FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY - MATOA, FRUIT FROM PAPUA

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hello Foodies and eSteemians 😉

It's monday and time to expose your fruits and veggies for #fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated by @lenasveganliving and if you want to know what and how, make sure you read this 👉 Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition Week 63

image
Matoa, though it is spesifically from Papua, but we have it all over Indonesia, now😉


Can you imagine eating Durian in form of Lychee or Rambutan? If you can't.. then you should try this fruit😄. Its scientific name is pometia pinnata. Some people would call this taun tree, tava, island lychee, matoa, cow wood, leungsir,etc. Pinnata came from the size and type of its leaves.

image
now it's available in super market too


You will find that not many complete information about this fruit. Matoa was only grows at the eastern part of Indonesia. The tree is tall, could reach 18 metres height or more. But we can find the trees grow anywhere in Indonesia, because it needs dry soil to grow, with a lot of rains too.

image
we have the tree in our neighbourhood


This seasonal fruit only produces fruit once a year, the flowering time would be from July to October and then the fruits would be available for the next 4 months. The colors range of this fruit is green, yellow to dark red.

image
the size is 1.25 - 4 cm, it skin's is like a passion fruits skin and edible fleshy arils


The Papuanese known 2 types of Matoa, Matoa Kelapa and Matoa Papeda. I ate those 2 types😉. The Matoa Kelapa or coconut matoa has thicker meat, big as rambutan and a bit like "Rambutan Aceh" taste.. 😂😂 you can't imagine how sweet is Rambutan Aceh if you've never eat one. The Matoa Pepeda is more like lychee or longan with durian's taste, smaller and thin arils also a bit sticky. Well.. my little sister has the matoa pepeda's tree and Adam my nephew loves matoa so much and he would refused to leave home when the harvest time😂.

image
here, when we open the fruit, I bite the outer skin in the middle and then open it up


This one is Matoa Kelapa type, big fruit and so sweet. I know the different betwen those 2 types from its look and size then the taste. According to some article, further research still needed to examine the benefit of this fruit, but this is a good source of Vitamin C and E also Dietary Fiber.

image
the taste is sweet, juicy, fresh and sweeeett😁


It has seed that really look like lychee and durian seeds. Some people use the seeds, dried it up and make tea with it as a blood pressure medicine. The Vitamin E and anti-oxidant in this fruit also believed as a good source for skin care and health.

image
the seed


I haven't tried to create any recipe with this fruit, never have a chance for sure😂 I bought 500 grams for 47K IDR equal to $3 USD, we will eat it all within few minutes😊. Perhaps, when I get a free Matoa from any neighbours, I can do something like Matoa Salsa, dried matoa or Matoa Salad or anything else😊.

Papua and Aceh is thousands miles away from each other, but the Papuas have a fruit which taste like Rambutan Aceh😊, isn't it amazing? A fruit with 3 other fruits flavours, God is Great!

image
this picture was taken a week ago, I hope that I could taste it fruits when it ripe, but I doubt it 😂 the tree is belongs to other neighbourhood😊


Ps: @puravidaville 😉 if you're in Indonesia between December to March, you'd have a chance to taste this fruits😊

Thanks for stopping by 😉 and This post is created for #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving and Happy Monday!

Sort:  

I am amazed again, with another extraordinary fruit that to you brought to our table my Dear. The taste sounds truly delicious, based on your description it. I only hope, someday I could try 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

I really wish that with 30k new trees planted in East Java, they could export this fruit to other countries too, so who knows it will be availabble somewhere close to you @lenasveganliving ..and do you have any recipe made of lychee? So I could try with this fruit?

I really hope they would be available here soon and I think I would eat them just the way they are; no need for recipe my Dear :)

You never disappoint with showing me something new! I would love to try these! It's amazing how many different types of fruits there are out there. :)

thank you @plantstoplanks .. I'm not good on cooking and I love fruits the most, so.. this is all I have around me, unique fruits from my own country or neighbourhood. I love to share it with you and others on Steemit and this fruit is one of hundreds fruits that haven't got any complete and good exposure to the world, yet. if you can't stand the smell of durian but you want to know how it's taste like.. Matoa is the best fruit!

We don't have this fruit in India but want to eat this one. Lychee is my favorite in summers. Yummy and so tasty. Thanks for sharing the info about this fruit.

Posted using Partiko Android

This fruit would grow on 1200 m above the sea level, but .. it likes dry soil and thick land with lots of rain. If you happened got the seeds (with the fruits too) you can try to grow it in your mountain ...

Sure @cicisaja, will give it a try whenever I found the seed. I am on 1550m, I think the altitude will be perfect for it. Have a nice day.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think it would save on that altitiude 😂 just add the "Puncak Jaya" in Papua as your next summit, you'll find it grows anywhere in the forest before the mountain. How's paragliding goes?

Weather is bad since last two days. It is snowing above 4000 meters. How is weather at your place?

It's raining here..almost everyday but not the peak season yet. At least the children still loves tge ice cream though 😂 and look at this man... he's looking for fishes from the drainage after the rain

image

Ohh, here too its raining on 1550 m altitude. I love to have ice-cream. Really they are looking for fishes?. cool job

They're doing that for hobby I think and look what they got!

image

And you're not gonna believe this😂 someone bought all those fishes!

Every time you show us, at least me, something totally new, and that's just amazing! If I ever visit Indonesia, I'll have to write a list of things to taste! 😋

Me too @jasmink 😊 even as an Indonesian, I always get amazed by the fruits that I never found in my hometown😉 and yes you should make the list to be able to find it in the right season😄 anyway.. do you know what to do with this one?

image
pepino, I don't know how it taste

Is it just me or do you also get this feeling of excitement when you see a fruit or vegetable that's totally new and you have no idea how it looks inside or how it tastes? I'm even excited for this pepino fruit, and it's not even mine, haha! Did you eat it like that or used it in something, I'm curious to know! 😄

I didn't buy it at that time because I don't know what is it😊 but If I find it next time.. I'd like to try.. never seen or ate it before.

Next time then 😊

I found it @jasmink.. It taste like mild cucumber but in the form of melon flesh.. do you think tzaziki would do😯 with it. I eat it fresh before.. Gosh, you made me bought it 😂

Haha, seems like I'm good at persuading people, not that it would've been my aim though! 😂 Anyhow, I'm glad you solved the mystery! Pepino tzatziki, sounds so fancy and international, why not give it a go 😊

I grew pepino melons one summer! But smaller ones. I was curious because it was supposed to be a melon flavor. But it wasn't! It tasted like a mild cucumber. They were fun, a little bite-sized cucumber! (But not as crispy in texture, they were slightly soft.)They grew like a cucumber too, with long vines, small delicate leaves but it grew into a monster plant! I had to grow it on a trellis to keep the fruit out of the dirt and easy to pick. It was fun to grow but not good enough to grow again!

You will have to tell us if you ever try these melons!

image

Out of curiosity😊 I bought it! And it is taste like mild cucumber but softer like melon.. uhhmm, smoothie would be a good choice to proceed this fruit😅 but I already eat one and I like it though. Now, Im thinking about making pickles with it 😆

Thank you @donna-metcalfe for your information

Then they are a big sister to the ones I grew! I would vote for pickles over smoothies. The flavor is so mild it would disappear with other fruits in a smoothie. But as a nice pickle they would stand out!

I have 2 pepino @donna-metcalfe 😉 one for pickle and another one for tzatziki.. something I read from @jasmink and I wonder how it taste

Tzatziki - is that something usually made with eggplant? Or should I be thinking cucumber salad? Either way it sounds interesting!

I like the Matoa Kelapa one... because I don't like durian, I'm such a disgrace for a proper South East Asian man. Lol.

Aaahhh don't worry about durian taste in matoa papeda though.. you just don't like the smell of durian but you'd like the taste.. and it's okay for a SEA man doesn't like durian 😉 you just missed out the chance to enjoy the delicious fruit in the world.. hahaha..
4 of my 8 soblings don't like durian too.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you.. thank you.. thank you.. and Thanks a bunch!

Congratulations @cicisaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I would like to eat them all :)

We can buy it more @proanima and then eat them all or try some of your fruits recipe with it 😉 you're most welcome to enjoy matoa with us

Yay! Then I’ll definitely try it out. I’m so excited to see and taste fruits I’ve never even heard of before. Thank you for always keeping me in the loop @cicisaja! It’s nice to see the fruits of your country :)

You are most welcome @puravidaville 😉 you can add this one on your exotic fruit list to taste while you're in SEA😉 I think that I made this post for you 😊 and steemit's #fruitsandveggiesmonday just a right place to share it.

The perfect place to share it 😊. Thank you @cicisaja.

Hello @cicisaja. I haver seen this fruit yet. I doubt if we have this kind of fruit in the philippines. Does it taste the same like longan?

Yes @sherylneil.. I hope that this tree grow somewhere in mindanao though 😉 the nearest place to eastern Indonesia. This is native to Papua. Sometimes we said this is papua's longan. But imagine that you eat durian in form of longan and rambutan.. that's how it taste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56