Day 213: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Five

in #freewritehouse6 years ago (edited)

Day 7 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest


Imgur



This is my entry for the Day 7 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest, hosted by @freewritehouse.

You can also find today’s freewrite prompt here: Day 213: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: five, hosted by @mariannewest.



I can’t believe it has been a week since we started the 200-Day Party with the @freewritehouse. Every day I have been challenged to both take a theme-based selfie, and write a prompt invoked 5-minute freewrite. I will say it has been lots of fun! Congratulations to all the other participants who have made it to day 7!!

Today’s freewrite prompt is five.

I’d like to thank my husband for pointing out the obvious five fingers on my hand as the daily selfie prompt, mother nature for the rain, and everyone on Steemit who upvotes, resteems, reads and comments on my posts!

I hope you enjoy reading today’s freewrite! It’s cute.



Five

It had been raining for five straight days and it showed no sign of stopping any time soon. Laura picked up the newspaper that had lost its form and fell limply in her hands like a dying flower. Everything in the house was filled with moisture. The house smelled damp, and this all dampened Laura’s mood.

Her mother had fell ill in the spring and was sleeping peacefully on the couch. She loved the sound that the rain made on the roof and loved the rainy nights. Laura loved the sunshine and this lack of light gave her a sour disposition.

When it came time to write her seven-day positivity post on her new awesome social network, she couldn’t think of much. Not that she didn’t have plenty of things to be grateful for, but because as of this moment nothing was forefront in her mind.

The days dragged on one after the other. Her life had no obvious significance and she felt no purpose. But she was grateful to hear her mother snoring on the couch. She quietly stood above her mother and snapped a quick photo. Her mother heard and then opened one eye.

“Will you please stop taking pictures of me for your online scrapbook!”

Ding!

Thanks for Reading!



More posts by @simgirl
Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Banana- The Fruit Fly
Day 208: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: paper
Day 209: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Milk
Day 211: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Swing
Shout Out Caturday- Shout Out to the Cat lovers on Steemit!
Weekend Freewrite - 5/19/2018- The Dead End
Seven Day Positivity Challenge- Day One

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgurw

Imgur

Sort:  

I love your selfie 😍I find the lack of sunshine to be somewhat demotivating and depressing as well. My roommate loves the gloomy days, so basically there is usually at least one person complaining about the weather!

Thanks! I love that it rains but after a few days it gets depressing.

Laura picked up the newspaper that had lost its form and fell limply in her hands like a dying flower. [...] The house smelled damp, and this all dampened Laura’s mood.

I love the way you set this scene and how it flows with the overall tone of the passage. :)

Your mother is like my kids or my husband. "Okay, but don't take a photo of me for your blog..." is something I MIGHT have heard before! :)

Hahaha. The mother is funny, ”online scrapbook.” This post made me laugh.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30