A Time of Tranquility

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Contest_Phery&Lain_09_cut_02.jpg

^.^ Hello, dear ones! ^.^


This will be rather long post (not my strong side though, hehe).
It includes three different stages of one drawing (made at different times) - a peaceful moment between my OC Phery Mallory and her husband Lain Spell (my friend's OC).


Back in 2011 (I was in my fourth year) my colleague Rossy fayen-ri and I decided to do our diploma work together. Our Bachelor's degree course ends with a project defense (not with an exam) so we wanted to present/defend our story (The Inexplicit project) made as a book.

My part was to make the entire book design, including the cover, inner sections, bookmarks, poster and a website.
I didn't have a tablet so every character was drawn with pencil or ink, then scanned and colored in Photoshop (with the mouse :D).
Tough times I can say. But also beautiful in its own way.

So here's the sketch for one of the bookmarks I made:
Picture 081_.jpg
Sketch_All WIPs.jpg

I had to analyze a lot of different clothing before creating this one.
Unfortunately the size wasn't right (the sketch was wider for a standard bookmark) so I changed it digitally.

Here're the stages in Photoshop:
Bookmarks_All WIPs.jpg

Looking it now makes me laugh but back then it was pain in the... just to make shadows and highlights. Basically it's all I did. The technique was simple - I used a textured background, the scanned drawing (on multiply mode) and add one layer for darker and one for the lighter parts. And, OMG, everything with the damn mouse! Freaking disaster!


Anyway, I kept the sketch hoping I could make it better someday.
And I did.
I had the chance to participate in a Draw This Again Contest on Deviant Art in 2012. I didn't get to win but was able to repaint the heart-whelming moment of those two.

draw_this_again_contest_by_pet988bnv-d5fs44m.jpg
Source

And here's the work in progress:
Contest_Phery&Lain_01_All WIPs.jpg

I really hope you like it.
Have a great day, everyone!

Sort:  

Hi Katalina! I love this picture! I enjoy it so much, I hope you will honor me with permission to use this image as the writing prompt for my latest writing prompt challenge!

I hold a semi-regular challenge using Art from fellow Steemians as the prompt for writers to come up with creative stories about the image. I think these two characters could really pawn some terrific stories!

With your permission I will post this image as our prompt inviting all Steemians to write about these two interesting characters. In return, I would offer 10 Steem for the use of your art.

For a glimpse of what this looks like, check out the last writing prompt I posted where we had 16 authors write about the prompt:

https://steemit.com/contest/@mikepm74/the-fresh-five-s-first-steem-backed-contest-writing-prompt-challenge

We have also previously utilized art from Deviant Artist @svdsdragunov, through whose blog I found you.

Please feel free to turn down this offer, it is certainly not my intention to make you in any way feel pressured or uncomfortable. But I like to highlight artists who have not gotten the attention they may deserve, so I hope you will accept. You will of course, be recognized for your work in the post with readers encouraged to come check your blog out.

If you could let me know if you are interested, I would like to get my contest post up in the next 24 hours.

Thanks for considering my offer. In any event, please know that I really enjoy your work, and look forward to seeing more from you!

Hi, @mikepm74! I'd be honored to provide you this work of mine. I'm really glad you liked it so much. Honestly, it's still hard to believe, hehe.
I spoke with my friend (the male character is her OC and without her permission I can't do anything) and she gladly accepted.
We only ask of you not to mention their names because they're the main characters in our story (called The Inexplicit: Inner Horizons). I hope that the image have enough energy and passion for the writers to create their own story and characters based on it.

wonderful! Thank you so much! No I will not mention their names, simply include the image and a link to your blog. I will put a link here when the post is up and you can let me know if you have any issue with it, or changes which need to be made.

Thank you very much for your consideration! ^.^ (bow)
I'll look forward to the next prompt. ^.^

Such a pretty couple * ___ * I wonder what their stories are~ aaaaah

<3

upvotes

Thank you, @veryspider, for your support and interest on my works! ^.^
My colleague made a small book about our characters' profile, I just have to translate it in english. ;)

Sorry to sound like a spammer, but...WOW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48