Jungle Shots: Rare Butterfly Pea Flowers Spotted

in #photography7 years ago

Sometimes I find really cool plants here that I just don't expect and this one is no exception. I actually had a friend smuggle the seeds for this plant (a different, less showy variety) so I could start harvesting the flowers for tea. Not only is it a highly medicinal tea but I can use it to make a really pretty kombucha, one that turns purple as it brews.

It's referred to as butterfly pea tea and it's made using the flowers of a pea plant that's very hardy in dry climates like ours is currently. It gives those bright blue flowers that are good for tea which is often compared to green tea in flavor.

I'm going to start these seeds soon but I'm also going to keep watering that plant and allow it to flower so I can harvest the flowers to make tea. I've got enough to do a test batch of kombucha, we shall see how it turns out.

For anyone interested, here's a link on butterfly pea tea

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Jungle Shots: Tiny Dragonfly
Jungle Shots: Poisonous Crazy Caterpillar
Jungle Shots: Cute Green lizard

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunset: Getting Ready to Fork
Mexican Beaches: Playa Bonfil
Classic Goat Cheese Cheesecake Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Looks like a Morning Glory plant, probably in that family of flower plants, but what do I know. lol

It's in the pea family. Morning glories are more related to sweet potatoes than these despite the similar flower :)

A beautiful, delicate flower... Reminds me of some of the beach flora we have here.

As a regular, rather mundane tea drinker, I find it interesting that you can make your own tea. I'd love to see a post on that from you in the future...

Oh you will, stay tuned ;)

Such a gorgeous flower. It would be perfect for the #saturdayindigo color challenge!

I have new photos to share that I might submit to that, thanks for the suggestion!

Thats a beautiful flower!

the plants are very good friends and could be a good benefit.

Natural mother always brings interesting thing :D

wooow so amazing photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33