Farm Update: Hoping for Fertilized Chicken Eggs

in #gardening7 years ago

We've still got chickens up here on the farm guys, despite our lack of recent updates save for my silkie update from a few days ago. We've got a good core set of birds that we've been building on and now we are to a point where we want to start breeding the ones we have for more birds.

This pretty guy is a rooster still yet to be named. He revealed himself to me the morning we took these photos and we decided immediately to put him in with two of my favorite hens to fertilize their eggs. These hens have literally been begging for some male interaction so they were happy. The whole time we held him outside the cage to take these photos they cackled from their enclosure excited.

We purchased this guy recently and I'm honestly glad we did. We have another rooster on the farm but he's huge and is aggressive towards me at this point so we're moving him around to hens also to fertilize their eggs. Once we've got some in the incubator we're honestly going to kill Roo and eat him. When we do, this rooster shown here will take over his role as the dominant rooster in our flock. His young age makes him more docile and easier to deal with.

I trimmed his wings before putting him inside, something always good to do because we live on the side of a mountain. Chasing chickens isn't easy on flat land, throw steep mountainside with boulders in the mix and some jungle and it's nearly impossible.

These are the hens in question, I call them both Brownie and they both yell at me for pets every day. They lay brown eggs and these are easily two of my most social and honestly beloved chickens we have on the property.

They didn't get along at first....

And at this point we've witnessed them do the deed, one can only hope the eggs I labeled today are fertilized. It takes about 24-36 hours after introduction to receive a fertilized egg if everything goes well.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Lily Gets Adorable Favorite Silkie Chicks
Farm Update: Chicken Imitates Judd Weiss with Awesome Feather Sideburns
Farm Update: Consistent Quail Egg and Chicken Egg Production

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Jungle Shots: Christmas Datura Blooms
Adventures Around Acapulco: @pauliepro Beach Adventures After Hot Girls
Jungle Shots: Rare Butterfly Pea Flowers Spotted

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Love the variety of topics upon which you post! Good luck with your eggs!

I hope it goes well! I've never had any of our chickens successfully lay on eggs to hatching. I was hoping of we get silkies, we might be able to.

That's one of the huge reasons I wanted silkies...and paid 60 dollars each for them. We have a small 7 egg incubator in the mean time but you can bet within a year if everything goes right I'll have a whole army of silkie hens instead of a fancy incubator LOL

Wow, I didn't know they were so pricey! Might be a nice side business to get into if you get your army growing :)

I wanna make Acapulco the silkie capital of Mexico...seriously. I will breed and sell :D

As a new silkie mom...I'm totally addicted. A little more than biased towards those fluffy little birds and their weird feet.

Lucky guy.
Great post!

great friends have a very good breeding his chicken.

Are these yours?

yes, we have 5 egg production chickens, 7 quail and ducklings, although they are soon to be sold because they already reach the consumption weight.

We live in the city of Mexico and have tried to have farm animals and some crops, all in our backyard.

For a long time I cultivate a beautiful marijuana plant, I do not consume it, but alcohol is great for relieving pain in the muscles, but neighbors saw the plant badly and better before problems, I put it in my room, but I end up dying

IMG 20150629 082305

pumpkin flower, for some delicious quesadillas!!!

Greetings from Mexico, I take this opportunity to tell you that I love your publications I follow you since last month when I joined the platform

Hey this is awesome, thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38