Easy VEGAN Rosemary & Hemp Seed Mini Flat Breads (Original Recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.


Although I regularly post vegan recipes I always forget to enter them for #veganwednesday, but this time I've remembered and am giving myself an applause!  It's a strange thing, since I'm good pals with @heart-to-heart who hosts this wonderful contest.  Perhaps I'm distracted with all these spectacular food posts she keeps dazzling us with!  


Anyway, many thanks to Heart for encouraging healthiness as well as vegan-ness, because like Heart I only eat and promote real foods free from artificial, processed and refined ingredients.  This is a subject close to my own heart, because through cutting out these harmful things from my diet and replacing with 100% natural whole foods, I restored my health and feel great!  No IBS symptoms for 5 years now, and a vast reduction in fibromayalgia symptoms too.  


I have a two-and-a-half-year-old son as well who is in excellent health... he's never tasted sugar, never eaten anything processed or artificial, and has never met his doctor yet!  A mere coincidence?  I think not!  Every few days I bake for him a homemade healthy snack... he loves breads and scones... So here is a recipe which I hope will please those of you who liked the look of my 'non-vegan' breads/scones I posted last week and were wondering how to make a vegan version!


Ingredients (organic recommended):


300g wholewheat flour

4 tblsp hemp/olive oil

75g hemp seeds

2 tbslp dried rosemary

1 tsp baking soda

200ml warm water 

(for baking I use rainwater that I collect, filter & boil)


Directions:


Grind up the hemp seeds - I use the coffee grinder attachment on my blender.



In a large bowl add the oil to the flour, and rub in using your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.



Add the ground-up hemp seeds, baking soda, rosemary and water, and use your hands to mix it all together to form a firm dough.



Knead for a few minutes on a lightly-floured surface to make the dough lovely and smooth.



Roll the dough out to about 0.5cm thick, and cut out rounds with a pastry cutter.



Place the rounds onto a lightly-floured baking tray, and pop into a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 12 minutes.



For details how to join in the #veganwednesday contest, please see @heart-to-heart's contest post here.


For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

I hear you. Always forget to add the tag VeganWednesday (and actually makeithealthy) too. It seems that I never can pick which one to enter as I do not want to overload the tag but then I always forget hehe. Thanks for reminding me to add these to my next post! And I agree @heart-to-heart is another fantastic and inspiring woman. Love the flatbreads btw.

Thank you! My husband loves flatbreads often with his dinners, when we eat things like curry or bolognese, so I have to keep both my boys in constant supply of delicious breads and snacks! Love feeding boys... it's the way their eyes light up to be fed, like feeding time on the farm haha :-)

Haha. I know what you mean <3

@amy-goodrich you can always enter my contest in combination with anything you want, I have no problem at all about that so don't you worry about flooding my tag, I welcome it <3 especially from you! <3

I love you ladies! We're rocking the healthy recipe train here ;)

ღ ღ ღ hope to have some more time for steemit (and to flood your tag) in near future. Bakery/coffee shop/health cafe are becoming very real all of a sudden ;)

This must taste really good @woman-onthe-wing. Such a real filipino food.

Yes, they taste great! Thank you @nielfid :-)

thank u for teach as to cook .... this image gift for u
s2.png

That's sweet, thanks very much :-)

Wow! You are my new hero! First, they look and sound amazing, second the recipe looks fairly easy to follow, and last but not least you made these with your collected rainwater! My mind is blown! I’m definitely going to take a shot at these this weekend, thank you!

I'm delighted to receive such enthusiasm, thank you @nicolelang!!! Yes they are super easy and tasty... You can eat them as snacks or to accompany a meal, with or without a topping... very versatile. I started collecting rainwater when I moved to the area of Ireland I live in currently... the water here has so many chemicals in you can literally smell it - yuk! And a 5L bottle of water costs 2 euro, so by collecting rainwater we save 15-20 euro per week, which makes a huge difference to our budget! I hope you enjoy your bread... let me know how it turns out if you think of it :-)

Hi dear! Those flat breads looks so tasty! And the ingredients so simple, and available in every home. Thank for this yummy recipe.

Thank you again @creativewoman! Yes, I try to give recipes that use standard ingredients rather than anything too fancy. You and I are "bread buddies" it seems! haha :-)

This looks wonderful. Major comfort food ;) Homemade bread is my weakness so when you post these recipes I salivate hehe. Resteeming this one! (Do you think gluten free flours would work for these as well?)

Hmmmm.... I may have to get back to you on that one @birdsinparadise after I do a little experimenting! I just realised... are you vegan or vegetarian? The GF scones I mentioned aren't vegan and now I'm thinking "Oh heck!" because I'll have to get back into the kitchen and bake some GF vegan scones for you as well as bread!!!

No, plant based for the most part but I do eat a bit of animal protein here and there, moving more vegetarian each day...my daughter is gluten, dairy and sugar intolerant and I am always trying to find excellent bread recipes for her (plus I prefer it as well) No worries, you are sweet, just thought I would ask the expert! :) Thanks my friend!

I love a challenge @birdsinparadise, and if ever I can help out with some recipes I will do my very best!

You are a foodie like me! :) Thank you! I love to cook! Now that the kids are grown....I cook way too much lol

Delicious! Can't wait to try this. Pleased to be slowly "meeting" other health people. I love herbs and spices in bread type snacks. My favourite is coriander with a dash of honey. It's my go-to flat bread snack. (PS your shared 5 C's is also great)

Thanks very much @buckaroo! Oh yes, there are so many wonderful healthy foodies on Steemit to meet... I have been here more than 18 months now and probably meet a new healthy person at least once a day! Your bread with honey & coriander sounds yum, I will have to try it out for myself :-) Bread is so easy to flavour and there are an endless variety of flavours to keep us in tasty bread for all our days!

Yes, the 5 Cs are great! @kiwideb has given permission for anyone to share them if you feel you want to as well!

Amazing recipes and procedures, in fact, I however love the way you line them up, it's so many details im going to follow this up really.
fantastic blog once again

Thanks so much! I'm delighted you like my style :-) I do try to make things easy for people to follow if they want to make my recipes. I think I actually prefer this bread to the version I do using butter... the crumb seemed to be 'lighter' and they taste lovely! I hope you enjoy them if you make them!

Yes, the fact that they're well detailed and explanatory makes it more appealing, I find cooking or baking or making food very complicating, but your blog makes it seem like ABC

That's a lovely compliment, thanks very much! :-) :-)

Yumm these look amazing!! I love rosemary flavoured things :) Thank you so much for the recipe.

And thank you for your comment @nina.ser! By the way, I love your parfait recipe you posted last week and have chosen it as my 'Recipe of the Week' for issue #6 of the Make It Healthy Magazine. Will be posting later today or tomorrow! You also take such beautiful photos, they're a real pleasure to admire :-)

Woww thank you so so much, it really means a lot to me!! Can't wait to see it :)

AJ picked your post @woman-onthe-wing for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thanks very much @ajala, what a honour to be chosen for your post! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50