No Man's Sky | Diary of an Inter-Galactic Traveller - 007 - New Multi-Tool or Bust!

in #gaming6 years ago

These are the records of the adventures I'm having in my favourite game right now, No Man's Sky. It is not only a beautiful game graphically, it is also one of a kind because of the technical innovation that went into making it possible to explore a near-infinite universe, with billions of unique planets. It also falls perfectly into my favourite genre fusion of art and science. I hope you enjoy it.

2018-10-04 13_54_51-Window.jpg
 
Previous entries:
Entry 001 - Entry 002 - Entry 003 - Entry 004 - Entry 005 - Entry 006


🌌 Dear Diary,

The urge to leave this star system grows in me, stronger each day, but I can't do that without first knowing how to build a warp engine onto my ship, which I suspect I'll only discover if I diligently follow the guidance missions that my suit never tires of reminding me about, in the bottom-right corner of my visor.

The next thing it wants me to do is build the Blueprint Analyser, for which I need Magnetised Ferrite and Carbon Nanotubes. Before I get to that, though, I decided I must have that new multi-tool in the trade building.

I had just under 350 000 units already, so I had another 400 000, more or less, to go. I felt like it would take forever to save up that much, but I was determined. I looked up at the sky, at the two other planets in the system, knowing that I would find valuable Albumen pearls in the eggsacs inside the caves of the dead planet "Itony Prime".

But I also knew there were monsters on the planet... Things that were in the dead soil and that I wouldn't be able to help disturbing... I was both dreading and very much looking forward to the trip.

I decided to wait for night to get a good night's sleep before setting off on that particular adventure, so I used the few remaining hour of daylight to do some scounting around. I remembered the building I had seen when I had first landed here, and starting walking in the general direction.

Before getting there though, I found a generous little patch of sodium plants and grabbed them all. I also ran into a small family of critters... Looked like a baby and parents. Sadly not the missing 7th species. Extremely cute, even with bulbous, radioactive sacs growing from their bodies.

After a few minutes, there it was... A building much more ancient than the trade terminal my ship is parked at. It had a couple of those smooth black obelisks on it, from which I learn Korvax vocabulary, one word at a time, but was otherwise quite boring, with a few broken pots strewn inside and around the dilapidated rooms.

I was about to leave when I noticed a strange humming coming from a structure at the foot of one of the double staircases. Approaching it and leaning over, the hum became louder, so I touched the surface. As I did so, it shifted, giving me a huge fright as I stepped back quickly.

It then sprang upwards, spinning and hovering in the air, and an eery voice filled my mind, though I don't think there was any actual sound coming from anywhere... Speaking of ancient times, in the end, I felt like it was pushing me between a choice of types of knowledge. I chose quickly, without thinking, and new coordinates appeared in my visor.

Curious, I decided to visit the coordinates, which were not far away, at least by ship.

At first, I got out and thought that there was nothing worthwhile there... Just the remains of another ancient building, this one far worse off than the first.

But then I got closer and noticed an extremely bright, shining orb on top of one of the ruins. I got up to take a closer look... It was so bright I could hardly look at it. It was like looking into the sun. Worse.

And as I hadn't seen anything like it, my thought was, hmm, it might be valuable, so I took it. And as I put it into my suit's inventory, suddenly I'm alerted that three sentinels are searching for me and I have mere seconds to get out of there.

I ran back to my ship without looking back. I hadn't been able to handle even one sentinel before - I didn't want to face three of them.

Happy to once again land back on the now familiar dock of the trade building, I got out and was about to go sell the orb (which in the end I decided to keep) when something I can't explain... Some little voice in my head bugging me ... Made me decide to scan the hillside near to where I built my base again.

And lo and behold, I found another 4 of those old tech modules buried underground! With three "salvaged technology" circuits in each. That made 15 altogether, a net worth of 750 000 units!

It was tempting to just stop right there, go sell them all, and buy myself my shiny new multi-tool.

But I have a thing for gratification delay, and was also looking forward to some treasure hunting on the dead planet, so I just sorted out my inventory to make sure I had space for future loot, then got in my ship and went to sleep.

The next morning, I felt amped and ready for adventure!

Before taking off out of the atmosphere though, I decided to finally check out the beacon on my visor that had been revealed to me by that computer terminal in the building over the hill, days ago.

I got to the site and found another of those odd, throbbing red orbs, exactly like the one I'd found at my own ship's crash site. I decided to broadcast again when given the option, and again it seems I may have told something somewhere that I was there. Nothing else happened though, so I shrugged it off and got on my way.


~~

As I rose into the outer layers of the atmosphere, I wondered what lay ahead... Not only on the dead planet, but also once I'd gotten out of this system... Will I discover who I am and/or where I come from?

On the way to the planet though, my thoughts were interrupted as I was once again hailed by pirates. I decided not to entertain negotiations and made short work of the mere two ships that came at me.

Upon reaching the dead planet, a patch of shining yellow sodium plants caught my attention so I landed near them. After having harvested them, I took a look around and very soon found another one of those "whispering eggs" which, when attacked, cause monsters with green eyes and sharp teeth to come out of the ground and attack.

So of course, I attacked the egg.

And out they all popped! About 7 or 8 emerald-eyed demons rose up and immediately attacked me. I destroyed the egg just in time to see something greenish-yellow and round roll away down the hill before running away fast. With the thinner atmosphere, it was difficult to run and my jetpack jetted me higher than usual. Even so, I got back to my ship and even managed to kill one before bunking down inside the cockpit until they got bored and buried themselves back underground.


~~

Once they were gone, I scouted back to try find the round egg thing I had lost, but no luck. It must have rolled into a deep crevice somewhere.

So I set off again, flying around randomly until I found another patch of those odd red floating cubes I had found before... Most of them "navigation data" circuits, but one "drop pod location data" worth more than 80 000 units!

I then started an hour long journey, scouting around my ship at about a radius of 500 metres. I found caves with nothing but toxic plants in them that threatened to explode noxious fumes into my face. Luckily I found plenty of oxygen-rich plants dotted all over the landscape, which kept my life support systems going...

And finally, on the edge of a cave hole, I found another whispering egg! ... Determined to get the precious yellow-green orb inside, I concentrated, made sure I knew where my ship was, and attacked again!

Of course, yet again, I was set on by a pack of the angry monsters... But I managed to pick the orb up before getting the hell out of there again. One of them bit my leg but my personal shield absorbed most of the pressure so I took little damage.

Again, I reached my ship and took off right away, this time circling back and taking a few shots at them, and accidentally clipping a curious sentinal that had been scanning them. Not good. I boost my engines and got far away.

And then I remembered the spoils and took a look at it... It was something called a "larval core", and despite it's terrible smell, was worth 61 000 units!

Before leaving the planet though, and going to get my well-deserved new multi-tool that I could now more than afford, I landed on a hill, got out, looked over the landscape and breathed in the fresh, recycled air of my oxygen tank, appreciating the view...

It may be a dead planet, but there is something about it's eery silence that I liked.

I then looked at the stars and decided I didn't like it that much when imagining all the other incredible worlds that must be out there waiting for me to stop being so silly and sentimental about where I've already been and to go out and discover them.

I'm on my way, worlds. See you soon.




A wild video appears! For those who like seeing the action minute by minute ;)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
ULOG: 007 - Floating | Andromedala - Gallery: Motifs | Chibera Writing Contest - My Character Selene
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook

Before using bidbots, consider that they are generally bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Do you do a video of the game then the story? I don't know how you remember everything that happened : )

Those Riddick monsters are dicks though. Nice move fucking up those pirates though.

Hehehe... Thanks ;P

Well, yes, I do a video first, as I'm playing, but you might notice a few incongruencies with what happened in the video and what I've written in the story. I mostly follow what happened but I like to add small details to make the reading more interesting, and sometimes don't put things in the exact order as they went down.

Thanks for watching! That makes two people that I know are interested, hehe (@thebugiq is the first). Encourages me to do more ^-^

Heyhey MandelSky, soooo fun. Hey, say blueprint analyzer for me 5 times real fast LOL. I think I would get a real charge out of watching you play live. The video is fun though. I enjoyed the whole thing from beginning to end and I'm so happy you got your new multitool.

I'm not sure if I would have been able to resist going for one more egg but the fact you can go back under better circumstances would have likely stayed my hand as well!! Looking forward to the next adventure! :D

Hehehe, indeed, must try out streaming to see if my connection if even going to let me. Maybe sometime today, if you'd be willing to be a test audience? =)

Once I install some offensive modules on my multi-tool, I'll not only go back and take on more green-eyed monsters, but also take on a few sentinels =D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 150 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You got a 36.87% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @mandelsage!

Congratulations @mandelsage! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54