Day 211: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Swing

in #freewritecontest6 years ago (edited)

Day 5 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest


Imgur



This is my entry for the Day 5 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest, hosted by @freewritehouse.

You can also join the today’s freewrite by following this link, Day 211: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: swing, hosted by @mariannewest.



She Was Swinging

With considerable ease,
she swung from the trees,
Floating about,
as if in a dream.

She’d stop for a rest,
or to nibble on leaves.
Every day she’d be found doing,
exactly as she pleased.

Then one day a tiger,
asked why she swung,
And didn’t chase the others,
The way that she runs.

She said I have no desire,
To go traipsing about.
There’s so many vines,
I can use as I shout.

They others they fear me,
Because of my scream.
Believe me old tiger,
I am more than I seem.

There’s no need for me,
To run the ground by the roots
There’s tree branches up here.
And there’s always fresh fruit.

So, go back to your racing,
While I play here and sing,
Don’t be disturbing a monkey,
While she’s in the middle of a swing.

One day you will notice
I’m quite the fun chimp
I will practice my swinging,
While you chase all those shrimps.

And I’ll watch from the distance,
Without any fear.
For I know you will eat me,
if I don’t stay up here.

The End

Thanks for Reading!



More posts by @simgirl
Day 204: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Late
The Weekend Freewrite- 5/12/2018 The Help
Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Mother
Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Banana- The Fruit Fly
Day 208: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: paper
Day 209: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Milk

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgurw

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

That dress looks great on you! The monkey is too clever for that tiger! She'll not be filling his belly anytime soon.

He he. Those sneaky tigers! Thank you I only wear that dress when I'm swinging! It gets dirty too fast.

Awesome poetry and delightful message!

Thanks for reading!

Always my pleasure, beautiful!

Great rhymes, and a great message, like a classic fable - beware the tiger, no matter how innocuous they may seem! Very nicely done :)

Thank you!

That was so much fun to read! I loved that it was a monkey.

I like the tiger scream :) Makes me think what a great poem this would be to read to teen girls who're starting to stop themselves from screaming as much--being socialized to be women...

Thanks. It was fun to write.

So is she a tiger or a monkey? lol i am so bad at my comprehensive skill. But a nice poem. Love it.

She is the monkey. Thanks for reading!

I love the way you infused storytelling into your poetry

Thank you!

Sounds like something that can be made into a nursery school rhyme or song.
Would you mind sending this to Sia, am sure she can make something out of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89