GREENEST THUMBS CORNER #6 - Winner announcement and SBD to win this week!

It's time to announce the winners of the fifth GREENEST THUMB CHALLENGE. As you may have noticed, from now on it's gonna be the GREENEST THUMB CORNER. Everything will stay the same, just a little name change. I just wanted to acknowledge that while this contest started as a traditional challenge, it's becoming more and more clear to me that what we are doing is not really a matter of competing between us to be the best gardener.

It is about gathering once a week and sharing our best stories, successes, experiments on gardening


Do you agree? Do you find that this new name reflects better what we are doing?

Yesterday the post got the payout and today we'll look at the entries that four Steem-gardeners submitted last week.

Let's see who are gonna be this week's GREENEST THUMBS!

Steem Powered Mulberries (Midwest USA)

What impressed me in this post is that those plants are really steem-powered plants. @papa-pepper donated them to @kiaraantonoviche, and she is now enjoying them growing. Every new leaf reminds her the love and support from the Steemit community. It’s the magic of plants: they often has the power to reminds us how steady and constant grow will one day produce delicious fruits. And that’s our destiny as Steem-gardeners!

Video log #1 - Reforestation progress report (Colombia)

@ecoinstant and his wife @ecoinstante started together something that can really be named “a challenge”: a polyculture reforestation in a place that was once a coffee monoculture. That’s quite a task: plants that were once used to chemicals and poisons are now growing counting only on their care and permaculture skills. Coffee plants that are dying are being substituted with a wide range of different species. This challenge, as @ecoinstant writes, is not just with nature: is with neighbors too, as most of them used to laugh at their efforts. I just wish I was able to buy organic coffee from you guys through the Steemit platform!

Growing Jackfruit From Seeds (Canada)

Can you grow a sub-tropical plant near Alaska? @thekitchenfairy shows us that you can definitely take the first step! Her passion for a plant (jackfruit) together with her determination, led to saving some precious seeds and having them grow through the Canadian summer. The little trees are now growing inside and we really hope that in a couple of years we could read on Steemit about you harvesting their sweet fruits!

A Slideshow with some moments from my Garden Feb 25, 2015 (California)



@mariannewest prepared a slideshow with many pictures of her beautiful garden. You can see the development of the kiwis plant, several cozy corners where to take a sit and all the edible plants that grew and produced great fruits.
I personally took a couple of ideas for my garden and I wish it will look one day as beautiful as yours!



In witness of your love for gardening, it is now my pleasure to proclaim that this week's GREENEST THUMBS are...



Greenest thumbs #5.jpg



From the collective choice, @kiaraantonoviche is this week's GREENEST THUMB, as her post received the higher number of upvotes (71 at the time of writing this).

From my choice, @thekitchenfairy is this week's GREENEST THUMB for her passion and determination (and for writing a very detailed and funny post).

Last week the contest post generated 1.083 SBD in payout. I sent half to both of the GREENEST THUMBS.

Once again, I thank everyone of you for your entries. I learned so many things that I didn't know: I didn't imagine the existence of jackfruits (!), how some chairs in the garden can make it cozy and confortable for visitors, how homesteaders are helping one another on Steemit and how to patiently turn a monoculture into a polyculture.



...TIME FOR WEEK 6!



According to the Cambridge Dictionary, a green thumb is:

the ability to make plants grow and be healthy

I can't wait to read new amazing stories of plants growing and see new GREENEST THUMB pictures. So, here are the rules for week 6.



Rules



  • Post one or more pictures explaining your ability to make plants grow and be healthy, between now and this post payout time (in 7 days)
  • You can either post your picture in the comments below or write a post about it. If you write a post, tag it #greenestthumb and link it in the comments below, so everyone can find it.
  • I'll select a winner who will get 50% of the SBD generated by this post. The other GREENEST THUMB will be decided through a collective choice: it will be the one whose post or comment will receive the more upvotes and will get the same reward as the other winner.
  • By entering the contest, you give me permission to use one of your pictures in the next post where I'll be announcing the winners.

It's not an obligation, but please consider to upvote and resteem this post (most of the former participants already did last week and I thank you for that). This will help the contest growing bigger. Furthermore, it will make the prizes bigger! I'll be resteeming some of your entries too, to give the contest more visibility.

Happy gardening and see you next week to read who entered THE GREENEST THUMB CORNER #6!

Sort:  

Hi @cryptofarmer,

Is this where I should send in #6 entry?

I saw there are 3 duplicate (triplicate) postings of the announcement (good ol' Steemit 😁)

So not sure where to post the entry

Anyhoo here is mine

https://steemit.com/gardening/@thekitchenfairy/greenest-thumb-challenge-6-growing-turmeric-and-stock-up-your-pantry-with-homemade-turmeric-powder

I'm so happy you joined this week!
Yeah, unfortunately I did not notice that everytime I tried to publish the post and received a message of error, it was actually being published.
I don't have any post to write soon to edit this triplicate, so I'm going to let every 3 of the same post and check every one of them.
I'm sorry for this, thank you for your understanding!

Woo hoo! What a fun contest! Thank you to all who upvoted and helped me win the collective choice! And congrats to @thekitchenfairy! EDIT: I can link this article in the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter again in order to promote it if you would like @cryptofarmer! :)

Thank you @kiaraantonoviche!

I just saw there are 3 same postings so I missed this 😊

Congratulations @kiaraantonoviche!
Your entry was inspiring for me.
I'll be very happy if you could link this article in the next WHN. Thank you for help me promoting the #greenestthumb!

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that this article has been featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you are interested! Thank you and have a great Sunday!

Great, I'm going to check it out soon! Thank you soo much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49