A Dollar A Day - an update on my way of supporting charitable causes on steemit

in #charity7 years ago

Eight days ago I posted about a little project I am running for myself to help me make donations to charities on steemit.

This is my A Dollar A Day campaign where I give 1 SBD to a charity each day.

This might seem quite trite or trivial but giving a little regularly is generally easier than giving a lot all in one go.

Giving regularly like this has also allowed me to get to know the charities I give to much better. I follow their blogs and comment on their posts and generally learn more about the work they are doing, the people involved and the locations they work in.

The more I connect with the charities and the people running them, the more I tend to chose those charities to give my SBD to on any given day.

Sometimes it is hard to decide which charity to give to on any particular day so if I have had sufficient post rewards and I can afford it I will often give a dollar to more than one charity that day.


I started my A Dollar A Day project on 7 November 2017. So far I have donated 25 SBD between six different charities :

I have also donated to @dante01 for his work with a tribal village in the Philippines.

While I have supported all six of these charitable causes I have focussed more than half of my giving so far with @schoolforsdg4 and @youarehope.


School for SDG4

I have very much enjoyed exchanging comments with Mohammed ( @azizbd ) who runs @schoolforsdg4. I had no idea about the levels of schooling in Bangladesh before following the posts from @schoolforsdg4.

I have also learnt a lot from the posts of other steemians that support @schoolforsdg4 such as @lindahas, @tecnosgirl and @girlbeforemirror.

Mohammed has mentioned that they are trying to raise funds to buy a modem, speaker and mic so they can connect their laptop to the internet. The cost for that is likely to be about $50 for the kit and $17.50 per month for the internet connection. This is something I would very much like to help them achieve.


YouAreHope

The other project I have had most contact with since I started my A Dollar A Day giving is @YouAreHope. As my wife is from Latin America I have particularly been following the work of Reny ( @Malos10 ) in Venezuela.

With the desperate economic situation that the country is enduring every little amount that @YouAreHope can channel to the work on the ground by Reny and his colleagues is all important.

YouAreHope was set up here on steemit only in October, but it is already supporting projects in Nigeria and the Philippines as well as Venezuela.

It has just launched a fundraising initiative for December :

My offer for this December fundraising initiative by @YouAreHope is to pledge to them one SBD every day in December.


Two Dollars A Day for December

I don't want to leave aside the other charities I support so as December is the month of good will and good giving I will be upping my A Dollar A Day to Two Dollars A Day.

So I will be giving one SBD each day in December to @YouAreHope and one SBD each day to one of the other charities.

I am not running this A Dollar A Day project to get others involved - it is more just my own personal experiment in giving.

I am posting about it for the purpose of transparency and to encourage me to stick to task.

However, if anyone does feel able to follow suit and also give a dollar a day, particularly during the month of December, I am sure @YouAreHope and all the other charities would be most grateful for your contributions.


If anyone knows of any other steemit based charities that might be appropriate do let me know. I am always on the look-out for new charities to add to my A Dollar A Day list.

Thank you and good giving.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 // YouTube videos from @schoolforsdg4 and @Malos10 ]

Sort:  

Thank your very much for your donation and support charities. I am so happy to learn about youarehope and glad to watch the video. I wish the very success of the project. You can also look at @Familyprotection run by @canadian-coconut and @markwhittam .

I am glad I can with the work at your school.

I will look into the work of @Familyprotection - thank you for letting me know about that.

Thanks you so much for all your contribution bro! what you are doing is having a real impact in someone's life.

I am happy I can help just a little bit. Keep up the good work.

You are a superhero @Pennsif ! An absolutely amazing superhero!

Thank you from all of us at YouareHOPE!

YouAreHOPE - Help, Opportunity, Purpose & Empowerment.

Yours In Service,
@SirCork
Founder @YouAreHOPE
Steem Witness

You are welcome. I am glad I can help.

Thank you!
I wish I could afford to give a $1 a day,but I try to help were I can.
I would love to see a pod of whales take up this idea.
I love the Idea and efforts of @YouAreHope,be nice to see them get more help.
Namaste!

Thank you for the resteem @jesse2you - every bit helps 😊

Yes it does! especially in places where $4 is a months wage for average person!
That is the real power behind this site!! the ability to help in those areas.
If we can just get the tech there and into there hands,and let them coordinate from/with/local leaves, grassroots .
"ohh all the shit post" the whales scream!...lol
;-)

Inspiring morning reading! steem on!

Thank you.

@fundraisers has resteemed this post.

@pennsif, I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Join the movement, read about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jackmiller/a-call-to-arms-beat-the-bots-the-movement

I have been thinking of starting a charity for a few different causes ; i am a very big supporter of Anonymous and i know that they host a number of charity events annually ; their latest one i will unfortunately not be able to partake in, which is on December 5th - # OpSafeWinter
They do not have a tag on this platform, but im sure if you google it ; it is sure to come up, but i would love to start some sort of event for charity !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51