Day 209: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Milk

in #freewritecontest6 years ago

Day 3 - Freewrite Selfie Celebration Contest


Imgur



This is my entry for the Day 3 - Freewrite Selfie Celebration Contest, hosted by @freewritehouse.

You can also find today’s freewrite prompt by following this link for the Day 209: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: milk, hosted by @mariannewest.



When I saw her picture on the milk carton I was shocked. She was always the most likely to succeed, the smartest kid in class, and the one we all thought would leave this town for better horizons. But instead she was missing.

No one had heard about the story in my neighborhood. Our friends who went to school with her couldn’t believe it when I showed them. They all but forgot about her since she didn’t seem to frequent the same circles as the rest of us.

To tell the truth we had all thought she did move away to lead a fabulous life without us. But here she was staring back at me with an innocent look on her face. Now I wondered what could have happened to her.

I called her mother who still lived in town and found out she had been ill for some time. Her mother said she dropped her off at the hospital the day she went missing for some routine tests. When her mother came to pick her up a few hours later, she was nowhere to be found.

I took the milk carton to the police and asked about the case, but they too had not made any progress towards finding her.

Then I saw the body on my drive home.

At first, I could only see the shape of a hand sticking out of a pile of leaves, but as I got closer I could see it was a body. My heart sunk… was it her?

Ding!

Thanks for reading!



Most posts by @simgirl
Day 203: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Back Pain
Day 204: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Late
The Weekend Freewrite- 5/12/2018 The Help
Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Mother
Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Banana- The Fruit Fly
Day 208: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: paper

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgurw

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

I wonder why they stopped putting those on milk cartons. I also wonder if anyone was ever found because of them.

Ooh, creepy. I like your interpretation of the prompt. It's interesting to see what directions people take it in. The "milk carton girl" is a good one. And I like that you were able to create an ending for it.

What a sad ending. I hope it's not her, but then, any corpse is not a good thing. Great story and graphic!

I hope it's not her, but then, any corpse is not a good thing.

Haha that made me laugh.

Loved how you are getting so involved in this. Your story is creepy and graphics are GREAT!

That was morbid! I have some hope that it's just a figment of her imagination. You did an awesome job with the prompt.

Ahhhh haha that was great!

This is so interesting and full of mistery, I want to know more about the missing girl!! Also, that's very creative of you!!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42