A COBBLESTONE GARDEN?

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)

Who knows? Maybe it is a good idea...


So, I've got free access to flat rocks, and I plan on using some for a few projects, but for now I might just be cobble-stoning my garden. Here's a picture of the ones I brought home today.

It'll help prevent weed growth, look pretty interesting, and allow more water to make it to the plants in the raised beds. I'm not sure if it'll really work, but I'm doing a test in part of the garden. What do you think?

VIDEO: TESTING THE COBBLESTONE IDEA

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cobblestone

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I just love how shiny and clean they look.

This is a cool idea @papa-pepper! I like @coinsandchains suggestion too! The moss certainly would cut down on the weed problem and look awesome too. Happy to hear that you have hummers coming to your garden. They are at the top of my favourite birds' list. This morning when I came into my kitchen they were 5 little hummers at the window where my son planted red Canna lilies. It always brings joy to my heart when I see these little beauties...

I agree so much, the hummingbirds are so loveable and fun. They are nature's showmen ;p

Smart Idea, the rocks don't break down as fast as the mulch, lol.
At the old house, I did something similar with some large 12" bricks from a Gym that was being torn down. I started Irish moss in the gaps, when it filled in there were no weeds at all, plus it looks amazing in a garden.
source

Oh! Fantastic idea with the Irish moss! My experience, without moss, was that the weeds get extra tough in the gaps because they have all the free, moist root space below the rocks.

That was my experience as well, and the moss choked them out. I tried small gravel as well, but I still had weeds in it, and landscape fabric wouldn't work for me because the bricks were 4 inches thick which is plenty of dirt for weeds to grow.

Yeah, the plants always find a way (which is one of the reasons why I love them by the way), but here you have conquered by putting your chosen plant in charge! So clever!

Love this idea! I may have to borrow it, with your permission...

Love this idea!
I may have to borrow it,
With your permission...

                 - cecicastor


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

AND ITS ACTUALLY A SOLID HAIKU!!!!!!

I heartily enjoy Haiku Bot!

Yep great idea it is. Hope you do best

I have seen that used as paths between the garden beds, used to build the sides of the garden beds, in the South Island, they even built the outside cladding of houses and buildings with [local name = Schist]
How long is Mama - Pepper going to put up with you loading her seat with rocks?
Farwell, it has been good to know you.

@papa-pepper I have heard that flat stones make an excellent raised bed that lasts forever. The walks look nice, but Gravel will work there, and a garden of raised beds of this rock would be stunning! :D

The guy I saw using these, had made them round and oval, and some he had fitted a plastic cover over for early planting.

Interesting! I've thought of that too! Thanks @smithlabs!

@papa-pepper Depends on how many rocks you can get too.

I plan on casting cement pavers from broken bags of cement( they are a lot cheaper); for a patio.

Gravel's got nothing on the vigorous stuff of life down by us. Just hurts my shins when I come in with the weed-wacker later.

Heavy plastic under the gravel, and zero weed wacking....

Be safe! :D

Hmmmm, I feel like that's on the border between landscaping and urbanization, but its very interesting! How long will a technique like that work for you? How often do you add more gravel?

(sorry to pepper you with questions ;)

More garden scaping I guess. Normally, gravel is renewed when existing gravel is spread out too thin, or it is compacted into the ground. With the gravel contained by the raised beds, and with heavy plastic underneath, so foot traffic will not drive the gravel down; you should avoid the need to add more gravel. :D

Nice! Are those rocks from the creek? They don't look as varying in color as I would expect by nature. I definitely like the look of it.

Papa probably the COBBLESTONE can be use for sloppy land but it will be useful Sooner or later, great work you are doing there papa with the farm

Thank you very much @gbija!

I use them as stepping stones in the flower gardens, so I can reach the back or middle without stepping on things. But most of ours went into a walkway.

That's a great idea, looks good and you have a place to step that the annuals don't take over.

Flat rock flat rock what you gonna do what you gonna do when papa-pepper comes for YOU!!

Imma sit up in the passenger's seat!

I foresee a wild and strange contest entry..... A big flat rock with a steem logo and that caption...

Do it! I would bring the emperor of naps in on an entry like that! LOL! I'm still laughing!

hum...., now I just need to find a big flat rock and a knit hat to put on it.

If you don't do this I'm determined to have it ready for next round.

This is all I could come up with today, I think I need to put the rock in a car seat. none of my kids had a Jamaican hat.

20180726_122433.jpg

This is so Calvin and Hobbes - esque! Brilliant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62