"The Garden Kingdom" - Chapter 01 - Choose Your Own Adventure on Steemit!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I'm very proud to present the very first chapter of Steemit's first Choose Your Own Adventure series!

That is, I thought it was the first, until I wrote that sentence and then realised I should probably first do my homework and check if anyone else has done it... And yep, lol, of course they have 😋 ...

The two most interesting attempts I found were by @papa-pepper (two years ago!) and @justgoscha. The most similar to my idea was @justgoscha's, but he didn't have a pre-formed team of writers and instead counted on the participation of others.

@papa-pepper, on the other hand, really wanted to experiment with the gamification of Steemit, seeing all Steemians as new characters in a Steem Choose Your Own Adventure novel, and it was up to each character to decide their roles in the story... And of course, that's very much true, even now.

I believe my idea, however, is unique in that it will be very, very similar to the classic "Choose Your Own Adventure" books that I used to read as a young teenager.



 

Yes indeed, I've roped in my two friends, Snekky and Anya (@poeticsnake and @anyaehrim) to be co-writers in this venture. Together, we're going to work magic! As you can see in the image above, I'll be starting off the story with this first chapter. I will end it off with two choices for the reader, and Anya and Snekky will each take one of those choices and write the story further down that line.

And of course, each of them will end their respective chapters with another two choices, and so we'll go on... Of course, sometimes, the choices will simply take the story into different directions, but other times, perhaps, one choice will be a particularly bad one, and the following chapter will end in DEATH 💀

It will be up to the reader to see how the story will unfold... And of course, if they make a bad choice, they will be able to click back to the previous chapter and select the alternative, thus continuing the story. I'm not yet sure how many Death-choices there will be, but as you can imagine from the picture above, there's space for quite a few!

And now, without further ado... Let the story begin.

Sarah loved her backgarden. It was the envy of all her classmates. Their house was old, a fact Sarah had loved when they first moved there 2 years ago, and it had come with a huge back garden that had been left to grow wild.

It had obviously been very well cared for by the previous owners, with meandering pathways, stepping stones in the colourful garden beds, two ponds (a smaller one in the corner and a big one in the middle, sporting a beautiful stone water-feature - her father had fixed the pump) and majestic trees that looked hundreds of years old.

But now it was overgrown, giving it a different kind of beauty... The longer grass, untrimmed bushes, and plants growing willy-nilly wherever their seeds fell lent a sense of wild jungle to the garden, and Sarah delighted in it. It was her sanctuary.

After 2 years, she knew every rock and tree, every stepping stone, every flowering plant and bush. She had many secret hideouts in which she would read, play and often, fall asleep in. And being an only child, her imagination was as wild and rampant as her beloved garden.

The only thing she missed was how, when she first started exploring, she often used to get lost in the maze of pathways and garden beds... Not to mention the mini-maze itself, right at the back.

The thing she loved most of all, though, was staring out over the garden at night from her top-floor bedroom window.

The wondrous lights that appeared all over reminded her of a fairy kingdom, and indeed she imagined that there must be all sorts of fey creatures populating her garden, all secretly living magical lives, with their own joys and sorrows.

And it was on just such a night, as she stared lovingly at all her kingdom, that she decided she would sneak out of her bedroom and go to her favourite hideout: The hollow inside of the biggest tree in the garden, which she hadn't even shown to her friends... The access to it was small, which she hid easily with some bark.

It reminded her of Peter Pan's glorious tree hideout, even if it was much smaller, and sometimes when her parents were fighting, she'd go there and spend the whole day hidden.

She crept downstairs, careful to skip the steps she knew creaked, and got to the backdoor. Opening it without making a noise was a challenge because it was old and squeaky, but by nudging it very slowly, bit by bit, she managed.

The tree was on the other side of the garden, close to the maze, in the corner... With a thrilling feeling in her tummy and the deliciously cool grass (the only patch her father had bothered to mow) tickling her bare feet, she walked over, ready to enter her beloved garden at night for the first time.

She smiled as she thought about how mischievous she was being, and at the thought of creeping inside her home-away-from-home at this time of night.

Making her way slowly over the grass, and admiring the beautiful spectacle of the mysterious lights all over the garden, she suddenly felt a gut-wrenching floop! and the world around her changed drastically.

She turned about in fright... And turned again, and again, not understanding! Where had her house gone? And the garden? Why was the ground muddy and why did the air smell so richly of earth and rain? And what was that!?

A monster was approaching, that's all she knew...

So she ran. She ran until she couldn't see the monster anymore, and then stopped to catch her breath, leaning on... On something. What is this? And as she looked up and lets her wits catch up a bit, she realised that she was still exactly where she had been - on the grass. Except now, somehow, she was in the grass, and about as tall as the tip of a pencil!

"'That afraid of an ant, are you?"

Sarah whipped around at the voice, and saw... Peter Pan? Peter Pan??

"P.. P.. Peter Pan? Are you really...?"

"What? No! That's just silly... But don't change the subject. Who are you? I've never seen you before, which is odd, because I make it a point to see everyone."

"I'm... I'm Sarah. I live here. Except, I don't know what's happened... I'm not supposed to be out here at night, and now look! I'm so, so... So small!"

Sarah sat down on what must have been a tiny stone, though big enough to serve as a seat for her, and started crying. The panic had worn off and she now felt lost - truly lost, not like getting lost in her garden - and very frightened.

Not-Peter Pan didn't seem to care though.

"Wait just a second! ... You - it can't be... Are you the giant? The careless giant who sometimes wreaks havoc in the Kingdom?"

Sarah looked up, tear-stained and frowning, "Wreak havoc? And no, of course I'm not a giant! Can't you see I'm just a girl?"

But then it dawned on her, and she said, "Oh... Actually, yes, I think I am the giant... But wait.. Who are you?"

Not-Peter Pan said, "Well, I'm not Peter Pan, that's for sure. First, because he's way too famous, and I'm not. Second, because he's a he, and I'm not."

"You know about Peter Pan, then? But how - and wait, you're not a boy?"

"Nope!" not-Peter Pan said, with a wink. "Looks can be deceiving! I've cut my hair, and yes, worn this green cap, so I look boy-ish, but that's just so I don't get my hair all caught in things while I'm running about. The others are too vain to do it but then hey, they don't get to have as much fun as I do! My name's Dipity, by the way... But call me Dip! Everyone else does."

"Dip... It's nice to meet you, I guess. Excuse my crying please, but this is all very strange and scary for me... I just don't understand it! One second I was walking on the grass, next second I'm 2 millimetres tall, tripping in the mud! How could this even happen?"

Dip looked at Sarah quizzically and then suddenly got a surprised and sort of bashful expression on her face. "Uh-oh", she let out softly.

"What do you mean, 'uh-oh'? ... What?"

"Uhm.. Well, Sarah, I gotta say, it was wonderful meeting you, but I now just realised that... Uhm, that I left some cookies baking in the oven and my house has probably burnt down so I really should be getting along- OH, alright! I think it was me! No need to look at me with that expression!"

Sarah didn't think that she was looking at her with any kind of expression in particular, but she caught Dip's tone and thought she'd play along, "You mean...", she gasped dramatically, "You didn't!"

"I did, I did! I'm sooo sorry! It wasn't meant to hit anything! I do this kinda thing all the time - to practice, you see - and the spells usually just shoot harmlessly into the sky. How was I supposed to know you'd be right there in the way all of a sudden?"

"Wait... Oh gosh...! So you did this to me?"

Dip looked more abashed than ever and paced to and fro, looking at Sarah and gesturing, starting and not finishing a dozen excuses... Finally she said, "Look - yes, it was me and it's done now and I don't know how to reverse it! But I can help you, I promise! I'm the Princess's cousin! I just know her father will help us!"

Sarah looked at Dip and despite the resentment she felt for what she had done to her, she couldn't help but like her too - with her large, expressive eyes and rather pretty, hopeful smile. She had a million questions though. Cousin of the Princess? So there's a King and Queen? So, her garden kingdom really was... A Kingdom?

Much to Dip's surprise, Sarah suddenly jumped up and yelled joyfully, "I knew it! Oh man, I knew it! I saw all the lights at night and conjured up what I thought were crazy ideas of fairies and goblins living in my garden, and look! It's true! All true!"

"Oh, I'm not a fairy, thank you very much, and I'm definitely not a goblin! I am a pixie, of course."

"A pixie! Well, yes, I see! You don't have wings! A pixie!" Sarah was smiling now, from ear to ear, her own problems temporarily forgotten. "So, you're the Princess's cousin. Can I meet the Queen? And see the great tree castle?"

"Hold on there... Again, not a fairy. The Great Tree is the home of all Fairykind. The Pixie Royals are all over at the Great Falls, in the middle of the lake."

"The Great Falls? ... Oh, the water feature! Ok, I see..." said Sarah, trying to hide the disappointment from her voice. She had always loved the fairies, in all her lore books. They were the nobler, fairer kind. Pixies were known to be full of mischief, even rude sometimes, and were often looked down upon by their fairy brethren.

But here was Dip, a Pixie, offering to help her out of the fix Dip herself had put Sarah in. She seemed very nice too, despite what Sarah's lore books said.

It was an important decision... Go long with Dip, or instead, ask her nicely if she wouldn't mind taking her to the Great Tree instead, and ask the fairies, with their own powerful kind of magic, to help her.

Dip was watching Sarah as she thought, and finally said, as though reading her mind, "I know what you're thinking - and I can't blame you. We pixies have somewhat of a reputation, whereas the Fairies are just oh-so-perfect, and know it! It's really up to you... Honestly, I wouldn't mind taking you to the fairies. Unlike most Pixiekind, I have a few fairy friends too."

Sarah was glad to know that her new friend would be okay with either decision - goodness knows she needed a friend and guide right now. But what to do?


If you want Sarah to go see the Fairies, click here.

If you want Sarah to go see the Pixies, click here.


If the above links do not work, fear not! That just means the next part of the story has not been written yet. Patience, young padawan! ;)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
No Man's Sky - Diary of an Intergalactic Traveller - 002 | "Coralflake" - Gallery: motifs | ULOG: Talking Into The Future - 002 - Job Change?
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images except top image found on Pixabay.com
Dividers found here: Designed by Freepik

Before using bidbots, consider that they are generally bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

One word for you. Excellent!

Esteem on :)

Thank you Jadeline! ... I take it you are part of the eSteem team? .. Loving the app so far. I'm using the desktop version.

Just to let you know that one of the options for Sarah's continuation is complete! Go see Anya's post to find out what happens after choosing to go see the Faeries! ;)

The only thing that is bad about this situation is waiting to see what will happen next. I think I am going to go check if there is a part two yet.
Maybe there will be some great fairy or pixie adventures before the end.

I'm very glad you enjoyed it =) and you'll be glad to know that one of the links is now working ;) ... @anyaehrim has finished her part of the story.

Yes! I am very happy to know that. Thank you for the update. The only bad thing about fiction on Steemitt is I am really impatient when it comes to wanting to read more. 🙃

Cracks her fingers and puts them to the keys.

That is such a beautifully written piece! What a fun adventure Sarah will be embarking on, I hope she explores and enjoy all of it

I love how you described the garden, it is just so amazing! I was actually picturing myself in somewhere like that.

Thank you, Audrey! That means a lot because I have written practically zero fiction.

Indeed, this kind of garden is the sort I wish I had had growing up. There was one house in the many moves we had that had something almost like it, and as I was very young, I pictured it quite like I described here, hehe.

I'm really looking forward to seeing where the story goes too! =)

Wow! You had something similar to that? It must have felt really great having that around. I really wish I had that too while growing up!

For someone who have written practically zero fiction, you did a great job with that!

Just to let you know that one of the options for Sarah's adventure is complete! Go see Anya's post to find out what happens after choosing to go see the Faeries! ;)

Great! I will be sure to go read that and live my comment!

What a very clever idea! Bravo for coming up with this and implementing it!

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you very much KittyGirl! <3

Love your very colourful and wide reaching imagination. Gonna see how this story goes.

Thank you @solcross! ... I'm also going to enjoy seeing where it goes, hehe. We three writers aren't going to consult each other much about how we're going to continue the story each chapter so it ought to be interesting.

Just to let you know that one of the options for Sarah's adventure is complete! Go see Anya's post to find out what happens after choosing to go see the Faeries! ;)

Hi mandelsage,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @mandelsage! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63