Greenest Thumb Challenge #5 - Growing Jackfruit From Seeds

in #gardening7 years ago

I grew up with jackfruit. Love jackfruit so much. Behind my parents house in the 80s, we had quite a few of jackfruit trees (and king of fruit, the stinky durian and cempedak, a family of breadfruit and jackfruit). In Indonesia we call jackfruit as nangka.

When we lived in Ontario and Quebec before, it was always so easy to find fresh jackfruit in Chinatown(s), but now we are in B.C, our best bet is always canned jackfruit. Those canned jackfruits cannot hold a candle to the fresh ones, yes the fresh ones are always better obviously, but if you have tasted jackfruit before, you'd know the canned ones are sh#t 😂 Sometimes they don't even taste like jackfruit!

Back in May, my husband was in Vancouver, when he returned he surprised us with fresh jackfruit 😹 Lucky it wasn't durian, hey, he'd be kicked out of airplane maybe 🙈🙉🙊

1508904310307.jpg

So, I saved the seeds! I wanted to plant them here. You know how expensive a whole jackfruit can be in North America? Like a house downpayment, almost 😂 My mother said it is such a wishful thinking, because it takes years until a jackfruit tree would give you a fruit. But I Googled, some people grew them successfully in warm areas of the USA, and it doesn't take them 20-30 years as what we would always say in Indonesia. I determined to see. I do have to mention, I live in Northeast of BC, close to Alaska. Our winter starts in October and it stays until May 😂

Anyhoo, I planted them! On May 14th I started them on seed box, but on May 28, I moved them to pots. Nothing was happening yet.

1508877965401.jpg

And lookie, lookie. By June 22, a month later. Some were popping to say hello 😀

1508878104333.jpg

1508878163485.jpg

And by June 30th, more were growing! Soooo happy 😊

1508878547583.jpg

By July 11, safe to say they were growing big and stronger!

1508878692918.jpg

I started moving them to individual pots. These pictures were taken on July 19th. Beautiful sight hey😍

1508904799043.jpg

1508904825354.jpg

These aren't grown with anything special but a bag of soil from garden section of Walmart. A bag was only $4 We checked our local nurseries, their bags sound awesome with manure and nutritions, but too expensive, the cheapest was $18 per bag with the same weight. Yikes! However, Walmart soil proven to be awesome, so no need expensive soil 😂 What a cheap gardener 😂

End of August, they were much bigger now.

1508879168515.jpg

Unfortunately cold days came. So we moved them inside on September 9th. By this time we already had to take down our humble green house.

1508879406100.jpg

Sadly, altho we do have growing light for them, some dropped their gorgeous green leaves, yet growing new ones! Some more are still growing strong and tall. I have hope for them and I cannot wait for summer to hurry come back 😂 These pictures were taken today.

1508904068375.jpg

1508904131217.jpg

Wish I can already show you the fruit of my hardwork, which would be the fruit, but I guess we will have to see progress in a couple of years 😁 Let's see if Steemit stays for awhile 😉👍

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Supposedly, they can produce their second year in a big enough pot. I have one growing right now.

Oooh!!! So happy to wake up to this! You are giving me hope.

I am reading a lot on jackfruits. I so want to make it work 😁

Thank you @homesteadbuilder !!!

I never eaten fresh jackfruit and the only time I eat some they were dried one. I liked them but I can't quite remember what they tasted. I never had durian either. If I go in the Chinatown I'll look for jackfruit and durian too.

Oooh one of my witnesses took the time to check out my blog 💃💃💃💃

Oooh I love the chips!

Jackfruit is sweet and fragrant, the fresh ones, the chips, but not the canned ones. The canned ones only sweet, too sweet even from the sugar solution, so it is not a strong jackfruit flavor but sugar water.

Now durian tho, not everyone (Westerners) can tolerate it due to the strong smell. It's totally like strong gas smell to them (and a cross of stinky feet I was told😂). Durian is life IMO 😂 Love it so much😂

Wow, great ^^
I wish we had space for a green-house :(

Thanks @mermaid !

Do you have community garden there that you can rent?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31