Salute your Health! | Peach love! Kombucha!

in #health5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0056 (2f).jpg

Success! Doesn’t it feel great?


Happy Friday my friends! Don’t you just love it when you experiment with a recipe and after months of patience it finally works? Well, that’s what has happened in the Bird nest!


I love Kombucha! First of all I love Iced Tea. When I discovered Kombucha was made with tea I was so excited to make it myself. Commonly made with Green or Black tea combined with amazing health benefits, wow! I'm all in!


green tea.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay


What is is?


Kombucha is a fermented drink which has been around for thousands of years. It’s a powerful probiotic drink which contains acetic acid. Acetic acid will help suppress harmful bacteria and yeasts which may grow in the gut. Some studies have found Kombucha will help improve your LDL and HDL levels, a great benefit to the heart! Did you know studies have found tea drinkers have a lower risk of developing heart disease?


I digress…


anyway I have been experimenting with Kombucha over the last year and have not been able to produce that “perfect” drink. You know, something with a slight fruity taste and fizzy! It was either too vinegary or not fizzy. Frustrating, but I was determined…

Until today! At last Success!


DSC_0059 (2d).jpg


I have been enjoying peaches lately and about a month ago I decided to flavor my latest batch of Kombucha with peach juice. I lengthened the fermentation time, added the peach juice and then left the bottled drink on the counter for a 10 days before refrigeration. Special note: If you don't have air conditioning you may prefer to shorten these fermentation times to 7 days. Some say to "burp" your Kombucha mid cycle to prevent too much fizzy. I haven't had this happen, but it may! Be careful!


This is what worked!

  • Black or Green Tea (4 tea bags)
  • Filtered Water (1/2 gallon)
  • Sugar (1/2 cup)
  • Kombucha Scoby (qty 1)
  • Fresh Peaches (Juiced)

I steeped the tea bags…


with boiling water and sugar and left the jar covered over night. I wanted to allow the tea to cool to room temperature. Don’t want to kill the Scoby The next morning I removed the tea bags and added the Scoby. Cover and let stand for 10 days.
Note: Don’t be alarmed using the sugar!! The Scoby needs this sugar to ferment the tea. By the time your tea has fermented it won’t be sweet. We’ll add the Peach juice for a little sweet taste.
DSC_0040 (2).jpg

On day 11…


Remove the scoby and pour the “tea” into clean flip bottles or jars (with lids). Place the scoby in a jar and add about 1 cup of cooled tea to cover the scoby! Top the jar with cheese cloth and rubberband. This way your scoby will be ready for your next batch of Kombucha. Pour ¾ full.

Slice and juice...

those fresh peaches. Add 2-4 tablespoons of peach juice to each container leaving about ½” head space below lid. Leave the bottles on the counter away from sunlight for another 10 days. Refrigerate until you’re ready to enjoy!

DSC_0007 (2).jpg

It’s that simple! Fizzy and peachy-delicious! Success!


DSC_0051 (2).jpg


Needless to say, I’m going to have to get “a bigger boat”! Gallon jars are on the way! We love fizzy drinks so this will be perfect. I would love to make this to share with our friends. With all of the fresh fruit we have, the flavors are endless! I know many of you drink Kombucha, I would love to hear what fruit you like best. Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Leave it on the bench 10 days ? wow - so long!! I ferment mine with the scoby about 7 days, then take the scoby and a little starter for the next batch out, mix in a cup or two of fresh, strained juice and leave it on the counter for 24 hours. And then into bottles and straight into the fridge. PERFECT result.

Mind you, it's pretty consistently warm in Thailand and we don't use AC in the main part of the house at all.

Peach kombucha sounds awesome. My batch ready for fruit tomorrow will be passionfruit or maybe pineapple-ginger - not sure yet. LOL. Whatever the local organic fruit place has plenty of at a great price. I'm guessing passionfruit. :)

Lovely post.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Well, I'm still playing around with it, I agree AC probably does change the game. I leave it longer as I wanted a fuller taste and then on the counter to make sure it was fizzy enough. Perhaps I'll edit for those who don't have AC....I wouldn't want any blow outs for new Kombucha makers. Ohhhh pineapple ginger....I should try that I have both on hand mmmmmmm! I'm having so much fun experimenting, can't wait for my larger jars to arrive, lol Love, love this don't you? My new favorite treat! :) Thanks for your sweet support @artimislives! Enjoy your kombucha!

Ha nice pun!!! Watch those bottles dont explode.. do you burp them? I had turmeric boosh all over my laundry once lol

Posted using Partiko Android

still haven't tried kombucha yet but i've been meaning to...peach sounds good!✌️

I have been meaning to try Kombucha for a while now after hearing how good people say it is, but I still havent got around to it so found this post very interesting

Since I am not a tea drinker, perhaps I should buy a bottle in the deli one morning when I get my breakfast and try it out before I consider making my own

Have a godo weekend


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Well done. That actually sounds really nice. I'm still trying to get into a routine with kefir at the moment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

I still have to try my hand at this, but adding peaches really is brilliant my friend! I've been told how good Kombucha is for reflux so really must get a batch going! I would definitely 'burp' it especially in our hot summer months; I had a batch of gingerbeer that became a fountain and christened my kitchen ceiling a long time ago, what a mess but it was my fault as I sealed it with a bottle top, should have used cork!

Posted using Partiko Android

@birdsinparadise,

A great probiotic treat. It sounds delicious.

Quill

This "looks" great. My only problem is that I was once checking out at Whole Foods with a cold when the manager insisted on giving me a kombucha to help my cold. I had never had one before and to be honest could not finish it! I really wanted to, but.... nope, couldn't do it. I must try again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74