Greenest Thumb Challenge #6 : Growing Turmeric and Stock Up Your Pantry With Homemade Turmeric Powder

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

As Indonesian, I use a lot of turmeric in my cookings, from curry to rice dish, to soup, to veggie- broth, and sometimes to healthy traditional drinks that we call jamu.

1509306664799.jpg
Tumpeng - yellow rice shaped as cone, tinted and flavored with turmeric.

When I first moved to Canada, 15 years ago, I did not know whether it would be easy for me to find turmeric or not, and as a newcomer, yes it wasn't easy (I did not know the existence of Chinatown nor health food store back then), so my parents would try to send me a couple of the rhyzome (roots), which of course got denied by the custom 😹. Once I knew where to get, even there were only the powder, I was estactic.

Whenever I flew back from Indonesia to Canada, always crossed my mind to smuggle in, as many people I know doing it and succeeded, but I was always a chicken.

Then I found Chinatown, all my probs seemed so far away 😹 They had the powder, the fresh roots, the frozen roots, you name it, they got it.

Those were the days living in Ontario and Quebec, where Chinatown(s) was truly superb when one needs Asian spices.

Now in BC, turmeric is easy to find as well, but again, powdered. I do have to mention, my area is almost remote, on the way to Alaska. I am sure in big cities elsewhere in BC, turmeric is so easy to find.

One day we were at health food store. They had fresh turmeric! But holy moly, getting only a couple are like buying a fake diamond (yes, even zircon is THAT expensive you know), everything at the health food store is always overpriced IMO. But you know, when you need it, you need it. Can't complain.

Then a new grocery opened up, No Frills and yay, they also have fresh turmeric. Sadly even so, a box of turmeric is $5 and the quality is often questionable. Sometimes already with fungus, like whaa ...??? Well at this store, I complained, or more to leaving constructive comment, but things didn't change. Produces are often with fungus🤔

So we started growing them. Just like when we lived in Europe, we also planted them in our garden, because it wasn't easy as well to find turmeric there.

The key is to find turmeric roots with eyes. Green eyes if possible.

1509060614008.jpg

Turmeric is dormant-type plant. Which means you can grow them in 4 seasons countries, and when you think it's kaput during winter, it really isn't. The leaves may die, like other plants, but the roots still alive. They will for sure return the next year. At least from our experience growing them since 2010.

1509059761895.jpg
Harvested this last year, 2016

They are actually pretty easy to grow. Just plant them, and you will see soon enough.

1509061165048.jpg

1509061007173.jpg

I always plant them in pots, so in winter I could bring them inside the house. These two are this year's plants, it only took them 2 months, of only 4 roots I planted, 2 each on each pot.

1509306117294.jpg

They have produced a lot inside already. But I always wait until at least there's a flower growing before I harvest them, usually flowers come between 6-8 months. By then I know they would be mature enough to harvest. Ideally you would need a larger/deeper pot, and water them once in a couple of days, and not too much to avoid the roots rottening inside.

1509306188072.jpg

I do not use the roots only, but also the leaves. They are good for curry. If the Indians use curry leaves for their meat curries, Indonesians use the leaves for our famous rendang. Have you heard this dish? It is known as the best food in the world according to CNN travel 😊

1509306095411.jpg

1509306695954.jpg
Rendang - spicy Indonesian beef/mutton curry

To make turmeric powder, best is in summer as you would be relying on the sun. We need to slice them super thin and dry them under the sun for days, until they are super dry.

1509306237157.jpg

I like using the oven, set on low temp, overnight. Back in Europe I used food dehydrator, it worked as well.

1509306257227.jpg

Once they are dried, let the coffee grinder do the magic😁 Tadaaaaa

1509306283990.jpg

1509306314365.jpg

Will share some cookings (recipes) I did using turmeric powder/the leaves in the future 😊

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Do you find fresh turmeric stains everything? I was juicing it for a while and it just made EVERYTHING yellow/orange.

Yes for sure @choogirl especially fingers 😂😂😂😂

One of my fav herbs. The roots are so cheap here on Cambodia... never tried growing my own... new project for the new house! Thanks for sharing!

wow! what a nice post! i love putting turmeric in my tea too! because i do believe that turmeric has healing powers with almost kinds of illnesses--- THE NATURAL AND ORGANIC WAY!!

Mabuhay!

We have many traditional drinks using turmeric in Indonesia, but I don't think I've ever added it in tea, that's interesting! I know people like making turmeric milk tho 😊

try adding it to your tea cup! it taste much refreshing and i use it to relief my stomach ache after eating lots of food.

Sudah lama kita tidak saling berkunjung dan vote ya.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by whosthekitchenfairy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you for this, we have actually had trouble growing tumeric here in Colombia, I suspect it is not getting enough sun because of the rampant growth of other plants.

We grow them inside the house during winter, with grow light. It helps!

But in Colombia tons of sun light, should grow nicely, but yes perhaps too crowded by the other plants 😊

Thanks for visiting @ecoinstant!

Thank you for the tip! Keep writing great dtuff like this and I'll keep visiting ;p

See you around greenest thumb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31