Sort:  

What an amazing and functional piece of artwork. Maybe you should go into business reproducing these. I know I would be interested in purchasing one to play with my family. Great post I'm glad I discovered you thanks to @curie! Following!

Since I have some older projects standing around anyway, I have indeed thought about selling some of my stuff. At the moment I'm looking for alternatives to eBay and Etsy, Peerhub and Openbazaar would be an option. I will definitely report on it. ^^
Thanks for your comment and following. :)

Congratulations @schabenstolz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks! :)

Hi @schabenstolz,

I love you using your craftsmanship to recreate an ancient game. Great post, fun to watch it come together.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Saturday evening (U.S. time, about 12-16 hours from now.) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Hello Gene aka. @randomwanderings,

I am glad that you like my post so much that I appear with it in the author showcase.

There is not much to say about me. I am a child of the 80s, I come from Germany and love to be creative. As I am always interested in new technologies, I also had to try out this Steemit that everyone is talking about. Even though the background processes are not very clear to me, I think this platform is great. Every day, I discover many new topics that inspire myself in my creativity or to think about topics that are not otherwise of interest to me. By writing my contributions, I hope to be able to give a little back to the Internet.
I was totally surprised that people find my "stuff" really interesting, commenting and even willing to reward me. Especially with the background that I translate my English texts up to ~ 73% with the help of an online translator. ^^ (btw. sorry for that :x)

Maybe some infos or photos from my Introduceyourself post are useable.

Regards,

Tim Schabe

Hello this is looking like a fun game to play i never heard about it before.

Hi, yes it's really fun to play. I think it's best compared to "Mensch ärgere Dich nicht".

Ganz ganz großes Kino. Du hast direkt mein Interesse geweckt ! Ich finde den bärtigen weißen Prof. aus dem Video ja grandios. Leider ist mein Englisch nicht so fest als das ich jedes Detail verstanden hätte...

Super Artikel, weiter so !

Grüße, Benny

Freut mich das der Artikel so gut angekommen ist.
Ja, der Professor ist echt sympathisch und macht wohl den Löwenteil der Beliebtheit des Videos aus.
Bezüglich der Sprache müsste ich mal schauen, ob man da wenigstens Untertitel anschalten und auch so dann verlinken kann. Auch sollte ich wohl nur deutschsprachige Texte verlinken (Regeln..), wäre zumindest für die Zukunft besser.

Dankeschön, Benny. Fürs Lob und die Anregung. :)

That's such an excellent project idea, reading this made me want to go make one right now when I haven't even read how to play the game yet. Nice.

Thank you very much. :)

Großartig! Danke sehr für den Bericht und dafür, dass Du Dich über die Produktion eines so ehrwürdigen Spieles drüber getraut hast :)

Das Spiel hat mich schon mehrfach fasziniert, aber nachdem ich hörte, dass man sich nicht sicher ist, wie es 'früher' gespielt wurde, hab ich's wieder sein lassen. Stimmt das etwa nicht? Du erwähnst hier ja, dass es mehrere Spielweisen gibt. Weißt Du mehr dazu (z.B. ob die Unterschiede regional oder zeitlich entstanden sind)?

Gerne doch. Freut mich das dir der Bericht gefällt.

In der Tat ist man sich nicht sicher wie es früher gespielt wurde. Die heute verwendeten Spielregeln wurden wohl größtenteils anhand einer 177 v. Chr. gefundenen Tontafel entwickelt. Aufgrund des Altersunterschiedes der Spielbretter und der Tontafel bezweifelt man jedoch das dies die ursprünglich gespielten Regeln sind. Mein Wissen diesbezüglich stammt auch nur aus dem verlinkten Video, des Links(Regeln) und dem entsprechenden Wikipedia Eintrag. :x

Übrigens toller Nutzername. :)

Ah gut, dann stimmt das wenigstens irgendwie, was ich gehört habe. Ein spannendes Bastelprojekt ist es allemal!

Danke bzgl. des Namens. Im Gegenzug darf ich meine Begeisterung für Dein Profilbild ausdrücken, haha. DA schaut man hin! :)

Stimmt und recht simpel auch noch.

^^ Dankeschön.

That is a rather intriguing game. Ding ding.... new project! I love the step by step, there is a lot you can do with a project like this. I made a chess board one time using alternate colored boards, that might be interesting to try with a board like this. Then the rules, just have to get all of that down, lol.

Glad the post inspired you. :D
Using alternate colored boards sounds interesting and would give the whole thing a more noble look. With the rules, I thought about burning them under the board. But then I did not do it, because I have too little experience with wood burning and it would have become very complicated.
However, I could well imagine a small roll of parchment for the rules, which then also fits into the bag.

It would be cool to burn the rules into the bottom in cuneiform from the tablet he had. Not that anyone could read it but it would be cool. Hmmmm, I wonder if they put a copy right on the game... lol

Great idea, I could well imagine cuneiform on the sides. Because of the different types of wood ... On Instructables, someone has recently built the game and realized that.

seriously, dang it. It always seems my brilliant ideas end up as someone else's ideas.....

Hi schabenstolz,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! You have sweetened the day of a little maker very much. I will look into your project. Thank you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75