Greenest Thumb Challenge Entry - Steem Powered Mulberries

To be honest, I thought about making my submission include my most recent gardening success - the sprouting of not one but TWO avocado pits! I’ve tried everything to get a plant growing but have had no luck over the years. I don’t know what I did differently this time but one is sprouting a small plant and the other one is showing growth of a short root.

However, even though I’m super excited about this success, the best example of my (fledgling) green thumb has to be the five mulberries donated by @papa-pepper many months ago!

When I began this blog, I planned to create a Steem powered homestead (called Wild Rose Acres) on family owned property in the Midwest USA. Even though plans may have changed and this may not be the final destination of our Steem powered homestead, I have still received an overwhelming amount of support from the homesteading community. One such act of support and extreme generosity was the donation of seeds and 5 bare root mulberry cuttings from the well-known Steemit homesteading guru @papa-pepper!


Original article

I was so excited and extremely determined to see these little ones sprout. I am not a professional gardener and I have a lot to learn, so I was terrified that I might make a disastrous mistake and see all of them die. I treated them with the utmost care… until one day my hard work (the planting, the smelly compost tea, the rotation in the sunlight) paid off!


Original article

Pale green leaves began stretching themselves towards the light! And they grew… and grew… and grew!

Finally, I chose permanent homes for the little plants - four planted at Wild Rose Acres and one planted on my parents property (they begged me to share)! All five are growing strong. 


Original article 


Original article


Original article

Now, maybe it’s silly for me to be so irrationally excited at the success (so far) of these plants… but I can’t help it because these mulberries mean so much more than just new plants in the garden. They are a representation of everything good about Steemit - the respect, the support, and the invaluable sense of community. They remind me of the friends and acquaintances I have gained over the past few months. When I look at them, I remember the positive conversations and enthusiastic support I’ve received since signing up. Best of all, it will continue to remind me of the potential that the Steemit homesteading community has to achieve great things.

Hopefully my thumb stays green enough to help these little mulberries live past infancy. Then on the day they finally produce, I will taste sweet success!


Photography taken by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared / reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Sort:  

Interestingly enough, I planted the tops of those same plants, and they are still growing! LOL

Glad to see your progress and entry in the contest! Steem on!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kiaraantonoviche to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Wow, that's so inspiring and a nice testimony of the beauty of Steemit.
Thanks for joining the greenestthumb contest!

That's awesome! I love that this is a Steem powered project already! :D

Wow! What a testimony to the power of the steemit community. It is making dreams a reality for sure! Well done.

The tops of these are growing great! About to post now!

Congratulations @kiaraantonoviche! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69093.99
ETH 3768.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44