Game Review | Dust : An Elysian Tail

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

It's your Blockchain Entertainer here for another review, today I will be reviewing one my favourite game, Dust: An Elysian Tail. Don't worry I will avoid being biased....or try to anyway

I know sometimes people think I am not a gamer but if your observe, you will notic this games are not 2016 - 2017 latest game.

Games like Mario and others like Sega are games I use to play. But being a steemian, I thought I should go back to those games and do a review.

The fact is that people still appreciate these games and will definitely search for a review on Google, bing and other search engines.
So if your have never seen or played this games before, just scroll down and kindly Upvote this post. Thanks


History

Dust was programmed and designed by just one man Dean Dodrill, he hoped it would take him Three and a half Months...

But took him Three and a half years to make it, especially with it being rushed because of a shorter deadline given to him by Microsoft, after rushed time and a serious bug fix, the game was released, with voice actors from multiple locations and a soundtrack by Hyperduck Soundworks.

The game first came out on Xbox 360 in summer of 2012, it came out on Steam 2013 and then PS4 2014, All download only, all N5000

Story

Okay you play as Dust, a character who had awoken with Amnesia, he only knows of his name through a talking sword that literally flew in from nowhere, along with a Nabbit called fidget who tags along with you only because she's the guardian of the sword and wants it back when you're done with whatever it is you're doing.

You later find out the emotional story behind it, but I won't spoil that, you will have to see for yourself.

Rating

The game is PEGI 12 for its violence, it's pretty much a hack 'n' slash, don't worry though, there's no blood but there is mention of death and use of the word "Damn".

Gameplay

Dust: An Elysian Tail is a Metroidvania side-scrolling Beat 'em up, you fight monsters with the Blade of Ahra (the name of the sword) it's all about exploration, it's not mandatory, but there are lots of goodies such as treasure and materials to upgrade yourself with armour and Sword upgrades....

I'll get back to that, the controls are absolutely perfect with direct button input and has full controller support on the Steam.

Likes

Almost everything! Music is absolutely amazing!!!
The Gameplay is fun, and the art style is absolutely gorgeous, and from one guy, that's pretty damn impressive.

Dislikes

Everything has its flaws, this is a nitpick, but they don't show how you have the armour on when you equip it, just that it raises your stats, that doesn't affect anything mind you, but you only use Ahra, it Would've been interesting if I could've used like a tomahawk or maybe for laughs a Cricket Bat or Rounders Bat.

I know that may be a nitpick as well, but I still wished I could've used more weapons.

Overall

Great game, definately one you should get, 9.5 out of 10

I know I'm missing some other info like level ups and side quests, but that isn't mandatory stuff to say as they could contain spoilers.


Source 1

Source 2

Video Source

Gif source


CHECK OUT MY PREVIOUS POSTS

Exclusive Video Game Review : Chibi-Robo! Zip Lash

Game Review : Ys Chronicles I & II

The Game Review : Sonic Colors for Wii

My Zappl contest entry

Confirmation Video and Ticket booking for Steemit In Nigeria Event tomorrow

The Game Outlook : Digimon Story of Cyber Sleuth


Thanks to @jodipamungkas for these badges


image

🎮Gaming Experience Contest #1🎮


What do you think of the game? Any info I left out? Please tell me in the comments.
It's your Blockchain Entertainer
@michaelcj

DQmQbGqMqhL71K8VuYEX6Yfd6CfEAek2GS2NUkV4zUyBy1j.gif

Sort:  
Loading...

The game seem exciting. I guess i would look out for it and download. Nice Review.

Thanks fam. I love your reviews too

I Liked your post, Keep it up brilliant!
Thanks for sharing the video with us.
I've resteemed your post!
please up vote this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44