Sort:  

Me too @jasmink 😊 even as an Indonesian, I always get amazed by the fruits that I never found in my hometown😉 and yes you should make the list to be able to find it in the right season😄 anyway.. do you know what to do with this one?

image
pepino, I don't know how it taste

Is it just me or do you also get this feeling of excitement when you see a fruit or vegetable that's totally new and you have no idea how it looks inside or how it tastes? I'm even excited for this pepino fruit, and it's not even mine, haha! Did you eat it like that or used it in something, I'm curious to know! 😄

I didn't buy it at that time because I don't know what is it😊 but If I find it next time.. I'd like to try.. never seen or ate it before.

Next time then 😊

I found it @jasmink.. It taste like mild cucumber but in the form of melon flesh.. do you think tzaziki would do😯 with it. I eat it fresh before.. Gosh, you made me bought it 😂

Haha, seems like I'm good at persuading people, not that it would've been my aim though! 😂 Anyhow, I'm glad you solved the mystery! Pepino tzatziki, sounds so fancy and international, why not give it a go 😊

I grew pepino melons one summer! But smaller ones. I was curious because it was supposed to be a melon flavor. But it wasn't! It tasted like a mild cucumber. They were fun, a little bite-sized cucumber! (But not as crispy in texture, they were slightly soft.)They grew like a cucumber too, with long vines, small delicate leaves but it grew into a monster plant! I had to grow it on a trellis to keep the fruit out of the dirt and easy to pick. It was fun to grow but not good enough to grow again!

You will have to tell us if you ever try these melons!

image

Out of curiosity😊 I bought it! And it is taste like mild cucumber but softer like melon.. uhhmm, smoothie would be a good choice to proceed this fruit😅 but I already eat one and I like it though. Now, Im thinking about making pickles with it 😆

Thank you @donna-metcalfe for your information

Then they are a big sister to the ones I grew! I would vote for pickles over smoothies. The flavor is so mild it would disappear with other fruits in a smoothie. But as a nice pickle they would stand out!

I have 2 pepino @donna-metcalfe 😉 one for pickle and another one for tzatziki.. something I read from @jasmink and I wonder how it taste

Tzatziki - is that something usually made with eggplant? Or should I be thinking cucumber salad? Either way it sounds interesting!

check this post @donna-metcalfe >> Quick and Easy Vegan Tzatziki

that's the easy and quick tzatziki by my lovely @jasmink

Thank you for the link to the recipe!
This weekend I am going to a small gathering of women and don't know whether there are vegetarians among them. I bought pita bread at the market and thought it would be good to bring, but what to go with it? I now will make this tzatziki and a wheat berry and barley salad - I wanted to make tabooleh but I don't have those ingredients, so this salad is similar, with the whole grains, parsley, onion, garlic, and tomato and a few cut up dates. I haven't made this recipe before so wish me luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56