Fruits & Veggies Monday #35: "Spicy Rasta Ital Soup"steemCreated with Sketch.


For a taste sensation in soup form I urge you to make it Rasta-style because oh my goodness, this is the best soup I ever tasted!  You may have seen my recent post - "For Good Health, Eat Like A Rasta! -  "Ital is Vital" - in which I talked about their absolute respect for their bodies and health... eating only natural wholefoods free from artificial, processed or refined ingredients.  They don't even add salt to cooking but instead conjure beautiful flavours using their skills with herbs and spices.  (Seriously, the more I learn about the Rastas the more I love them!  A people of good health and good music!)


So I was flicking through an e-book I downloaded recently and noticed there were a few recipes in it, so I thought why not try one of them out?  I almost had all the ingredients... Only I substitited callaloo with spinach, and scotch bonnet with chilli, as unfortunately on the north-west coast of Ireland we're not well stocked in Caribbean ingredients.  Oh well, this is absolutely delicious despite that, and I urge you all to try it too!



Ingredients:


4 potatoes

3 carrots

1 sweet potato

1/2 small pumpkin

300g spinach (traditionally callaloo if you can find some!)

2 onions

1 red pepper

4 medium tomatoes

3 bulbs garlic

400g chickpeas

100g red lentils

400ml coconut milk

2 tsp black pepper

1-2 tsp chilli flakes

2 tblsp paprika

2 tbslp parsley

1 tblsp thyme


To Serve with the Soup:


For a bread recipe please see: Easy VEGAN Rosemary & Hemp Seed Mini Flat Breads

For a scone recipe please see: Spelt & Almond Scone Stars


Diections:


Slice and dice all your veggies into bite-sized pieces in any style you like. 



Chop the spinach as small as you can... unless you don't mind big limp leaves floating in your soup!



No need to pre-cook the lentils... just throw them in the pot along with all the other ingredients.



Pop into the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 3 hours until all the veg is soft enough to eat.  Give it a good stir... and serve!  (I always find soup tastes even better the next day after it's been sitting overnight, and the consistency is always better then too).  



Serve with freshly baked bread or scones.  Yummy!



Many thanks to @lenasveganliving for continuing to host this wonderful weekly contest!  For inspiration and details how to join in, please see Lena's post here.
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

A pleasure to read such an exquisite post, a real art! congratulations! happy week!!!

It's a pleasure for me! greetings!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @pusteblume
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

This soup looks so rich. Major comfort food, especially with warm bread ;)
Well done!

Yes, perfect comfort food! Nothing beats soup and bread straight from the oven :-)

Wow! What a great soup you made!!! Really when I saw the chickpeas I thought that you made a Moroccan soup! It looks so healthy!

Yes, the Rastafaria are super healthy, they only use natural fresh wholefoods, no additives or anything harmful. This soup is spectacular! Actually very similar to Moroccan food with the chickpeas... maybe there is some Moroccan influence in their cooking... would be interesting to find out! Thanks @creativewoman :-)

Looks and sounds great! We have something similar called lecsó in Hungarian.

Ah, that's interesting, I will have to check it out. I know very little about Hungarian food, you will have to educate me!

😊 you find tons of recipes online

Oh! Nice. I like this recipe so much. I will try to make it tomorrow. Realy, I will try to get test of this recipe. I hope next time we will get more tasty recipe from you. Thanks a lot for sharing this to us.

Many thanks @aminur87. It's such a delicious soup you're guaranteed to enjoy it! :-)

That is so true Joanna, soup always tastes better the next day, especially flavorful lie this one. Definitely, my kind of soup............if I was living next door, I would be coming for dinner my Dear, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

If you lived next door I'd be constantly popping round to admire every meal you made! I'd love to cook for you though... maybe one day, you never know!

We would be so much fun Joanna and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
2.png

Oooh thanks very much!!! I pass the congrats onto the soup haha :-)

I am as happy as you are Dear Joanna 🌸💖🌸

Yumm this soup is such a great comfort food! So many delicious veggies in there, I'm sure it tastes really good! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

Thank you! In my view if you're making a big pot of soup you may as well get as much goodness into it as you possibly can!

I am sure, I would love eating this!

I'm sure you would @pusteblume! I just had some again for my lunch... soooo good!!!

And thank you for the tip!!! :-)

i love ital cooking and the spirituality behind it, looks yum!

They are my new healthy food heroes! I too love their approach to food and wellbeing, and they have a real talent for flavouring dishes :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17