You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SOME OF THE SEEDLINGS THAT ARE READY TO BE PLANTED

in #gardening7 years ago

This gets me soo exciting for spring! I am a little behind you with mine, but yours look amazing! May I ask how you get your broccoli not "leggy"? For the past 4 years, I have been experimenting with my broccoli and every year including this year the young seedlings get so leggy. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sort:  

If you're using a grow light you need to get them pretty close to the light so they won't get as leggy.

I use a red/blue spectrum LED grow light. I will try that on my next round of broccoli. Thanks!

If the temp is to high it can make them leggy also.

Yes, I usually have them in higher temp to germinate and then I move them to a lower temp under the grow light. Would I still see germination at the lower temp I wounder?

Depends on the seed. But yes most likely. It will just take a little bit longer at a lower temperature. You could also not fill the trays all the way up with soil. Then when the plants get leggy you can fill it in the rest of the way and the stem will shoot off root.

Thanks for the tip! I usually end up potting up the leggy plants.

Oh, so did you use lamps on these plants in the post above?

I did. Along with a small heater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62