fasts lasting less than 7 days wouldn’t require vitamin supplements. The only thing I needed to supplement was a quarter teaspoon of salt, on a daily basis. Online forums point to period of struggle, frustration, and decreasing hunger through the first 3 days, as the body adjusts, then a period of normalcy as Ketosis takes place. The finally a feeling of deep, intense hunger that comes on after, when one will know that one’s body is starving, and that the fast needs to end.

I don’t know how long I’ll fast. I plan to survive longer than 3 days, then consider additional supplementation if I last longer than 7.

Last Saturday evening, I solemnly ate my last supper of 5 Scrambled Eggs and Russian Beef Goulash, while the setting sun casting shadows on my long stone table. I reveled in the final feeling of satiety I would have for a while, and went to sleep.

Day 1

I mixed half a teaspoon of salt with a glassful of water in the morning. I found myself drinking constantly as my mouth was constantly dry.

After noon a feeling of intense hunger rose on me. I drank a cup of Dark Roasted Coffee, and the feeling subsided.

I was more productive today that I had been in the whole of last week.

It was like a mental fog had been lifted from my mind. Thoughts were quick, accurate and I found myself extremely motivated to solve even the most difficult tasks.

After a few hours, the coffee did leave me with tension and anxiety, an effect it was typically prone. But overall, I found my energy levels constantly high throughout the day. My mind was lucid and focus intense. It was a good experience, but I’ll try to survive tomorrow without coffee.

Sort:  

Congratulations @haeli05! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Congratulations @haeli05! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @haeli05! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74