The Fresh 5: Phery and Lain

in #fresh56 years ago

Image Source

Phery and Lain were raised together from different elf clans and loved each other since they were children. They chased fairies and rode unicorns through the mountains and explored the kingdom they knew would one day inch by inch. The land was free of danger and felt the magic of freedom most of their lives.

It was not until the Orcs started to permeate the land that their parents started to discuss the future plans of the kingdom and where the royal children would go. As Phery and Lain got older it was decided that they would be given in marriage to two separate families in faraway elven kingdoms.

The lovers were devastated and met every night to speak of a different plan. They often spoke of their love and teased each other about the time they first kissed. They were fishing during the summertime in the mountain regions when Phery fell off the bank of the river and Lain ran to catch her. In that moment they knew they would never leave each other's side.

Lain reached for Phery and held her firmly, then kissed her long and hard. It was the sweetest of kisses that only young lovers understood. In front of their parents they stayed apart so to not bring too much suspicion, but they would gaze at each other with the pact of love.

It was during a nightly meeting that they consummated their love in a bedchamber close to the main entrance of the castle, and heard the first blast of the warning horn. The entire kingdom was placed on high alert and the two ran to the nearest weaponry room.

Neither had considered this might happen, yet both were trained in combat and artillery. Phery loved the bow and arrow and Lain chose his most trusted sword and shield. The men and women were separated as the kingdom was given the second loud blast of warning from the front gate.

Phery and Lain took one last look at one another as Lain was rushed off with the men to defend the frontline. With assurance they nodded to each other, holding back a lover's kiss. Lain ran to find the royal women and found them gathered in the protected chamber with weapons at the ready.

In the distance Phery heard the cries of men and the grunting screams of the Orc. She knew she might never see Lain again, and that made her heart ache with longing. She gathered the women together and led them all to the stairwell leading to the underground tunnels. The tunnels would take them to the river where boats were awaiting their departure.

Lain looked back one more time but lost sight of Phery, he knew he must fight to keep the kingdom safe and his heart ached knowing he may never see his true love again.

As Lain headed towards the front gate with the other men he smelled and heard the sound of Orc behind the castle wall ...

To join this contest, click here.

Break.png


UPRECOM.gif

Sort:  

What a wonderful story! I enjoyed reading this SO MUCH 🌸💖🌸

Best wishes on the contest!

Yay, thank you so much for liking my story!! Woop.

Thank you for the well wishes ... where is your photo? :)

You're welcome! There's my photo. It was a struggle to get one that worked so i said to myself f#ck it. LOL. But, thanks for asking. I pushed...there it is :)

Yay photo! Yeah I hear you when I first did it, it just wouldn’t work .. I finally did what you did. Glad you did, looks so much better. xx Eagle

Lol...the steem learning curve!! Thanks again 💖💜💙💚

I hear ya and if I can help let me know! xx Eagle

That's really kind of you Eagle. Thank-you 💖

you are too kind, thank you so much! xx

Another story that left me hangin' ♥ Hope they're okay.

No kidding 🤔💖🤞

Hahahha but that's why we create stories ... plus to keep going on and on and on gets so boring ... but who knows I can start to create a book someday from one of these challenge snippets ... right?

Yes!!!!!! You're a talented writer ❤

Aww you are too kind, I guess I’m a bit insecure since I never journaled or wrote much since college. Except for work. Blogging certainly helps develop if there is anything there. Thank you so much for your vote of confidence And support. xx Eagle

You've got a beautiful story telling gift 🌱🌻

You are too kind, thank you for your support. xx

LOL! that is the point of stories ... :)

You got a 2.16% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @eaglespirit!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Very nice story you shared.

thank you so much for reading! xx Eagle

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Wow this is interesting! First time I saw this, but now I am afraid to click it ... hackers and all that good stuff!

Looks like spam. I checked out the profile.... crap! Am i compromised now!!??

i hope it is just spam! yes i checked the profile too with only one post and if you clicked it i would clear all info from your browser and restart computer! xx

I really love fiction stories 😊

Oh my freakin..... You need to write the rest! Where is the rest of it???

I honestly thought that this was going to be a Romeo and Juliet style. It started off like it, but once again another twist with action. I just love it!
Makes the reader be on the edge of their seat. Well me anyways and makes me want to read more on orc fighting.
Do they lose sight of each other over the years and find each other once more? Does one end up marrying to keep the elf culture going??? I got questions! I want to read more :D

Wow, I am so glad you like this story! I don't know I just stopped at 500 words. LOL
I couldn't seem to get past this point, but that does not mean I will not go back at some point and continue ... you bring up awesome questions and those that I may answer in the future ... so glad you liked it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32