SOME OF THE SEEDLINGS THAT ARE READY TO BE PLANTED

in #gardening6 years ago

image
We have a good amount of seedlings that are ready to be put in the ground. Started these plants at the end of last month

In the picture above there is 12 Swiss Chard. Chard is a cool weather plant. Germination can be spotty in temperatures above 80°F. One of my favorite way to eat Swiss Chard is to sauteed it.

image
These 12 seedlings are Romaine Lettuce. Like all Lettuce, Romaine does best in cool weather. If you have a shady spot you can stretch out growing Romain during the summer. Romain Lettuce forms a head of lettuce.

image
Here we have 6 Red Cabbage plants. There are many different ways you can eat red cabbage. You can sautee it, boil it, braise it or mix it in a coleslaw. Goes great with fish tacos! It grows best in Spring and fall.

image
These 6 plants are one of my favorite leafy greens. Blue curly kale. I like it in salads or straight off the plant. Like most leafy greens it is a cool weather plant but will grow through the summer.

image
In this picture there is 12 regular cabbage plants. Very similar in tast to the red cabbage. With red cabbage tasting a bit more earthier. You can cook them the same ways.

image
Last but not least I have about 30 broccoli seedlings. Also a cool weather crop. In the heat they will bolt and go to seed. So unless you're trying to save seed from them make sure you harvest before it gets too warm.

I will be planting these next week and I will definitely bring you all along with me and show you how I plant them and what it looks like after I'm done.

I'm also doing a giveaway to my followers. There is still time to enter! Here's the link.
https://steemit.com/contest/@hopfarmnc/doing-a-3-sbd-giveaway-for-reaching-300-followers-plus-a-gift-made-on-the-farm-to-one-lucky-follower

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!
FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

You can really write. I love your post @hopfarmnc (♥)

This gets me soo exciting for spring! I am a little behind you with mine, but yours look amazing! May I ask how you get your broccoli not "leggy"? For the past 4 years, I have been experimenting with my broccoli and every year including this year the young seedlings get so leggy. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

If you're using a grow light you need to get them pretty close to the light so they won't get as leggy.

I use a red/blue spectrum LED grow light. I will try that on my next round of broccoli. Thanks!

If the temp is to high it can make them leggy also.

Yes, I usually have them in higher temp to germinate and then I move them to a lower temp under the grow light. Would I still see germination at the lower temp I wounder?

Depends on the seed. But yes most likely. It will just take a little bit longer at a lower temperature. You could also not fill the trays all the way up with soil. Then when the plants get leggy you can fill it in the rest of the way and the stem will shoot off root.

Thanks for the tip! I usually end up potting up the leggy plants.

Oh, so did you use lamps on these plants in the post above?

I did. Along with a small heater.

I really enjoy seeing what other folks are planting. Its planting time here, but for the opposite end of the year

I really enjoy that part of steemit to you could just see what people are growing all over the world. Thank you for your comment!

Wow your plants look great! And only about 30 days old? I am wondering if mine are going to start exploding in growth soon or if I am stunting their growth having them in small containers.

Hmmm.

Thank you! Yes a bout 30 days old! I started them inside under a light with a small heater to trick them into thinking it was spring.

I finally have some space to start planting and a big stack of seeds, very excited! Is cabbage fairly easy to grow? Any tips?

It's easy to grow but hard to keep the bugs off.

Thanks. I'm located in North Florida. What plants should I start now? I hear lettuce, peas and spinach are good options

You just planted 0.23 tree(s)!


Thanks to @hopfarmnc

We have planted already 3379.19 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18641.01
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.78% upvote!
I was summoned by @hopfarmnc. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50