Is Low Carb Good For You? Is It Sustainable?

in #gallerani6 years ago

In my last post I showed you all a t-bone steak and veggie meal that I made because I'm low-carb dieting right now. I wanted to follow-up on that with a little info on why I low-carb diet because I feel like it's some needed context..

It can actually be quite unhealthy to eat a lot of steak when you're on a regular diet that's filled with carbs. The times when I eat a lot of steak (like in that post) are when I'm keeping the carbs low and the fat high.

I like to cycle in and out of a low carb and high carb diet regime every 3-5 weeks or so because it provides a lot of health benefits.

In addition I also do intermittent fasting for some added benefits as well.

I've found that doing "keto" and IF at the same time provides me with:

  1. Mental clarity - especially in the mornings before eating
  2. Sustained focus - I don't feel that post-lunch crash that most people feel after a carbed up meal
  3. Better mood - I feel so much happier and in a sense "lighter on my feet" when I'm following this cycle
  4. Weight loss - this is the big one for most people and yes, I do lose weight doing no carb and eating tons of steak and avocados!!
  5. Better gym performance - I love working out and I think everyone should be doing it. No carb and IF give me better results in the gym.

Those are just a few of the reasons why I love doing this cycle so much and why I think it can benefit many others. Just remember that you should follow what your body tells you and try anything with caution. Trial and error have been my best friends in fitness and nutrition!

Sort:  

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

smartsteem upvote in the amount of $60.77 STU, $62.96 USD.

For a total calculated value of $61 STU, $63 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $15 USD.

@gallerani, you may opt-out of transparencybot messages by simply replying to this comment and using the tag #TBopt-out. Click here to learn more.

barbeque...hmmmm..i love to eat barbeque chicken,,,,,

barbeque chicken is always good!! I prefer hot barbeque sauce over the milder and sweeter stuff!

Ketogenic Diet + Fasting is a powerful combination. Paired with exercise, even better.

There are differences between being on a ketogenic diet and living low carb.

One should still eat a lot of greens.

I lost "half my size" by getting rid of the toxins in my food and eating "clean." I removed, gmo's chemical additives, colors, flavors, pesticides, hfcs and the like. I also removed toxins from my beauty, cleaning and laundry supplies at the same time. This made a huge difference in my life and allowed me to say goodbye to 135 pounds almost eight years ago. It have never come back.

I eat low carb now, and find it works pretty well. Most of my meat is organ meat or fish. The carbs I eat are normally before I'm going to sleep and act like a sleeping pill now. No wonder I was so sluggish on the pizza and pasta diet I used to eat.

I've heard of the IF idea, but haven't really tried it. I usually only eat a once or twice a day when hunger calls. I never even know what hunger was when I was obese.

What do you eat on the high-carb diet? I don't know if I could do that now, but you never know.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

aww outlook not so good... I'm not so sure that's accurate when you're following a well balanced low-carb diet!!

Honestly I don't think this is the good way.
At the end the main thing is to balance the food consumption and energy expenditure.
It is not very easy thing to do because you have to calculate your meals and you have to eat good quality food and train in the predetermined time.
Diets like this one are disbalancing the homeostasis. Body is just adjusting to the new situation redistributing the nutrients to keep the homeostasis.
The catch is in the following
Proteins can be transformed into the Fats
Carbs can be transformed into Fats
Fats are Fats
Proteins can be transformed into the Carbs but Fats can't be transformed into the Carbs
Proteins are building blocks your body and it is essential to keep the balance all the time to prevent Liver working over-time
Carbs are energy
Fats are energy
Fats and Carbs are transformed into ATP the only energy of the body
Fats have much more energy then Carbs but Fats can't be burned without the Carbs
Fats are burning on the fire made by Carbs
No Carbs no energy for the body
That is the whole science :)
It not possible to diet and know how is your body maintaining the homeostasis. There is no machine or person to confirm the positive influence.
Professional athletes are never dieting.
Diet like this one is just media frenzy of the expanding fitness industry lead by the mediocrities.
People are going to the 3 month courses and they are eligible to recommend things to the people. All for the dollar.

Totally agree! You've got a lot of great information here. I recommend anyone interested in nutrition to read it!

Exactly paparodin!! Keto+fasting can be a great way to be healthy... add some exercise and you'll be one of the healthiest among us!!

very delicious have a great day my friend

thank you, have a great day as well!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @gallerani! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59762.43
ETH 2663.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41